1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Online Demorec

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by [C22]-SpOOky, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Demorec online = Gun wont fire bug .... your gun wont fire untill you swap weapon .. But once u reload again your gun wont fire

    Beppo or any of the team .. Are u aware of this or can u explain why this happens

    Maybe u can sugest a fix ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2004
  2. Deathrow

    Deathrow known as LifeRow

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that too... It's pretty annoying.

    Especially when you are doing great job with your teammates and you want to record the moments... all action goes to hell cause you couldn't shoot ... and your teammates die cause they relied on you covering your direction.

    It was almost as lame as when Rostam tked me intentionally after I tricked the whole opposing team on ACityBlock and our team won (our team was more 'noobish' , on his team there were more 'experienced' players).

    But I know the inf team didn't do demorec "bug" on purpose and I believe someone will find fix for that.

    EDIT: typo
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2004
  3. [C22]-Dragoon

    [C22]-Dragoon Catch-22 Clan leader

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I tested this too and yes happened to me too.

    Loaded skopje, started demorecing before spawning, shot one clip of p90, reloaded, tried to shoot but nothing happened. Reloaded again, same thing, can't shoot. Switched weapon to knife, then back to p90 and then it shot ok.

    This clearly needs a fix especially for leagues. Now in leagues in case of disagreement nobody will have demorecs. Please somebody fix this.
     
  4. Da_Blade

    Da_Blade Da sharpest man around!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    In official mathces you should make demorecs on the server anyways. Then you can ghost free and everything instead of being stuck in the view of the person recording.
     
  5. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    What if we play a match on our server against inforcers or who ever

    We are supossed to make the demorec on our server ..But if we was cheating ... after the match we could just say Opps forgot to make 1 or we could say that for some reason the demorec didnt work
    Plus sometimes a match has to be paused or teams adjusted..or even just restarted .. that means the demorec must be restarted every time
    That requires somebody logged into the server to do this every time . and to hang around untill the match is finnished

    What if 2 clans are useing our server and they need to restart the match and our admin is no longer available coz hes playing on another server or he/she has had to go out


    There are 101 little problems with relying on the server+server admin to make the demorec So thats not a good idea imo .. And anyway making a demorec yourself can still be seen in 3rd person if you load the demorec with the 3rdperson command ;)

    This Indeed Dose need fixing especialy for Match's

    For a Community that has worked so hard to keep cheating out of infiltration ...Demorec is our greatest defence against cheats.. it gives us the chance to catch people and then take action to stop/ban them
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  6. Beppo

    Beppo Infiltration Lead-Programmer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    1
    no clue really... all I know is that demorec is more or less copying everything but has probs with some replications going on sometimes. And I do not know how to fix this cause it is native stuff normally.

    Anything shown within the logs maybe?
     
  7. [C22]-Dragoon

    [C22]-Dragoon Catch-22 Clan leader

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Havent checked logs but the problem seems to be easy to replicate, try it?

    Happened on two completely different computers, two different servers, two different ISP's...
     
  8. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    happens on all servers
    atleast 4 people i know of have same problem
    and i suspect its same for everyone

    Is there anyone who can reason why this would be happening in 2.9 ? it never did anything like this before So it has to be something unique to 2.9

    Anyone have any Ideas ? ..HELP!!!!
     
  9. Beppo

    Beppo Infiltration Lead-Programmer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    1
    why do you guys need a client side demorec at all? Just to proof that someone used a cheat or better to protect yourself from others that do use cheats?
    If in a clan match one side uses cheats then there is nothing needed to proof it... it is clear that I will not play versus the cheaters again. And why should a clan cheat at all... it will only ruin the respect aso that it builded up over the time. There still is something called honor and respect... and if clans cannot follow these simple rules then they are not worth to name themselves a clan imo.
     
  10. Hadmar

    Hadmar Queen Bitch of the Universe

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    5,469
    Likes Received:
    30
    Beppo there are several reasons for demorecs. A friend of mine shows me interresting demorecs from Tribes 2 CWs from time to time: A personal archive. Heck, I recorded every friggin game of Tribes 2 I played [if I didn't forget to push the button that is] in case somone acuses me of doing something I didn't or to have proof somone else does something inapropriate or to have a record of me going postal on 22something enemys in a single medium assault base rape session... yeah, I wish I didn't forget to record that one, or to have a record of a 500m midair in case I ever make one that is. :p
    Sure, Tribes ain't Inf but that dosn't mean there's no reason for demorecs.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2004
  11. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beppo .. Infiltration has kept my interest for so long not only because its a great game But also coz Im Sure there is No or Very Little cheating
    Im only sure of this because the 100 times ive suspected a cheat and started a demorec .. Only to discover ..No cheating took place
    Without Demorec i would have thought cheating had taken place Many times when it had not

