1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

MapVoteX

Discussion in 'Dev Team' started by ProAsm, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  2. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    odd problem ..

    enter in Map Paths like this "Maps/DM,Maps/RA" , created the folder for RA and Dropped RA-NameOfMap.unr into the folder.

    the MapVote I don't think recognises it..

    any idea's .. will check in tomorrow.. better go to bed now..

    here's the maps btw for RA.. http://utredirect.org.uk/utfiles/index.php?dir=Maps/RocketArena/

    Gnite
     
  3. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    RA- there is no such thing.
    This is not LA13 with all it's virtual prefixes etc, RA uses DM- maps, not RA-, there is no such thing.
    The prefix is take from the DefaultMap=

    Didn't even know you had a post there, shows how often I go there, maybe cause it don't notify me.

    No no, that sucks, this is a MapVote which has priority, you lucky you even got a welcome screen, don't push it.
    Currently [Maps][Info][Welcome][Admin]
    I'll think about swapping Info and Welcome.

    Forget the etc etc stuff, currently the Contact button only shows 75% of the time because the train is far too slow.

    Not possible, again train is far to slow to know whether a button must appear or not and if could, dynamic placement is not possible.
    Currently I have Website and Contact on top of each other like Info's Quit and Close, so if Contact (top) does not happen, then the Website still looks in place.

    Lines, what lines, just got the texture off the Internet.

    Just a thought here as I was going to ask you this some time back but forgot.
    How about a Send Admin a message in the Welcome or Info window.
    Same as map window but instead of message to players, dedicated message to Admin placed in a MapVoteXM.ini for instance which can hold 255 messages ?
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  4. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    what happens if people rename maps to like RA-thismap?

    can the mapvote pick that up somehow?.. if you check that link i posted.. you will see 20 ra maps.. they should i assume and will confirm today open with botpwck. deathmatch.

    there is also other gametypes with different game prefixes.. BR- BombingRun etc..

    and i think JB-jailbreak.. hope these will work without much problem.

    btw they are not virtual prefixes.. but actual ones ... also some use different gameclasses as well which hopefully is not a problem..
     
  5. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    MapVoteX will look for the Maps that has the prefix of the DefaultMap=
    If the DefaultMap=RA-Whatever or BR-Whatever then it will look for those maps with that prefix.
    Surely you don't expect to put a DefaultMap=DM-Whatever and expect it to find RA- maps.
    It's like saying if you put a DefaultMap=CTF- it must also find DM- maps

    You amaze me, such a hotshot and cannot work that out for yourself :)

    So what you think of the admin message... yes/no ? I want to complete this beta tonight.
     
  6. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    AdminMessage Yep sounds good.

    gotcha on the default map thing..

    Ra is a separate gametype altogether.. to the RA I have.. which is actually DM with mods to make it perform like RA (Original)

    problem is.. or is-not I guess.. that I was trying to load both DM- and RA- maps together using "Maps/DM,Maps/RA"

    @hotshot.. nah lol.. average joe here.
    ^ used to be pretty good at pool though in my younger days. Won a lot of Beer ;)

    so.. re: Ra- mixed with DM- Maps.. I can do 1 of 2 things..

    1.) Rename all the maps to DM-* so they show in the same listings
    2.) Exclude the DM maps and only have RA :)

    I just thought that it could pickup the Actual Maps regardless of Prefix somehow.. nevermind.
     
  7. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    re: tan background..
    when I look at mapvote.. each listing appears to be separated by a thin lite-tan line..
    that's what I was asking.. as when I opened the 20ft long thin gradient.. and zoomed into it.. as close as i could.. it appeared to have 'cuts' in it.. which I assumed you had place there.

    anyway was wondering.. any possibility of us being able to set it to maybe just a RGB flat colour of our choosing , for each window in the [vote screen]?

    so like;

    bMaplistBG="R=255,G=255,B=255"
    bGameTypeBG="R=128,64,13"

    or something..

    cheers

    EDIT------

    BTW does this engine not understand colour-codes like :#FFFFFF or #000000?

    lot easier then RGB.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  8. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hahaha.... been there, done that, got the noddy badge, and have the pornch to prove it :D

    I don't think that is possible as once again the train is too slow, but I will experiment.

