1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Need help with static meshes

Discussion in 'Level Design, Skinning and Modelling' started by afecelis, Feb 15, 2004.

  1. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spatte, afecelis...

    Are either of you having problems getting to your FTP space that was set up for you from the web? I can hit my domain/main page but I get a page load error when I try and go to your folders. It's real odd.
     
  2. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can access ok only via ftp, but if I try to load an address in my web browser (of the space you created for me) it's impossible. Screenshots or links posted in forums don't work either. I thought it was still the same problems you were having with the server some 15 days ago.

    Only http://www.danielpatton.com is working but not the folders inside of it.
    edit: if I try to link that way, now it's not working. But if I type the address like this:
    http://danielpatton.com/

    it works...weird, huh?

    How's the new deadline coming out? What is it about? man! we gotta talk!

    cheers!
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2004
  3. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man that sucks... :(

    I'm not sure what's up with the server. You can still link files and such but the folders are hidden or something. I may have to contact the sites admin and find out what the deal is.

    As for the deadline, I'm working on it now. A portion of the project is due Monday sometime (deadline was set by me, being too cocky I guess). It's looking great though, I only wish it was something that we could share, but the client would NOT like that at all. I don't blame them one bit either.

    I cjecked out you and Spattes folders but didn't see anything new from the last time I looked. Sure would love to check out what you all are into, Sorry Will and I can't do the same. Next client/project for sure.
     
  4. cscade

    cscade New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone!

    I have spent some time yesterday and today reading through some of these threads, and I have to say there's some inspiring stuff in here! I'm an ADT jockey by trade, and a UT gamer for fun. I came to this forum to see if anyone had tried to do anything architectural with the runtime, and I'm pleasanlty surprised! Unfortunately, I've only been able to learn just enough to be dangerous from reading the threads. I downloaded the demo version of Max 6, and have been easily able to import some of my models into max. The max interface is a bit of a confusion for me, although it looks very similar to the UnrealED interface (same core perhaps?).

    So here's where I'm at. I tried to export an ASE of one of my simpler frame models, and import it into the runtime editor. Unfortunately, I must be missing a step, because nothing showed up. So I figured I'd post here and introduce myself to all of you, and ask if there's anything anyone can suggest that I learn on my own first, and burn off the majority of my stupidity before asking a million questions. Links, resources, and general nudges on where to focus my learning energies are all appreciated!
     
  5. Vito

    Vito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Back again

    Hi again everybody, I am back again for while after a couple of stressful final weeks at work. I won't start my new job until late May, so in the meantime I will make a forrest project in the Runtime

    The purpose of the project is to model a strip of forrest with variated character that will be grown for real here at the Uni. Well, needles to say, they don't have to wait 30 years or more for the Runtime forreste to be ready to take a walk in ;) The whole thing will be presented on a conference in June, so there's plenty of time (I hope.....)

    The landscape architect that I am working with designs the layout and supports me in the modeling of trees, bushes and other natural elements. I guess the success of the project relies very much on the realism of the trees and the color balance. Also guess I will meet other difficulties on the way, so if someone have any tips on modeling natural environments, I'd be happy. Looking at Will's trees really made me believe it's possible.

    I will post screenshots in the forum and make the Work In Progress available for download as the project proceeds.

    By the way, my new laptop is on the way :)

    See ya around
     
  7. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I bumped into my first problem pretty quick.......I sit on a computer at the Uni with on-board Intel Graphics (64mb). First I couldn't run it and got an error message saying that it couldn't find the d3d device, then after deleting the .ini file (as suggested in the error message) I can run the map without problems in the Runtime, but textures render extremly poor in the editor, even in the texture browser. Any suggestions?
     
  8. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind, I solved the problem by re-importing the textures. Now the show up as the should. Still find it a bit odd though.
     
  9. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Spatte, nice to see you around!

    Ok guys, I got some news. They re-called us to present the contest project again but this time besides showing the model in 3dsmax, we used the unreal presentation (the one from the video). Although it didn't show the project they were interested in, it showed them new technologies and posibilities, and I must say they were very impressed.
    To be hones, I tried to create a quick version of the model (ases) for the presentation, but when I tried to compile the engine quit all of a sudden. I tried importing ase by ase and compiling every time until I got to the problematic ones. I got a version to compile quite ok, but not with all the ases.
    you can get it here:
    http:///www.danielpatton.com/afecelis/wip/april05/sa25.zip

    Spooge, please give it a look, and try to import the models called "calado" (which are the heaviest in polys) and compile to see if your engine quits too.

    sorry for being away. I though the contest was a good chance to use the engine again. We still haven't gotten the time to add the rest of the models like beds, furniture, appliances, etc, but it's the next thing I want to do. And one last thing; although ligh calculations aren't as accurate as with bsps, I find static meshes to be the quickest, safest and lightest way to get a level in unreal up and running in minutes, so I still stick with this method.

    cheers!
     
