1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Windows XP problem

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by TheGodFather, Jan 21, 2002.

  1. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello INF people. this might not be the place to post problems with inf but im doing this quick cuz i have to leave in a few. Im NOT sure if this is an error, but INF doesnt seem to work well with windows XP. When I am playing (and a few of my other friends do) we get general connection faults an sometimes the keys (mouse keyboard and all) freeze up on us and inf doesnt respond. please email at dj_majyc@yahoo.com and notify me if that is a real error with 286 or i need to fix something in my files
     
  2. DredDamo

    DredDamo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have XP in the office and it works like a charm :D

    In fact, it's the only machine that I can play it on, hee hee.

    D.
     
  3. DarkBls

    DarkBls Inf Ex-admin

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,551
    Likes Received:
    0
    *MOVED*
     
  4. erehwoN

    erehwoN The Bass Ackwards BTL

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happens to me too. INF just freezes. I would be playing online, and I can't move. I can be killed, I can see everyone else moving around, and I can read the messages, but INF just doesn't respond. I have to hit alt-tab, then ctrl-alt-delete to quit. I want help too.
     
  5. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it really bothers me and i hope it can be fixed. maybe its becuz inf 286 was made for lower windows versions cuz it came otu before xp, i wouldnt know im still learning this computer stuff. mainly use it for games and 3D rendering. and Drkbls what you mean by *moved*? like i said before im still a little newbish to the forums but im not newbish to the game itself :D :cool:
     
  6. [SOB]Grunt_X

    [SOB]Grunt_X SOB Clan Officer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    This isn't an INF problem, it's an XP problem with the drivers you're using. Make sure you get the latest drivers for ALL your hardware. Like my soundblaster live's sound in UT was messed up with the default drivers but an update cured that.
     
  7. Midwinter

    Midwinter sneaky bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    When DarkBls puts *moved* that means you started a thread in the wrong section (i.e. this belongs to troubleshooting, where it is now :) ). Ah, BTW, I have XP and INFIL runs perfectly here... do as Grunt_X said you, get the latest drivers and all should be good...

    Good luck!
     
  8. erehwoN

    erehwoN The Bass Ackwards BTL

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already have upgraded my SB drivers. And doesn't XP come with the latest DirectX drivers? Any other drivers that I should upgrade?
     
  9. Midwinter

    Midwinter sneaky bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    what about your graphics card? do you have the latest drivers?
     
  10. erehwoN

    erehwoN The Bass Ackwards BTL

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm using nVidia's 23.11 drivers.
     
  11. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have SB digital and i dont think i am up to date on updates neither with my nvida. all i know is that i have a geforce3 so if you can, please send me some details to help fix this problem and where i get the updates, i'd appreciate it
     
  12. Waxx

    Waxx Ultralight pilot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 1999
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problems used to happen to me. Check your memory, as it turns out the pricks who sold us our computer put bad memory inside it. Some new memory cured all our problems. I run XP, and it is flawless.
     
  13. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 60 gigs.......
     
  14. Midwinter

    Midwinter sneaky bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are saying the size of the HD. He was referring to RAM memory ;). Happened to me, too, but it was some years ago... couldn't play Warcraft 2 because of constant hangs. I changed the memory and that solved the problem.
     
  15. striderteen

    striderteen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,490
    Likes Received:
    0
    :eek: O ye of little faith, it is thy computer that is to blame. Know ye that Windows XP was crafted by the infallible programmer-wizards of the great kingdom of Microsoft, ruled by the Lord of Software himself, the one and only Bill Gates.
     
  16. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    strider.....do you have any idea how corrupted that fool is? i bet he tosses glitches in windows on purpose so he can keep making new versions that have glitches for CERTAIN CD's. he's an evil wizard i say
     
  17. Midwinter

    Midwinter sneaky bastard

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    hehe... well, I know that all Windows OS's have their glitches, but sometimes what appears to be a fu*ked up Windows is some hardware conflict in reality... as I said before, since I have XP no problems have arised... but that doesn't mean it is perfect :)
     
  18. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    VERY true midwinter. i've noticed something with windows. me and my friend have the SAME stuff for xp his runs fine he gets the same glitches as i do with the shutting down and stuff but in the past we had similar windows os and i had different glitches than him. For example windows ME my mouse would freeze on me but my keyboard wouldnt and could move around liek a crackhead lol. but my friend never had that problem. in conclusion there are numerous random glitches "tossed" into windows :D
     
  19. NikonStudios

    NikonStudios Cpt. Lord Nikon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Windows" , Hwo need hackers ... america hass Bill Gates !!

    I hate windows cus it is not (Hack Proof, Bug Proof and watever else it is)

    Yes i have the same problem sounds ar crapy and yes i have my drivers updated ... nop its not over yet "I HATE BILL GATES" cus i can't play INF wiht good sounds. if i don't find the problem i go back to Win2000 "not so bugy i gess"
     
  20. TheGodFather

    TheGodFather New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    actualy windows XP gives me GOOD sound
     

Share This Page