1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT (GOTY) and framerates Speed up.

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by Kantham, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. xvlin

    xvlin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mean if I use the launcher my fps is stuck at 63/64 if I don't i can get around 150..not sure if I'm the only one like that..heres my direct3d

    [D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice]
    ZRangeHack=False
    NoAATiles=False
    NumAASamples=0
    UseAA=False
    RequestHighResolutionZ=True
    UseSoftwareVertexProcessing=False
    UsePureDevice=False
    UseTripleBuffering=False
    MaskedTextureHack=False
    SmoothMaskedTextures=False
    FrameRateLimit=200
    SwapInterval=0
    UseVertexProgram=False
    TexDXT1ToDXT3=False
    DynamicTexIdRecycleLevel=100
    CacheStaticMaps=False
    UseTexPool=True
    UseTexIdPool=True
    UseSSE2=True
    UseSSE=True
    BufferTileQuads=True
    BufferClippedActorTris=True
    SinglePassDetail=False
    SinglePassFog=False
    ColorizeDetailTextures=False
    DetailClipping=False
    UseDetailAlpha=True
    DetailMax=0
    RefreshRate=0
    MaxTMUnits=0
    NoFiltering=False
    MaxAnisotropy=0
    Use565Textures=False
    Use16BitTextures=False
    UseS3TC=False
    UseAlphaPalette=False
    UseTrilinear=False
    UsePrecache=False
    UsePalette=False
    UseMultiTexture=True
    MaxLogTextureSize=8
    MinLogTextureSize=0
    MaxLogVOverU=8
    MaxLogUOverV=8
    OneXBlending=False
    GammaCorrectScreenshots=True
    GammaOffsetBlue=0.000000
    GammaOffsetGreen=0.000000
    GammaOffsetRed=0.000000
    GammaOffset=0.000000
    LODBias=0.000000
    DetailTextures=False
    DescFlags=0
    Description=
    HighDetailActors=True
    Coronas=False
    ShinySurfaces=False
    VolumetricLighting=False
     
  2. medor

    medor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    4
    in your UT you have select d3d or d3d8 ?
     
  3. xvlin

    xvlin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    d3d8, but i also tried it with everything else no matter what it doesnt go past 63/64
     
  4. medor

    medor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    4
  5. xvlin

    xvlin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is that a whole reinstall of unreal tournament? Or what is that

    edit - yeah it is, looks good ill try it later
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2009
  6. apesgrapes

    apesgrapes ambidextrous

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. medor

    medor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    4
  8. apesgrapes

    apesgrapes ambidextrous

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    incredible!! a lovely smooth 180fps average with d3d9. that'll do me nicely.

    thanks x infinity :D
     
  9. Psychomorph

    Psychomorph  

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    2
    What do I do with these? Readme says something about C++, and stuff.

    @Crowze:
    I did what you suggested in your list, no success. I don't know how to disable cool&quiet in RMClock (I scrolled through all the menues, no idea), didn't try the VSync thing (after hours of trying to solve the problem to tired lol).

    My system is: AMD Turion 64 x2, GeForce 8400M G, Vista 32bit SP2, Notebook. I'm lost...
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2010
  10. SkaarjMaster

    SkaarjMaster enemy of time

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    4,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's got to be a fix somewhere, but AMD chips are a bit harder to fix for UT.
     
  11. medor

    medor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    4
  12. Psychomorph

    Psychomorph  

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you guys know how to deactivate "Cool'n'Quiet" through RMclock, or another program? I have no option to handle C'n'Q via BIOS, so I guess I need a program.
     
  13. medor

    medor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    4
    You don't have it in add remove prog ?

    You can take you cd driver graphiquecard or mothercard if it a chipset graphique.
     
  14. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've not tried RMClock since XP so can't say how well it works in Vista. You could try editing the Windows power profile to set the minimum processor speed to maximum:
    1. Go to Control Panel > Power Options
    2. Select the 'High Performance' plan or create a new one
    3. Click on 'change plan settings' then 'change advanced power settings'
    4. Expand 'Processor power management', look for an option like 'Min CPU frequency', and set it to 100%
    Now you can simply select the 'high performance' power profile when you want to play UT. Can't say how effective it is since I disable SpeedStep in the BIOS, but it's worth a try.
     
  15. Psychomorph

    Psychomorph  

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    2
    @Crowze:
    I did that and no luck. Did the high performance thing, too.

    It is suggested to set affinity to one core when running UT. Whenever I set it to one core, or keep both, I see absolutely no difference in performance. It seems no matter what I do, it has zero effect.

    :hmm:
     
  16. Adelheid

    Adelheid Bernstein

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    As you can see here: http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=193149 I've been having some problems with UT.

    Current situation.
    The only thing that is fixed is that now UT will run in fullscreen rather than windowed mode.
    It still only works in System mode, it has the same problem with D3D8 that it does with d3d, and all openGL does is produce the coolest graphics errors I've ever seen.

    I have:
    Nvidia Geforce4 Ti 4200
    64MB
    The drivers for which date back to 2002, version 6.13.0010.2958. Could that be the problem?

    And:
    AMD Athlon 64 Processor, 3200+, 2.2ghz...
     
  17. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be a good place to start.

    The latest GF4 driver that I can see is:

    ForceWare Release 90 [​IMG] Version: 93.71 Release Date: 2.11.2006 Operating System: Windows XP/2000 32-bit

    Also, with "only" 64MB RAM on the card, I'd be inclined to give S3TC a miss and stick with the stock textures.
     
  18. Adelheid

    Adelheid Bernstein

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kewl, will try that this evening.
    I couldn't install them even if I wanted to; Umods have fallen out with me for some reason and I don't seem to have the same kind of XP as the person who wrote this:

    ...because I don't have any of those options.
     
  19. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea, with Windows Vista/7 they just outright disabled that. You'll have to use a RegFix to get your modules back up and working.
     
  20. SkaarjMaster

    SkaarjMaster enemy of time

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    4,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is that the driver that people say online works best with your video card? If it helps at all, I have UT installed on my Win98SE machine still and it has a Ti4400 in it, so I'll check what drivers it is using. I'm pretty sure I'm using whatever still worked well with UT. Maybe it's just a matter of updating drivers.

    For umods, you'll have to modify the file associations somewhat to get it to work or maybe add an association. I'm still using XP on my latest UT install, so let me know if you need to know about this.
     

Share This Page