    Ok reasons for demorec
    Clan wars .. then if somebody makes claims of cheating .. demorec can easily solve the issue

    Public play ..If i ever suspect somebody of cheating i start a demorec This gives me the chance to see if they was ..Almost all the time i find that i was wrong and the person i suspected was NOT cheating .. But that puts my mind at rest ..without the chance to check i would be more inclined to think they was cheating But coz i can demorec i dont worry about it i just demorec and check later ;)

    It has been known that a clan cheated once ..They was useing freeghost .. even though that was tured off during matchs

    Its not just about catching cheats But also about proving No cheating happened ( as is the case most the time)

    The ilcr Needs demorec to help make sure all matchs are fair and no buging or cheating takes place

    If 2 clans fight and one has an issue about things the other clan did .. without demorec it could become quite messy
    But a demorec would solve All issues that might arise and insure nobody behaved in an unexceptable way

    Instead of saying "hey who needs demorecs anyway" Can we please be a little more constructive here .. Instead of having to explain why demorecs are needed, Can we Maybe discuss possible ways to fix this Bug :rolleyes:


    PS:
    Plus I personaly need demorec while i play For making Movies .. I make quite a few movies, and I like to demorec while i play online, incase something great happens that i could later use ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2004
  12. Deathrow

    Deathrow known as LifeRow

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spooky you got point.
     
  13. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no sugestions ?

    Jezz this is a helpful community :rolleyes:

    Without a propper working demorec function There is much less fear of getting caught Cheating

    So little concern from the communtiy about the main defence we have to spot&stop cheating :rolleyes:

    I Guess alot of people have given up caring about such things .

    Is this a sign that Many peple dont realy care so much about Infiltration anymore
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2004
  14. Keganator

    Keganator White as Snow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it!

    Swap your weapon again after you reload. Does that worK? :)
     
  15. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's not that Spooky, it's not that at all. It's just I've no idea how to fix this.

    Beppo, it's also not like that at all. You may be right about clan matches, but you're totally wrong when it comes to league matches. Demorecs are the only evidence short of having someone spectate over the game the whole time.
     
  16. DamienW

    DamienW I'm no stranger to sarcasm, sir

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly, Spooky, it's not that we don't care, we just have no idea. And i'll second what Crowze said. Even with a refree spectating the match, he can't be everywhere at the same time. I would know, i was a refree for RAIL. Taking a demorec allows to have solid proof if an argument arises, and i'm sure everyone involved in RAIL remembers the mess with the GdR/UMC match..... well, a demorec would have settled it quickly and simply.
     
  17. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Keg .. Yeah swapping your gun works But you have to do that every reload
    and that extra time can be the differance between life and death ..Especialy if you forget to do it ;)


    And my comments about Nobody careing about theis problem was due to the lack of responce to this problem .. Nobody has posted to say they will have a look into it, Or even that they looked But have no clue why it happens

    I suspect its summat to do with the Not being able to ghost when dead ..Since a demorec records as a spectator ..Maybe there is some confusion

    Only thing im sure of is Its only 2.9 that has this problem so it has to be 1 of the changes made ...So it should not be so hard to work out what is causeing the bugg and from there maybe a fix could be sorted

    But untill we know exactly whats causeing it, we can fix it

    IMO Demorec is an Important part of Infiltration .. For many reasons
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2004
  18. Beppo

    Beppo Infiltration Lead-Programmer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,284
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyway...

    have you tried the simple way of setting your reload key/button to something like that?

    Aliases[25]=(Command="NextWeapon|PrevWeapon",Alias=WSwitch)

    MiddleMouse=button bInfReload|onrelease WSwitch
     
  19. [C22]-SpOOky

    [C22]-SpOOky Inf Old-Timer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump

    This Bug still needs fixing

    Ilcr needs a working demorec for arbitration members to view in cases of dispute

    That Bind didnt work for me .. Maybe i did something wrong

    But Anyway
    Binding a key to reload then swap weapon and swap back is not very helpful to the player who has to wait for his man to relaod and swap weapons before he can again fire, the extra time it takes could be the diffrence between life and death
    And there may be other buggs it causes that i have not noticed yet

    Please Please Please Can somebody take a look into this and maybe if the cause can be found a solution can be created
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2004
  20. UN17

    UN17 Taijutsu Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, so there IS a bug?

    Wow, I never realized there was a Demorec bug because I always use a pistol. I did some tests tonight and it seems any automatic weapon will not fire until cycled when making an online demorec. When using my pistol though, I have no problems at all. I'm slightly disappointed by the lack of interest in fixing this bug by the coder(s)? of SentryStudios. Not too certain how they have created a bug that affects demorecs though.

    Two non-INF team solutions may be:
    - Server-side demorecs
    - Trusted ILCR spectator demorec
     

Share This Page