1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

SP Framework feedback thread

Discussion in 'General mod talk' started by Parser, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Y3AG3R

    Y3AG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with Launch SP Framework.bat

    lo all

    When i run the Launch SP Framework.bat file i get this error :(
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]

    OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1202 MHz with 511MB RAM
    Video: NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (7189)

    Could not spawn a GUI Controller!

    Histoire: UGameEngine::Init <- InitEngine
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Please help me
     
  2. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you go into SPFrame.log, it should give you more details about the error. Usually, when you get the above error, you're missing a package or file that the GUIController depends on? Could you paste the entire error message from the SPFrame.log file? :)
     
  3. Y3AG3R

    Y3AG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    this is the log file:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Log: Log file open, 11/05/05 14:05:37
    Init: Name subsystem initialized
    Init: Detected: Microsoft Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
    Init: Version: 3186 (127.29)
    Init: Compiled: Mar 3 2004 02:43:29
    Init: Command line: -mod=SPFrame -makenames
    Init: Transient objects will be uniquely named.
    Init: Character set: Unicode
    Init: Base directory: E:\UT2004\System\
    Init: Ini:..\SPFrame\system\SPFrame.ini UserIni:..\SPFrame\system\SPFrameUser.ini
    Init: Build label: UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]
    Init: Object subsystem initialized
    Error: Games::ImportText: Bad termination in: (GameType="CodeBase.SPGame",ActiveMaplist="Default SP)
    Log: nv4_disp.dll/NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200
    Log: Global MD5: [3986c4774f86cab155ff9f5432b89282]
    Log: Game class is 'GameInfo'
    Log: Bringing Level Entry.myLevel up for play (0) appSeconds: 2.239000...
    ScriptLog: GameInfo::InitGame : bEnableStatLogging False
    Log: Browse: NvidiaLogo.ut2?Name=Player?Class=Engine.Pawn?Character=Jakob?team=255
    Log: Collecting garbage
    Log: Purging garbage
    Log: Garbage: objects: 26875->26875; refs: 272723
    Log: Game class is 'CinematicGame'
    Log: Bringing Level NvidiaLogo.myLevel up for play (0) appSeconds: 4.173000...
    Log: (Karma): Autodetecting CPU for SSE
    Log: (Karma): Using x86 Optimizations
    ScriptLog: GameInfo::InitGame : bEnableStatLogging False
    Warning: Failed to load 'CodeBase': Can't find file for package 'CodeBase'
    Warning: Failed to load 'Class CodeBase.SPGUIController': Can't find file for package 'CodeBase'
    IMaster: Could not load interaction [ini:Engine.Engine.GUIController]
    Critical: Could not spawn a GUI Controller!
    Critical: Windows GetLastError: Le chemin d'accès spécifié est introuvable. (3)
    Exit: Executing UObject::StaticShutdownAfterError
    Exit: Executing UWindowsClient::ShutdownAfterError
    Exit: Double fault in object ShutdownAfterError
    Critical: UGameEngine::Init
    Critical: InitEngine
    Localization: No localization: Window.IDDIALOG_CrashBox.IDC_CrashBox (int)
    Exit: Exiting.
    Log: FileManager: Reading 0 GByte 37 MByte 454 KByte 906 Bytes from HD took 0.324000 seconds (0.220000 reading, 0.104000 seeking).
    Log: FileManager: 0.095000 seconds spent with misc. duties
    Uninitialized: Name subsystem shut down
    Uninitialized: Log file closed, 11/05/05 14:05:49
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, some questions:

    1) Do you have a CodeBase.u file in your /SPFrame/System folder?

    2) Are you patched up-to-date? The earlier patches don't have mod support at all.

    3) Did you install the entire mod to /UT2004/SPFrame/ ?
     
  5. Y3AG3R

    Y3AG3R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    1)yes I have
    2)i'am not patched the game
    3)yes

    but when I copy the SP folders contents in the game folders : it run without any errors :)
     
  6. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should really patch the game then! You're missing out on a lot, not just mod support. :)
     
  7. Editor_n00b

    Editor_n00b New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another dumb question...

