1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT2Vote52B1

Discussion in 'Dev Team' started by ProAsm, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. frogger187

    frogger187 eat. sleep. frag.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    i never left feedback before.. the 'nocentermessages' is working as i had hoped and werks well.
     
  2. sh0V3l

    sh0V3l New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got a new server which is intel/linux it crashed after 3 maps infinate recursion bs (I hate linux lol) i installed b5 and it hasnt crashed since. so pow i hope b5 works the same for you :)

    on my server thats win2003/intel i never had a prob with crashing with ut2vote of any version unless i screwed up myself lol.
     
  3. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    tested on a vanilla server, only ut2vote and savegame7b. ut2vote in outofthebox-config.

    1. The map prefix problem when selecting a new game.

    tested several switches, no problemes yet, but mostly we had the problemes in clanmatch.

    2. 2nd maplist, ie, a CTF maps to vote in a DeathMatch game.

    tested with ons and ece, works like ever :)

    3. ClanMatch.

    the map-selection-list is empty here ?!? no testing possible
     
  4. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    shov3l can you send me the server log after a crash, but I need the full log with all the 'Critical' info at the end.
    If we can find this crashing problem then it would be really great.
    Try and get it to crash and send me the logs.

    Socke what do you mean by this, how long has it been like this as this section has not been touched for years.
     
  5. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, in the 5.1 it's ok, the 52b5 is the first beta i'm testing, and after a choose a gametype and hit setup, it says "loading maplist" and as that disappears, there's nothing... an empty list...

    Dunno, as i said, standard config, nothing touched yet... will check everything tomorrow again.
     
  6. sh0V3l

    sh0V3l New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is what it says before the crash
    UT2VoteChatHandler DM-Antalus.UT2VoteChatHandler (Function UT2Vote51.UT2VoteChatHandler.AllowsBroadcast:0000) Infinite script recursion (250 calls) detected
    Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
    UT2VoteChatHandler DM-Antalus.UT2VoteChatHandler (Function UT2Vote51.UT2VoteChatHandler.AllowsBroadcast:0000) Infinite script recursion (250 calls) detected

    theres also some interesting serverbot spam in the attached log :)
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh yes, I know about that one in 51.
    Thats why I always tell everyone to set:
    bUseChatLog=False
    bNoPlayerMute=True
    That disables the BroadcastHandler and hence the routine 'AllowsBroadcast' which causes this problem.
    UT2Vote52 should eliminate this BH problem.

    Regarding the Access Nones from ServerBots, that I know about also and unfortuneately cannot do anything about as UT2004 does not allow me access to the Bot code as Epic blocked it for cheat hacking purposes so I cannot tell it anything - pity but thats how it is.

    Socke, I'll check out that problem although I dont know why its doing that but thanks for noticing it :)
     
  8. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm sorry, but i still have the probleme, that i see no maps in the maplist in clanmatch in 52b5. I rechecked it with 51 on the same machine, that one works ang gives me the wron map-prefixes. On a listenserver, the 52b5 clanmatch-maplist is ok.

    anyone else could recheck this?
     
  9. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Socke, you are right, there are no maps and I really dont know what caused it but in B6 its all working again.
    The last time it worked was in B3 so something went wrong in B4 or B5.
    I did increase the download timeout a bit for the maps but I dont think that was the fault.
    I have managed to get your "LastSetup" working very well.
    Whenever you start a ClanMatch, the Setup is saved and next time you can just call it if you wish to have the same Setup.
    There is now a "Load Last Setup" button in the menu.
    I'll get this out to you to test asap, I just have a few minor things to do on it.
     
  10. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds very promising :)
     
  11. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is the "wrong map prefixes" working out when choosing a new game in B5 ???

    Where can I download a very large mappack.
    I need about 300 maps for DM and also 300 for CTF.
    Can someone put this together for me as it looks like if this map prefix problem is not fixed I am going to need to get it to happen here so I can fix it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2006
  12. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    in b5 i didn't have that probleme, but as i said, it mostly comes up in the clanmatch-setup.

    i have about 300 maps at all, means all gametypes together, on my server.

    i could pack all the maps, but i dunno, if there are textures etc missing, so this won't be a lot of help for you :(

    btw, the probleme is fixed a 100%, if you once close the menu and reopen it, so maybe we could simply do some kind of workaround?
     