    Nope, that's only in html :)

    Btw, had a look at the UA topic tonight for the first time, nice going :)
     
  9. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    amazing stuff.. Sp0ngeB0b has finally released something , allow me to go back to using Nexgen.. at last.

    also he seems to have found a solution to this 'slow train' scenario that you are always talking about..

    interesting;

    read more here;
    http://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5092

    EDIT-------

    Just getting the ball rolling over at UA.. you know 'Drum Roll' etc....
    Still is really just a graveyard..

    however there seems to be alot of good stuff coming out now from all directions..

    GlobalUnreal (NewNet) is very very successful..

    last few days have had.. really good players with pings in excess of 400ms ... playing for hours on end.. on the server.
    and not just randoms ... have picked-up some reg's.. and the new version of newnet promises to take it up a level. and fix..
    very very minor issues... like lift jumping and slight delays going through teleporters etc.

    Then there's Ferali's NaliWeapons3 (u think I have eyecandy, see what that boy's got in his pocket).. Makes the deemer look like an Enforcer :lol:

    and several other developers building fantastic stuff as well..

    so we shall all come together soon , collaborate as such.

    ^ maybe not in the same room however.... but def on the same server ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  10. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I have put a bShowWelcomeFirst in the ini file configs but that refers only to ingame voting.
    At game end the Map Vote will take priority as I can see at this point the Welcome screen really pissing players off.
    Everyone hates adverts interfering with your TV, game, life or whatever.

    I must say after joining your server today and even with a 550 ping, I was very impressed on how well NewNet works. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  11. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much for that..:D I shall get onto MVX Default Logo's today.. just got up..
    also clever for EOR defaulting to MapVote [tab] instead .. very nice.

    re; admin contact via [info] tab..

    awesome idea. Have been thinking.. would it be a good idea to send info to that .ini if.. Admin's make mistakes in the config that are detected from checks.?.

    for example: ServerCrashing and looping , The checks will switch to DefaultGametype[0].. but , Also Send a Message to the AdminContact.ini which states the problem and where to look..

    also.. the ability to read/import the Admin.ini through the MapVote Perhaps be ideal
    (big task or slows train down) , then don't worry.. but would be good to NOT have to actually physically logon to the server to see the AdminContact.ini file (whatever it's called) .. but press button in [Logs] tab.. which has a Window and displays the .ini file :D

    also.. a [button] to [Clear Log] for if when it gets full.

    bMessage[x]=[Error] Please Check Gametype[x] Configuration as there appears to be a problem

    ^ or.. more accurately ;

    bMessage[x]=[ERROR] Map Not Found for "Rocket Arena" - GT[x] Please check .ini

    also wondering about a new [Help] button in the .info [tab] , which can be setup to goto a website perhaps defaulted .ini to .. one of our choosing.. ie; Post at UnrealAdmin.org or where-ever. not sure if it could be a smart [button] though..

    ie; detect if Admin or not and send to 1 of 2 websites based on this.

    bHelpPlayerURL=http://proasm.com/PlayerHelp.html
    bHelpAdminURL=http://proasm.com/AdminHelp.html

    Re: IpToCountry Stuff..

    if you come onto our server and type into console > mutate iptocountry

    in the console it will display <playernames>/<country>

    if you are logged in as admin it will display <playernames>/<country>/IP/HOST

    was thinking that if somewhere , maybe on the WelcomePage or Vote Menu we have a button.. [Show Players Info] or something.. this button just sends 1 of 2 mutate cmds to the server.. depending on if.. they are an admin or a player :D

    Code:
    if admin then mutate iptohost
    else
    mutate iptocountry
    
    if you wanted to get fancy here ^_^ instead of the info displaying in their 'consoles' bring it into some-kind of 'slick console' Window inside MVX instead..

    anyway enough idea's I need to finnish these logo's off.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  12. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Admincontact stuff.. maybe instead of a [tab] called [logs] have one called [console]
    which can load in the .ini (which can be reduced in size if need be) to display the data from the admincontact.ini

    something like what Sp0ngeB0b has done with AdvancedBanManager here;
    http://www.unrealadmin.org/forums/showthread.php?t=31285

    Also Read about this new system NexGen Use's to Turn 'trains' into 'BulletTrains' .. shame this system maynot be compatible with MVX , we really could 'use' it..

    basically I think from what we is saying .. we could do everything else that we have been limited to doing (due to slow trains and S-hit Netcode) using that System.

    ie; able to load the Maps Dynamically without lag.. and such.