    I want to know how to activate/deactivate triggers. You see, in my map, I have a trigger that is not initially activated, but I haven't been able to turn that trigger on after hitting another trigger.

    To be specific, I want to make it so after hitting the USE button for SPInGameMessageTrigger, a normal touch-trigger is turned on.

    Thank all y'all.

    (sry this is a repeat, but I just wanna get this answered if possible)
     
  8. madspacemarinemustdie

    madspacemarinemustdie ...

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1

    1.) Heh, it didn't come to my mind that anyone could make coop "SP" -mod with the framework. But yeah, I want to make a series of SP-only maps. Would be cool if you can help me with this.

    2.) Ok, not a big problem really.

    3.) Well, _how_ do you save in-game? I know that there is a save/load menu in the main menu, but there is no way to get there without
    forfeit/disconnect. Is there a console command to save?
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2005
  9. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused:

    [​IMG]

    Works ingame and when you save/cancel it doesn't disconnect you.
     
  10. madspacemarinemustdie

    madspacemarinemustdie ...

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, it works now. Had to uninstall/install ut.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2005
  11. lvlorpheus

    lvlorpheus New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm if we don't do a SP mod, I'll give this a try :)
     
  12. Darky

    Darky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem with monsters

    I placed SPMonster_Manta in my map and in game on that place, where I put this monster, is manta and shieldgun. When I kill manta, shieldgun disappear and all is OK. How insert manta without hereof shieldgun in my map?




    Sorry for my terrible english.
     
  13. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I understand what you mean. When you place an actual monster (example SPMonster_Manta) in the map, it spawns with a ShieldGun and AssaultRifle because of the gametype. I think I know how to fix this, and I will do.

    For now, though, try using a TriggeredMonsterSpawn under SPActors - once triggered you can spawn monsters with custom health, AIScript, tag and event properties (if you want). Basically, spawn the monsters through a trigger, don't place them in the map!
     
  14. Darky

    Darky New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx.
     
  15. Creavion

    Creavion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, any updates of your sp framework after this very long time???
     
  16. Parser

    Parser Hello

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, now that you mention it..

    pBoost (Return to Nyleve) likes the idea of using the framework, and he suggested that I make the cows/rabbits/nali more interactive, so I've recoded some of the monsters, including the above and the titans/queens/mercs, so that they have a wider variety of expressions and sounds.

    I'm also going to address the transition/load gear at start mixup, and maybe add some new actors/features. Any suggestions? :)
     
  17. Choel

    Choel New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it just me, or does it seem like Titans have unlimited health?

    While I was playing a map, the previously mentioned Titan killed a Behemoth. That Behemoth went ahead and respawned. Is that intentional? If so, how would I go about changing it.

    I haven't tried using the TriggeredMonsterSpawn actor yet, I'm gonna do that now. Maybe it'll fix both problems.
     
  18. meowcat

    meowcat take a chance

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    3
    Parser: I love the framework so far (actually inspired me to try and make a SP portion of my mod). Suggestions for added features:
    1. Adding additional bot behavior code would be handy for placed pawns. I have been messing with the bot code (added patrolling etc.) and the ability to set those up in a pawn in the map is pretty handy. Of course that could take a lot of time though.... but even UnrealI scriptedpawn AI would be alright.

    2. Triggered cutscenes, intro and outro (kind of like assault). This would be really great to add to the experience. I suppose the cutscenes would just be triggers that switch the PlayerController(s) view to some "camera position" long enough to see whatever it is to see then switches back. Being able to set intro/outro information up in the SPLevelInfo (or where ever appropriate) would be handy.
     
  19. Nexys

    Nexys New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there. First, let me just say a big THANK YOU for the SP Framework. I hope you keep it updated with more goodies.

    I have an issue, though. I'd like to change the type of light that is spawned for the lightsuit, and also eliminate the power indicator. I'm only a dabbler in code, but I'm willing to get my hands dirty if anyone can point me in the right direction.

    Thanks
     
  20. Kaithofis

    Kaithofis The Seldom Seen Kid

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    That can be done with Matinees (as in AS).
    Or are you looking for something with more features?
     

Share This Page