1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

[BETA] Addon Overtime Last Chance

Discussion in 'Jailbreak Maps and Add-Ons' started by _Lynx, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. G.Lecter

    G.Lecter Registered Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    3
  2. Videowiz92

    Videowiz92 Video Freek

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try reinstalling the patch but yes I have patch 3355. But I've also heard reports of when people install certain things it messes up a file to where you would have to reinstall the most recent patch. Maybe that's what's going on.
     
  3. Videowiz92

    Videowiz92 Video Freek

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope. Still don't work.
     
  4. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    in what order did you install? It should be: (UT2004,) 3355, ECE, then 3355 again
     
  5. Vatcilli zeitchef

    Vatcilli zeitchef Dead and back

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not tried it in multiplayer yet but in a botmatch it works really well
     
  6. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I tried to compile I got this message:

    Parsing JBDecoOTSwitchBlocker
    Failed loading package: Can't find file 'XGame_rc.usx'
     
  7. Sexmachine

    Sexmachine - retired -

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    As suggested over here I have installed this mutator at the MotherShip and it's working well. :) However I do have some suggestions:

    - switch the color of the blockers over so they correspond to the switch color (already mentioned elsewhere in this thread)
    - add an option to allow the "regular" overtime for x minutes and let the addon jump in after a configurable time has passed (maybe UnrealGrrrl can do a few audio announcements for this aswell)
    - somehow the written announcements don't feel perfect to me, maybe someone has some good suggestions here

    All of these are just minor stuff, great job on this addon Lynx, keep it coming! :)
     
  8. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont bother and make it configurable ;)
     
  9. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can take a look at those.

    I've also made a few tweaks to the layout of the config options too, so they line up nicely like the bundled add-ons :)

    _Lynx: I can PM you the classes I alter, unless you have this on a CVS.
     
  10. Sexmachine

    Sexmachine - retired -

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more suggestion: Remove the pulsing dots from the jailindicators of the HUD when running into "locked overtime".
     
  11. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the difference between message 100 and message 200?

    When I got to overtime, I saw two messages on screen: "OMG! The Jail locks are jammed!" at the top in red (from the add-on), and "OVER TIME" at the bottom in blue (from the game itself). I think the "OMG" needs to be toned down a bit...

    A couple of other problems:
    * I get the "last man" message, whether I was last man when the match went into OT, or not.
    * I don't really like the way I can't walk through the release switch any more. It means I can jump up and stand on top of it! Seems quite weird, especially as the blocking begins some way off from the visual switch I can see. I know there was a lot of debate about whether the switch should block / repell / do nothing...
    * I don't see the switch blockers. ???
     
  12. Vatcilli zeitchef

    Vatcilli zeitchef Dead and back

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was why kicking the player back was suggested.
     
  13. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    teleport back to base?

    Remove the blocking volume, just let the switch not work any more. Removing the dots is a good idea too.

    Dont really understand the 'last man' message. When OT starts, you get the message, whether you're last man or not?
     
  14. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I think that would be fine.

    No.
    If I'm the last man when OT starts, the message continues. It should stop, since I can't release.
    If I become the last man during OT, then the message appears. It shouldn't.

    However, looking at the code, I don't see how the last man message can be prevented from appearing.
     
  15. Jrubzjeknf

    Jrubzjeknf Registered Coder

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    from where is the local message being sent?
     
  16. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    The last man message is produced in JBInterfaceHud's CheckLastMan() function.
     
  17. ZedMaestro

    ZedMaestro Useless

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    One other thing to consider if you're going to update this addon... something I thought of given the events of last Sunday's lockdown maybe you could implement a "delay" time.

    By that I mean that if you set a delay time of 5 then if a match went into overtime nothing would change for the first 5 minutes (so you could release your teammates). However after the delay time is up then you could bring in the locked switches part.

    That may provide a sufficient compromise for everyone.
     
  18. Vatcilli zeitchef

    Vatcilli zeitchef Dead and back

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also was suggested an option to let arena fights continue or not in overtime
    But I'm not quite sure the author is still here. Haven't heard of him for a while.
     
  19. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,945
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an option to allow arena matches to be started during OT.
    Do you mean something that would stop an arena match in progress when OT starts?
     
  20. Vatcilli zeitchef

    Vatcilli zeitchef Dead and back

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was what was suggested.
     

Share This Page