1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UWindow2 Development Blog

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 3' started by [SAS]Solid Snake, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. DDRRE

    DDRRE Flesh is a design flaw.

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't work (installed properly, with the UTEngine.ini changes)
    I could open the console on top of the screenshot (F10) and exit.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Crotale

    Crotale _________________________ _______________

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    12
    Cool stuff. Will have to try this out on the weekend.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  3. Slainchild

    Slainchild Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same problem as DDRRE.
     
  4. WGH

    WGH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhm.. I think it will be better to use -configsubdir instead of overwriting files :)

    And I have the same problem here: flickering display, cursor trail and working console
    Also a lot of messages in the log:
    Code:
    ScriptWarning: UW_Hud EnvyEntry.TheWorld:PersistentLevel.UW_Hud_0 (Function UWindow.UW_Hud:InternalOnReceivedNativeInputAxis:0081) Accessed None 'RootComponent'
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  5. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll be online tonight, maybe I can help you testing this baby on another machine. :)
     
  6. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't get it working at all... and worse yet, it seems to think I'm Snake suddenly when I launch the game normally. :p
     
  7. G.Lecter

    G.Lecter Registered Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, overwriting files isn't nice... Might also be better if it supported the My Documents setup aswell...

    I can't get it launched, when I start the game the normal UI is shown in low resolution, asking me to type the CD key, which I don't have at this moment... :p

    Looks like a good work from the screenshots, though... :tup:
     
  8. [SAS]Solid Snake

    [SAS]Solid Snake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like I said, I have no idea how to properly release anything for UT3 as Epic have really seemed to left this up to us to figure out. Even the UDN says nothing. There's also no nice methods of installing/packaging.

    Anyways, it's a snapshot release, so it's just whats taken from my HDD. Ok, the log report has helped, so I have an idea what's going on ... may be.

    Oh, did you guys start the game using the batch file or did you use something else to start the game? I left the -unpublished flags on within the batch file.
     
  9. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,995
    Likes Received:
    75
    The UDN says something about using an executable or zip I think. UMOD has been done away with, sadly.
     
  10. [SAS]Solid Snake

    [SAS]Solid Snake New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is just crap advice if you ask me. Users don't want to fiddle files and so forth which causes this exact issue. An installer is always the best option. It appears that the problems that some people are facing is the fact that I never booted UT3 without being in development mode, that is to say, the god awful 'My Documents' system that UT3 introduced is causing issues as to where it is looking for files.

    I never used this system from the start, but I can see how it is causing issues for some people.


    After all this, it turns out it was a missing file. I also figured out why the original snap shot release was so darn big. It turns out that I had an audio file in there, UT2004's original music, and that took up 40mb's on its own! Which is just insane. Anyways, heres a new version that's smaller and has all of the files.

    Download

    Thanks very much for those who tried testing it earlier. Thanks to Jrubzjeknf for helping me to get this snapshot release up and running.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  11. WGH

    WGH New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    You forgot to change Map and LocalMap. See this post.

    I used my own method with -configsubdir. Also I moved the .u file in the Published dir. And I pretty sure that problem is somewhere else

    Edit: oops, it's already fixed :D
     
  12. G.Lecter

    G.Lecter Registered Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just installed the new version. I'm getting the same thing as DDRRE and Slain... :(
     
  13. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you download this? And did you put the files in your UT3 base directory?
     
  14. G.Lecter

    G.Lecter Registered Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yup. Instaled everything in C:\Unreal Tournament 3 and subdirs, and used the .bat file to launch the game...

    Some textures from custom maps look black in my comp because I run the game on lowest detail settings, maybe that's why the background does not load properly? (probably not... :p)
     
  15. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I did made it run in windowed mode by changing the command line. Try that. You need to append: -windowed
     
  16. Rohit

    Rohit New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried it and it works in fullscreen. I see you put fan wallpaper.

    Little problem encountered so far - the game doesn't detect any custom maps nor the three maps from the recent Bonus Pack.

    Otherwise - looking good.

    EDIT: Something I'd like implemented that you may already have in mind - doubleclicking on a gametype opens the Maps tab, and doubleclicking on a map opens the Mutators tab.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  17. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works just fine for me... :)

    [screenshot]http://screenshot.xfire.com/screenshot/natural/674f190552b75b8e6c359cc8c0badcecd860808a.png[/screenshot]
     
  18. iCQ

    iCQ Softice/MASM reverse engineer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my UT not installed the default way so logically none of this works here... i will go through all the ini files later... or test it on a bogus system.

    Nice that u released it anyways! :)
     
  19. MonsOlympus

    MonsOlympus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps you could try NSIS installer, Im considering it for when I release my mutator pack in final form. Reason why Im thinking an installer, not just so users dont have to stuff around with files is for updates. If I release an update and someone forgets to delete something etc it could cause glitches which I wont be able to replicate in a hurry.
     
  20. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you do that, make sure you put the script up on UnrealWiki. :D
     

Share This Page