1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Koth Code

Discussion in 'CHiMERiC' started by Lemoni, Nov 24, 2001.

  1. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    how well does it work do the botsuse the code properly
     
  2. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    HELP

    i got this errorError: C:\UNREALTOURNAMENT\Koth\Classes\Kothscoreboard.uc(32) : Error, Redefinition of 'function DrawNameandPing' differs from original whats going on with the code CA?
     
  3. Sonja

    Sonja New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the parent class of the class the function "DrawNameandPing" is in.
    The function probably uses wrong return or parameter types or something like that.:flak:
     
  4. mr.s-d

    mr.s-d CHiMERiC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    In one of the patches (432 iirc) Epic changed a few functions relating to the HUD & score board, you may remember that this broke quite a lot of mods around at the time.
    The KOTH tute dates from quite a while before this, and the code definately worked at the time, I know becuase I used a tweaked version in a mod I was working on.
    If you look in TournamentScoreBoard you'll see that DrawNameAndPing has one more parameter (bCompressed).
     
  5. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you look in TournamentScoreBoard you'll see that DrawNameAndPing has one more parameter (bCompressed).
    So what does this mean
     
  6. mr.s-d

    mr.s-d CHiMERiC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    It means use the declaration for DrawNameAndPing that's in TournamentScoreBoard, as there's an additional parameter.
     
  7. Dr Slue

    Dr Slue Tutorial Maker Man

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed that too.
    It means that the function line should say:
    function DrawNameAndPing(Canvas Canvas, PlayerReplicationInfo PRI, float XOffset, float YOffset, bool bCompressed)
    instead of: function DrawNameAndPing(Canvas Canvas, PlayerReplicationInfo PRI, float XOffset, float YOffset)

    But even then, it gets another error saying: Error, Unrecognised type 'kothbotreplicationinfo'.
    Why isn't this class defined in the tutorial?
    Could someone make the necessary code and edit the tutorial so that it actually works? I would really appreciate that since i am using a lot of that code as a base for the first project that i am working on.
     
  8. Dr Slue

    Dr Slue Tutorial Maker Man

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could someone please a) fix up the code on the tutorial itself.
    b) just post the necessary finishing code here or
    c) move this thread to the Coding Forum so that more people will see it and be able to help.
    Thanks, because i really need this code to start out on my first project.
     
  9. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here for GE UT
     
  10. Dr Slue

    Dr Slue Tutorial Maker Man

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    i must have typed something wrong before, because i tryed it again and it worked just fine. Just copy the KothPlayerReplicationInfo code and change the necessary words from 'player' to 'bot' and it all compiles just nicely.
    My mod seems to be working quite nicely now...even though it is just the base gametype and HUD (alterred HUD) and a silly little scoreboard.
    The next things on my agenda are: Changing the Practice Session window to get rid of some stuff, making a 'FinishZone'(if the player reaches this, they are the winner), perhaps a StartZone, a more customised HUD, game start-up messages and many other things. Argh! Oh well, all the base stuff is done and that is what matters most.
     
  11. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool ill try that thanks
     
  12. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    it worked thanks slew it compiled, u want to get together to make a tut/mod?
     
  13. Dr Slue

    Dr Slue Tutorial Maker Man

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    like what? i'm interested, since i'm only beginning, but also because i'm just starting to get a bit better.
    I actually made my own ammo last night :) It looks like a grenade, too bad i can't skin though :) Oh, and it came out about 3 times too large. hehe
    then i made it as the projectile also for a grenade launcher (from one of the tutorials on chimeric) and it was quite fun seeing grenades the size of you flying around a little test level that i made.
    Anyway.
    If you want to discuss it more, you can email me @ Drslue@gamesden.net.au.
     
  14. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stupid quetsion but, to use koth do i make a map zone it and put koth zone in it?
     
  15. 2COOL4-U

    2COOL4-U New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol thanks
    how do i modify to code to have random zone selection
    eg zone 1 2 min with a player changes to zone 3 etc (rozing zones).?
     
  17. 2COOL4-U

    2COOL4-U New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry don't get you
     
  18. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    in perfect dark if the zone counter reaches end of limit the active koth zone will move, how do i get it to move to a new zone.

    ME A LAMO HOW DO i actually use it in ut i added a zone portal to my level then made this int file[Public]
    Object=(Name=Koth.KOTH,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.DeathMatchPlus)

    Preferences=(Caption="KOTH",Parent="Game Types",Class=Koth.kothGame,Immediate=True)
    is this right?
     
  19. mr.s-d

    mr.s-d CHiMERiC Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, should be:

    Object=(Name=Koth.KOTH,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.TournamentGameInfo)
     
  20. Lemoni

    Lemoni The Philosapher

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    done that but i end up with a blank pannel
    WTF is wrong?[Public]
    Object=(Name=Koth.KOTH,Class=Class,MetaClass=Botpack.TournamentGameInfo)

    Preferences=(Caption="KOTH",Parent="Game Types",Class=Koth.kothGame,Immediate=True)
     

Share This Page