1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT3

Discussion in 'Dev Team' started by ProAsm, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I don't even have UT3 installed properly in my new PC.
    I think Epic going the M$ way of using the 'Documents and Settings' and 'Program Files' folders for their game was the final screwup of the century.
    If they just stuck to their normal C:\UnrealTournament3 for everything, I'm sure there would be a lot more life in this game.
    I had all the folders, Source, compiling and shortcuts well organised on my old PC but in my new PC it was just far far too much hassel to go through all those setups again just for a game that's got no future anyway, hence I just installed it to try and left it at that.
    To edit/compile/test/add a mutator to UT3 is an absolute fcuking nightmare :(
     
  2. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Big_Deal, welcome back :)
    Yes I know you can change the installation folder for UT3 but the problem is a lot of people are making self install mods and stuff which point to the old folder which are defaulted in the 'documents and settings' etc and 99% of these authors don't know how to do a % search for these folders.
    I have experience now from the M$ Flight Simulator that I've been heavily involved in over the last 6 months and it has the same crappy problem and every forum is full of 'how do I do this' and 'how do I do that'.
    Windows has been the biggest hoax played on man.
    I have gone back to the 3dRealms team in developing the Duke Nukem and Shadow Warrior ports and its and absolute blast and am enjoying every second of it and even changed my website to suite :)
    I have also put UT2004 back into my PC and play the odd game there as my new PC with UT2004 is unbelievable ;)
     
  4. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey man ... duke is soooo cool ;)
    Since i played UT3 now over months, i like it more and more and i can´t play UT2004 anymore. Play that like a noob hehe.
     
  5. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx for the link ;)
     
  6. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    So Ben you will nothing coding for UT3?
     
  7. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just having a look at the changes in Patch 3 and I see many things have finally been fixed, eish, 8 months later.
    I will see now maybe I will have another look one of these days :)
     
  8. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what i want here ;)
     
  9. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ben we need you in UT3! There is no good voting mutator out, the most is not good working. What do you think? We need UT3Vote and Zound3. Can you help us?
     
  10. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I find this voting mutator ?
    I'm currently working on a graphical editor for a particular game project and should be on it for maybe another month or so.
    Then I'll have a look at the UT3 code again although I think converting UT2Vote is maybe a bit heavy but we will see.
    Does UT3 have a white listing and all that crap like UT2k4 had ?
     
  11. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the best with UT3 :D
     
  13. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats good news about the white list :)

    What is the procedure to set up a simple deathmatch server ?
    Do not refer me to some url :D
    Btw, I do have the 1.4 gig free server but lost the key.
     
  14. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've hit a few snags.
    Firstly whenever I enter the game my map spins round and around and around.
    No matter what I do, it spins round and around...........
    Then after about 2 minutes everything crashes so bad that it blanks out my screen and the TaskManager does not even work and all I can do is hard reset the PC.
    Looks like I will need to re-install at some stage as I want to reformat my drive and start again with a fresh copy of Xp as the MS Flight Sim X has screwed my PC up something horribly.
     
  16. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the spin around problem, simple disable the joystick support in ut3 settings ;)
    Maybe this fix also the crash.
     
  17. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it did, thanks.... so far so good :)
    Oh, one more thing... I seem to remember when I had it installed in my old PC, I did a setting somewhere that switched off all that startup spalsh screens and went straight into the precaching, do you know what settings this was ?
    I have also figured out my shortcut which works great with patch 3:
    Code:
    "C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries\UT3.exe" DM-Deck?Game=UTGame.UTDeathmatch?GoalScore=10?TimeLimit=10?NumPlay=2 -login=ProAsm -password=whatever -useunpublished
    
    ;)
     
  18. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes...
    Open UTEngine.ini

    [FullScreenMovie]
    ;StartupMovies=Copyright_PC
    ;StartupMovies=EpicLogo
    ;StartupMovies=MidwayLogo
    ;StartupMovies=UE3_logo
    ;StartupMovies=Nvidia_PC
    ;StartupMovies=Intel_Duo_Logo
    ;StartupMovies=UT_loadmovie1

    Also replace the file from here: http://utforums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=612106
    What it make? When you start UT3 it loads a file like a map for background...this file makes you a grey background...you will see how fast your ut3 menu will be ;)
     
  19. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    Hell what a difference with that Frontend :)

    PS... Now I got another problem... everytime I select the flakcannon (my favourite) the whole of the bottom half of the screen goes black and I cannot see anything and with other weapons its ok.
    I tried different drivers.
    The game still freezes now and then and I have to hard reboot :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  20. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm i never heard something about that prob :(
    I run the latest Nvidia 177.92beta drivers, and they are great. You did test them too? With this driver you can enable PhysX in UT3.
     

Share This Page