1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

WALKTHROUGH: How to Add UT3 to Steam

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 3' started by Renegade Retard, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    As long as the account has the ability to modify the attributes of files, it should work.
     
  2. DarkSonny

    DarkSonny Beware!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok then, thanks for the info! guys
    :tup:
     
  3. Tealhawke

    Tealhawke User closed registration

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    My question is, what is there to gain by associating the updated and patched version to Steam? Does that make Steam add the achievement features from the black version? If not, why let UT3 get anywhere near Steam?
     
  4. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you put the patched version into Steam, it'll download a few extra files that will make achievements and steam stuff work, yes.
     
  5. Alhanalem

    Alhanalem Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you JaFO in disguise or something? :p There's nothing wrong with Steam (except the time required to download stuff if you're on dialup... :p )
     
  6. Tealhawke

    Tealhawke User closed registration

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you :) I think I'll do without the achievements and Steam, though.
     
  7. Tealhawke

    Tealhawke User closed registration

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    "(except the time required to download stuff if you're on dialup... )"

    You think that's funny? IT KEEPS US FROM PLAYING THE GAMES. That's a joke to you, I guess, but half of American homes still use dialup. You don't see the advantage of being able to buy the retail game in a store like EVERY other game maker does? You don't see why I'm here asking for help?

    It's because Steam is making people download the whole game. There are ways around that, I hear... but what's the point of a game? To have fun? Where is the fun in this?
     
  8. Alhanalem

    Alhanalem Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know, the green face is supposed to be a "tongue stuck out" face, not a "wheee this is funny, ha ha you're on dialup!' face. There's no reason to get so emotional over it.

    What, do you want to download part of it and not play?

    Steam isn't for everyone, no. But if you have the bandwidth for it, it works great. I just can't stand seeing people bash steam when it's not any fault of steam that is the cause of their trouble. It's not Steams fault that 8 gigs takes a couple days straight to download over dialup... Steam didn't make the game. Steam just provides games to people willing to download them over the internet. Is there really something wrong with that? Steam doesn't work for you... that's fine. Just don't bash it when it's merely not the service for you, rather than something that is dysfunctional.
     
  9. -AEnubis-

    -AEnubis- fps greater than star

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Messages:
    3,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I didn't have it installed. I gave steam my key, and let it install the game, patch, titan pack, etc. Finally tried to run it today, and it installed DX, OpenAL, and something else, and not when I try to launch via steam, it says...

    "This game is currently unavailible.
    Please try again at another time."
    [OK ]

    Now, my roomate has it installed through steam, and his logged on fine, despite prompting him for his key repeatedly. I restarted, verified the integrity of game cache, and still get the same message.

    Li'l help?
     

Share This Page