1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

need dedicated linux server help

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by lucifur, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha! I took too long to write the last post. :)
     
  2. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is what I have in the config relating to the mod:

    [Core.System]
    PurgeCacheDays=30
    SavePath=../Save
    CachePath=../Cache
    CacheExt=.uxx
    CacheRecordPath=../System/*.ucl
    MusicPath=../Music
    SpeechPath=../Speech
    Paths=../System/*.u
    Paths=../Maps/*.ut2
    Paths=../Textures/*.utx
    Paths=../Sounds/*.uax
    Paths=../Music/*.umx
    Paths=../StaticMeshes/*.usx
    Paths=../Animations/*.ukx
    Paths=../Saves/*.uvxl
    +CacheRecordPath=../ChaosUT2/System/*.ucl
    +MusicPath=../ChaosUT2/Music
    +Paths=../ChaosUT2/Maps/*.ut2
    +Paths=../ChaosUT2/Sounds/*.uax
    +Paths=../ChaosUT2/StaticMeshes/*.usx
    +Paths=../ChaosUT2/System/*.u
    +Paths=../ChaosUT2/Textures/*.utx
    +Paths=../System/*.upl

    +ServerPackages=ChaosGames
    +ServerPackages=ChaosUT

    PS. It has crashed my home system a couple times switching game types for some reason.But mostly it works.

    next I seem to be having trouble getting the gravbelt ect. to work in game, I found this list in the "defuser.ini", but either they aren't working or I don't know what to expect? Am I missing something that should be in the config for it?

    [Engine.Input]
    B=mutate UseBelt
    G=mutate Kick
    H=mutate HookUp
    LeftBracket=mutate Spraypaint
    X=ChaosWeaponOption
    Y=dropflag
    Z=changeammo
    Alt=mutate Hook

    I push these keybinds in game but nothing appears to happen.

    (Also I tried to put +paths on my home computer in the ini file and it screwed it up and would crash every time I tried to join the server, I had to reinstall to fix it, is it different or did I just make a mistake some where?)

    -----

    ChaosUT default.ini:

    LocalMap=ChaosNoIntro.ut2 [Core.S... do I put the weapon= lines? Thanks, Shane
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  3. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only a partial answer as I'm nowhere near a server at the moment.

    I've never seen paths added with the "+" notation (it might be valid - it's just that I've never seen it), "Paths=" on its own should be sufficient. Ditto for ServerPackages.

    You might need to add a similar set of "Paths" statements to the clients.

    In any event, there should be a UT2004.log (or similar) on the client system. Post the contents (edited) from when that happens.

    Are you doing this on the server or the client? Keybind settings on the server will (AFAIK) not have any effect - keybindings are client settings.


    See the earlier comment regarding the use of the "+" notation.

    You would have to ask the game host about commandline access - that is not a game specific item.

    I do not believe that they will. I suspect that the Linux dedicated server is "broken" in that respect.


    Let's walk before we run, shall we? :)
     
  4. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    My good computer broke, fan went bad in power supply, cooooked it.

    so when i get the server fixed up to this point you explained i will get back with more questions. Probly mostly after I get my good computer working again, as it has all my files and stuff.

    Today I rented a new server too, the first UT 1999.

    doesent seem to be a voteing thing?

    well any way my brain is still scrambled but need a few days of no thinking hard to get back on track any way.

    Thanks, Shane
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  5. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason I cant login as admin?

    I have it set up exactly the way it is on the UT2004 server but it ignors me?

    adminlogin username password

    Shane
     
  7. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    In UT it's adminlogin password (no username)

    UT console commands detailed here:

    http://unreal.epicgames.com/UTConsole.htm
     
  8. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried evry combination but no luck, have you ever been in a map and when you fire a weapon no prjectiles spit forth from the weapon, and eventuly you realize you are alone in your little world and have to go to the server browser and rejoin the server to interact with others?

    Well nearly every time I type "adminlogin password" it does that.

    I have tried it from the web admin page also.

    here is what my config looks like.

    [UWeb.WebServer]
    Applications[0]=UTServerAdmin.UTServerAdmin
    ApplicationPaths[0]=/ServerAdmin
    Applications[1]=UTServerAdmin.UTImageServer
    ApplicationPaths[1]=/images
    DefaultApplication=0
    ListenPort=8080
    bEnabled=True

    [UBrowser.UBrowserHTTPClient]
    ProxyServerAddress=
    ProxyServerPort=

    [UTServerAdmin.UTServerAdmin]
    AdminUsername=*****
    AdminPassword=*****

    Shane
     
  9. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's sounds like a network problem. Press F6 when connected in game and you should see some network statistics at the top left of the screen.

    You might find this page useful:

    http://www.dragonbe.be/index.php?module=unreal_tournament
     
  10. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed the time out settings, so it doesn't time out on me for the most part but it still ignores my adminlogin attempts.

    I reinstalled both the server and my home computer and it still doesn't work, I can only assume it is maybe my windows install or something.

    any more ideas?

    Shane
     
  11. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run a dedicated server locally on your usual PC. Just use the Windows dedicated server so that you can keep the configuration separate from your client PC configuration. Set it up with (as near as possible) the same configuration that you use on the hired dedicated server and start it running.

    It will run as a background task and then you should start up your usual UT client. You'll see the local dedicated server running in one of the browser tabs (depends on how you set it up). Try doing the adminlogin to the local server.

    If nothing else, it will provide a local resource to try out configuration changes before applying them to your live server.

    Make sure that the Windows firewall is properly configured (Google is your friend) for both the client and the local server.
     
  12. lucifur

    lucifur 68.232.183.18:7777 Redeemer/Nali Server

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I got the UT99 server going ok and figured out my adminlogin problem now I found a vote mutator "x3dfxMapvotev24c" that says it can enable buttons for some mutators to be voted for, but the problem now is for example there is everything from relics to translocator enable in the webadmin page, but when I go to the config file to find out the command line and copy and paste them into the mapvote ini there is no mutator command lines in the config.

    This is a piece out of the config file, I need to know what the mutators names are ect.
    ------------------------------------------
    OtherClass=
    MapPreFixOverRide=
    PreFixSwap=
    MinPlayersForTeamGames=0
    ; for ExtraMutators=, which is for ALL buttons.
    ExtraMutators=
    ExtraMutators1=
    -------------------------------------------------------

    so I am stuck on that one for now.

    [​IMG]

    My ut2004 server, I still haven't got chaosut to work right, I still haven't figured out how to get the keybinds enabled so you get the special weapons but you cant switch amo or use the grav belt ect.

    and when you vote in a duel game after the first game it wont produce a map list it just plays the same map over and over, i stuck in another comand line under a diferent name and when we play chaosut duel we just switch game types back and forth, realy the same game.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2010

Share This Page