1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

What kind of RAM does the Pentium 4 Motherboard take?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by WildWing, Jan 6, 2002.

  1. WildWing

    WildWing New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2001
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. ben harkins

    ben harkins New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    PC800 RDRAM.
     
  3. hal

    hal Dictator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 1998
    Messages:
    21,397
    Likes Received:
    13
    Some of the boards can accept DDR SDRAM.

    Like this one
     
  4. BlAcK_PlAgUe22

    BlAcK_PlAgUe22 I ooze.

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Older ones (like mine) take RDRAM; newer ones accept DDR and regular SDRAM too. IMO RDRAM is the only way to go with P4's :)
     
  5. ZenPirate

    ZenPirate Living Legend (and moderator)

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    7
    [crotchety old man]RDRAM is the devil's tool[/crotchety old man] :D
     
  6. ViperXL

    ViperXL Great Car

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 1999
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    RDRam blows and is a lot more expensive, but i dont know how other types work with the P4.

    If DDR works well... go buy some... NOW! :)
     
  7. purice

    purice coon dog

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are different boards that use different RAM.


    rambus boards were the first.
    the socket 478 p4t-e is a follow-up from the socket 423 p4t. i've built quite a few systems with it and its performance is pretty damn nice.
    http://www.asus.com/mb/socket478/p4t-e/overview.htm

    p4 + sdram boards such as the p4b followed. between you and me, they suck. it really shows.
    http://www.asus.com.tw/mb/socket478/p4b/overview.htm

    VIA was first on the block to offer p4 + 266ddr.
    http://www.via.com.tw/jsp/en/products/apollo/P4X266.jsp
    intel wasn't very happy with this. SiS released the 645 not too long after with intel's 'blessing'
    http://www.tbreak.com/hard/mobo/sis645/page1.html
    SiS and VIA are both working on/releasing ddr 333 solutions.

    the p4 + ddr boards are quite fast. with the ram clocked at 333 it will only be better.
     
  8. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    they've already brought in a different P4 socket? arg!

    Junk advertising in today's paper from Dell says:
    "Pentium 4, with 256MB single channel memory (RDRAM)"

    What the heck's that?

    And as for 333MHz .. which idiot decided to base everything around 33MHz? It's such an unwieldy number! I see DDR at 333 and think 'what the heck is half of that?'
    My trick is to convert into thirds of 100: 333 is then 10/3 so half of that is 5/3 = 166.

    (how long has DDR333 been around annyway? sheesh I feel out of touch... :con: )
     
  9. purice

    purice coon dog

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rdram is more expensive and probably won't last very long. If crucial won't even carry it, I wouldn't make an investment in a motherboard that requires RDRAM.
     
  11. purice

    purice coon dog

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not too sure about that.
    http://www.zdnet.com/zdnn/stories/news/0,4586,5097022,00.html

    we'll see what happens when the p4 Northwoods flood the market. if RDRAM is a good performer i'd wager it'll be around for a long time even if it is expensive and the company behind it comes straight from the ninth plane of Hell.
     
  12. LordKhaine

    LordKhaine I sing the body electric...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 1999
    Messages:
    5,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recall hearing somewhere that P4 mobos that take DDR ram suck *shrug*


    And performance with rdram isnt *bad*, its just more expensive and not *as* good :D
     
  13. tarquin

    tarquin design is flawed

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    what's happened to the mythical nVidia nForce m0b0?
    that was supposed to have GeForce 2MX graphics built-in...
     
  14. purice

    purice coon dog

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are coming and getting very overhyped the only way ill justify selling or building them is if they came with their own ram block (seperate memory for the chip)
     
  16. purice

    purice coon dog

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page