    I wonder how this system works.. must ask around.. actually will post to that thread and see if Someone can give some idea's.. I believe that it is based on defrosts sources which are posted recently at UA also.
     
  13. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL, in MVX !ipc does the same thing :)

    A story about UT Netcode.

    LOL regarding the 'bullet' trains....
    UT sends the train at the speed of the players ping.
    When we code, we code for players with a ping of 100, so people with less, it's a bonus and player with more well it gets tough.
    For people with pings around 50 then the train may look like a bullet train but a ping of say 200, I don't care what a boffin you are, you cannot get more that 5 trains per second down to the player, it's just not possible.
    In our case, let's say 100 maps = 1000 characters which is 1 complete train, then there is all the ut game play stuff, so if you send more stuff, then something must suffer, it just stands to reason.
    In your case you are being fooled with that Newnet you are running because all that guy has done is copy the UT2003 netcode which was a total failure and the reason UT2003 died a sudden death.
    I wrote all the netcode for TeamOrbit and their NeoCairo 5.2 which was the most popular mod ever produced for UT99.
    A little while later, EpicGames produced UT2004 with a game called Onslaught.
    If you look at Onslaught and you look at it's netcode, then you look at NeoCairo 5.2 and look at it's netcode.... well I rest my case.
    The UT2003 netcode was copied from Quake4 which was also a disaster.
    Basically the UT99 netcode was similar to the Quacke3 netcode and worked well but it could quite easily be hacked with aimbots etc.
    They tried to fix this in UT2003, which they did but the game play was a disaster and people started going over to Quake3 and some back to UT99.
    UT2004 had the old netcode back but again allowed hackers in.

    The differences is that UT99 and UT2004 all the gameplay happens on the server with 'trains' continuously sent to the player of where he is and what he can see, these trains just consisted of commands because it uses the clientside graphics, sounds and everything so the trains are relatively small.
    The concept was similar to that of html and viewing websites.
    In UT2003, the gameplay happened at the client, and the server used to try and co-ordinate the game between all the players.
    The problem came in the more players that joined, the the game became laggy, regardless of their pings simply because the trains become overloaded and mods and other important stuff could not get through.
    It was a good concept, but it was a disaster and Epicgames realized this and did something about it by a quick release of UT2004 which actually was released in October 2003.
    Quake4 how ever tried fixing things with patches, but it just died along the wayside and UT2004 won the day :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  15. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    During tests today I found that for some odd reason the Delayed Commands I normally use, won't work online anymore, very strange.
    Anyway I've replaced them with normal commands and all is working well:

    Code:
    // Delayed
        GetPlayerOwner().bDelayedCommand = true;
        GetPlayerOwner().DelayedCommand = "Mutate MapVoteX "$sCode$"PauseGame";
    
    // Normal
        GetPlayerOwner().ConsoleCommand("Mutate MapVoteX "$sCode$"PauseGame");
    
    I have also managed to get the Admin Messages to display on the client, but they come in a bit slow, especially if there is more than 50, but this is a zero priority requirement.
    I managed to get away with only 1 extra MapVoteMessageWRI class with minor changes so we are lucky but it is slow due to the long messages.
    I have also added a Date: to the messages.
    The option to Delete them all also works.
    Currently the Admin Messages button appears in the Info window if you are an Admin as there is no where else to put it.

    Regarding the odd maps not being found.
    What I see here is I set all the serverpackages and actors after every level change over which is not necessary at all and very time consuming if there are many of them.
    I have made that now that the serverpackages etc are only set on a new voted game.

    The Welcome window now has an option whether to be stretched or not.
    If not stretched it has a black background.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  16. Wises

    Wises New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    amazing stuff pro.. it is looking really good.

    re:admin stuff.. awesome..

    that idea with the packages being written only on gametype change is amazing.

    also everthing else you have done found test also..
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2013

Share This Page