  13. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I made a program that will create me up to 1000 duplicate filenames that end in numbers, like CFT-Maul_1.ut2 - CTF-Maul_2.ut2 up to 1000 and starting anywhere I like.
    You can use it with any file.
    Best to use small files as it takes quite long.

    http://www.proasm.com/files/Filemake.zip ;)

    Now to do some testing :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2006
  14. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have the problem also yay !!! :)

    The problem is still there with B5 and B6 and now I have something to work with.
    I have approx 350 CTF maps and 350 DM maps, and everytime I switch between CTF - DM - CTF etc, the problem occurs.
    Not only does it show the wrong maps, but all the maps have a "Level Preview Unavailable" etc for all the maps - wierd !

    It is definently something to do with the replication as with Instant Action its ok, and also online if you just close the menu and re-open then all is well.
    This may be a tough one :)
     
  15. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i'm not seeing white mice :D
     
  16. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just looking into the Map prefix problem and its all about timing and loading of the replication.
    UT2004 loads strings (mapnames) into its replication at a rate of 1 every 50 milliseconds, so to load 250 maps you need 12.5 seconds to load the replication.
    If you logon onto a server after its been in a game for a while and the very moment you join you call the Menu, it will come up with NO maps at all.
    This is because you called the menu with the 12.5 seconds required for the maps to load into your replication.
    The same goes for a new game, because you are trying to load too many maps in that 5 seconds as thats what the Menu popup is defaulted to when a New game is won.
    If I set that to 15 seconds then everything work 100%, I can even get away with 12.5 seconds but thats cutting it fine.

    The other thing I noticed, especially with voting a new game, is that if I set the delay shorter than 12 seconds, say 10 seconds or so the approx the 1st 200 maps are correct, but the rest are CTF-OldDmMaps
    In other words the MapPrefixes are now all correct, but the last 30 or so map names are still DM maps but with a CTF prefix.

    Therefore I currently have 2 ways to solve this problem:
    1. Calculate the length of time to wait for the Menu to popup for each player at a rate of 1 second delay for every 15 maps loaded, with a minimum of 5 seconds (current default)
    2. Make it a fixed rate of up to a maximum 10 seconds but only allow a maximum of 180 maps for a new game.

    Opinions please ?
     
  18. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    i more like the first option, but would like to have a message, telling the players, whats happening.

    how about something like the second option and some kind of a "next page" button, to load something like 50 maps per page?
     
  19. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well currently I have gone with the first option but client side.
    Basically the MapMenu will popup but with no maps and instead a message saying "Loading Maps in 10" - the 10 then counts down to 0 and all the maps are displayed.
    Almost identical to how its done in the ClanSetup except here it displays the countdown as well.
    There is the current 5 seconds default on the server then a maximum of 10 seconds client side if all 250 maps are listed.
    The calculation used is:
    Delay = Max(2, TotalMaps * 0.04);
     
  20. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    UT2Vote52 Beta 6

    Beta 6 has many fixes and updates.

    1. ClanMapList
    The problem with the Clan Maplist not showing has been fixed.

    2. Client Access Nones
    There were quite a few real bad 'UT2VoteClient' Access None's in the player local log which has now been ixed.

    3. Setup Save
    Whenever a ClanMatch starts, the complete match setup will be saved.
    This saved Setup can now be called by the ClanAdmin with a "Load last Setup' button in the Setup Menu.

    4. Map Prefixes
    The problem with the incorrect Map Prefix showing when selecting a new game has now hopefully been solved.
    This is all caused due to the Replication delay to the client and a new Delay Time has been introduced.
    Depending on the number of maps the Admin has, the delay will be calculated at Max(2, Totalmaps x 0.03).
    This Timeout will be displayed in red in the Mapmenu.

    5. Menu Opening
    Before when a player logged onto a server during a game and quickly called the menu, this would appear with no maps.
    This has now been fixed in that if the players replication has not been fully loaded (takes about 15 seconds) then the Mapmenu will not be accessable tp the player.

    6. 500 Maps
    It is now possible to have, display and use 500 maps for each GameType.
    This can now be done by setting the AltMapPrefix to the same as the MapPrefix.
    If this is the case then while loading the maps and it comes to the max of 250, it will continue loading but putting the additional maps the the AltMapList.
    NB. The AltMapList is NOT available when selecting a new Game.

    WARNING!!!
    Should you use this 500 map option, your server will run a lot slower as it takes approx 30 seconds just to load the replication if you have all 500 maps.
    The Game will not start and players cannot login to the game until the Replication is fully loaded.
    In this case it is advisable to set the WaitForLevel=120

    http://www.proasm.com/files/beta/ut2v52b6.zip

    Please give some feedback asap if at all possible :)
     

Share This Page