1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Here's a question about 64/32 bits

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by Kantham, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok. I bought my version of Windows 32 bit recently. I heard that you need to run on the 64 bit version to be able to run the FarCry 64 bit patch. Ok, do this mean that i will need the 64 bit version of windows to run all the next games on 64 bit? Like let's say that UT2007 have both 32 and 64 bit version, will i be able to run it on 64 bit while runing windows 32 bit?
     
  2. SlipStreams_65

    SlipStreams_65 User Titles are Useless.

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume you have a 64-bit processor? Ut2007 will have 64 bit compatiblilty, so i dont see any reason why 32 bit windows and 64 bit games shouldnt run together.
     
  3. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cool cool.

    Yes, i have the AMD athlon 3700+ 64 bit.
     
  4. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. To run a 64-bit app you'll need a 64-bit CPU and OS. Any other combination will have to use 32-bit.
     
  5. lvlorpheus

    lvlorpheus New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. edhe

    edhe ..dadhe..

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can still be run, but why bother?

    For the 64 'experience' (btw, no difference yet) you need 64 bit cpu, 64 bit OS, 64 bit drivers for components and 64 bit application code.
     
  7. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well. So this mean i'll have to buy the 64 BIT version of Windows XP? Or maybe Vista in the eventual time. Oh well. What im doing with the 32 BIT version then?
     
  8. The_Head

    The_Head JB Mapper

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are no seriously worthwhile benefits from having a 64bit operating system at the moment.
    Stick with Windows XP32. and get the 64 bit of Vista in the furute when it actually becomes neede.
    XP isn't suddenly going to become defunct, I only recently stopped usinhg win2000......
     
  9. SkaarjMaster

    SkaarjMaster enemy of time

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    1
    ........and I'm still using Win98SE on my second computer.;)
     
  10. daloonie

    daloonie sex boobs nude

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,880
    Likes Received:
    9
    And it's still as embarrasing as 4 years ago :lol:

    When 64bit for desktop/gaming machines will really be supported I say it's when Vista get's available and widely supported by all hardware vendors. Until then Win XP 64 has no real benefit to Win XP 32 due to lack of supported and stable drivers.
    Also the programs need to be specifically built to 64bit architecture to get the advantage of 64bit. And as I see it these programs really isn't so many.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2006

Share This Page