  10. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    This link shows as being broken... looks like we are still having issues with that server. I can just go ahead and hit it through the FTP, no problem.

    Is the MAX (or VIZ) file in that zip? To do any real trouble shooting it would be best if I started with the MAX file and did the ASE export myself maybe.

    As for the BSP/Static Mesh choices... if it works then use it! :) BSP does tend to be a pain unless building directly in the editor... even then it's still not totaly painless.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
  11. Spooge

    Spooge Digital Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the zip, no MAX/VIZ files. Let me have a look at that and see if I can locate the problem. It's either a texture being used on the model or some setting in MAX for the model itself that is causing the problem I bet. I have spent enough time hunting down the early ASE's that I created to find them pretty quick, I'll give it a shot if you want.

    Also... found the problem with the link, looks like you have one too many forward slashes after the http: have a look.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2004
  12. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    First try

    Hi there, just wanted to show you a shot of the first steps in the forrest project. I have modeled the pine in MAX and the bamboo is just sheets bunched together. After this there will be about 20 or more species added. From large trees to grass. I will upload the files somtimes after Easter Holidays.

    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Vito

    Vito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speaking of forests, we got the okay last week to distribute a small pack of static meshes and textures. Don't forget, you can also use the stock Runtime static meshes and textures, which include (some very nice, imho) trees and grasses and stuff, in your own projects.

    Bonus static meshes plus bonus textures. You'll need them both, as the textures package has the textures for the static meshes.

    Also, IDV will be releasing a standalone, Runtime-based demo of their really cool SpeedTree tech. http://www.idvinc.com/ is their URL. You won't be able to use their version of the Runtime to make your own stuff (it's just a demo), but perhaps a commercial Runtime app could, or perhaps they'll be offering it as a DLL or something you can license separately.
     
  14. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Vito! I just took a quick look at the meshes. Some of them will definately go into the forrest project. I have looked at the SpeedTree as well, and it seems really good. We are currently using a software called Onyx Tree Pro together with MAX to create the trees. However SpeedTree seems to be better suited for developing low-poly models.

    By the way, if you would be intersted, this might be a nice project to turn into a standalone. The modelling is supposed to be early May.

    Cheers
     
  15. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Vito! Thanx for the bonus stuff. Anything that makes it bigger, badder and nicer kicks ass! A quick question, if you get to release a new version of the runtime, will all the extra stuff for the runtime still be compatible?

    About speedtree, I've tried the max version (speedtree max) which comes with a version of speedtree cad. I must say their trees are amazing and the wind modifier makes them look extremely real. Besides they render extremely fast. Too bad it's a bit expensive. Thanx for pointing the link out.

    nice to see you guys around,although things have gotten a bit slooooooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

    cheers!

    :D
     
  16. Vito

    Vito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Speedtree demo was released last week if you missed it, at http://www.idvinc.com/.

    The bug-fix release we have planned will be compatible. We don't know about the post-UT2004 version. We'll have an upgrade path in place if package compatibility isn't preserved. No guarantees about network compatibility.
     
  17. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is another screenshot of my Forrest. I think the trees have turned out pretty well, but they are perhaps too high in polycount (1500-5000). But this time it is appearance that comes ahead of performance ;)

    I will see if I can put the level on the server for you guys to take a look at if you have time
     

    Attached Files:

    • pond.jpg
      pond.jpg
      File size:
      123.6 KB
      Views:
      101
  18. afecelis

    afecelis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow! spatte, that looks beautiful. You definitely must upload it to check it out!

    I'll be uploading the new house we're working on soon.

    nice to se you guys around !!!
     
  19. atozix

    atozix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi spatte :)

    i downloaded your unreal map files

    MB_ToyosuBU.urt 14-Mar-2004 15:37 9.6M
    MatteMesh.usx 14-Mar-2004 16:05 6.1M
    Mattex.utx

    but found that the map would not run because
    rt_tree_tex and rt_trees are missing

    bit disappointing as in the editor the map looks good and for me it was a hefty download
    being on 56k.

    needless to say i placed the files in their correct folders...

    do you have a demo that works available ???

    if so i would like to have a looksee :)

    cheeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrssssssssssss ato
     
  20. spatte

    spatte New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about that atozix, I'll fix a new version as soon as possible for you to look around in. You will only have to download the map again.

    Afecelis, it will probably be a few more days before I can get the forrest map on the server. See ya
     

Share This Page