Quick Default Weapons Coding Question

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Gnam

Feb 13, 2002
Yes, please.
OK, I'm making a mutator for 2k4 that replaces the assault rifle with my modified assault rifle. I am using the DefaultWeapon property to get the new AR in there, my problem is getting the old AR out. Right now the mutator spawns the player with the shield gun, the vanilla AR, and my modded AR. Is There a simple way to just disable a default weapon? BTW, I'm new to coding so please nothing unnessesarily complicated. Thanks.

EvilDrWong

Every line of code elevates you
Jun 16, 2001
Inside the machine
Visit site
the mutator function GetInventoryClassOverride does exactly what youre looking for... heck, its even got instructions in its comments! :D
Code:
/* GetInventoryClassOverride()
return the string passed in, or a replacement class name string.
*/
function string GetInventoryClassOverride(string InventoryClassName)
{
    // here, in mutator subclass, change InventoryClassName if desired.  For example:    
    // if ( InventoryClassName == "Weapons.DorkyDefaultWeapon"
    //		InventoryClassName = "ModWeapons.SuperDisintegrator"

if ( NextMutator != None )
        return NextMutator.GetInventoryClassOverride(InventoryClassName);
    return InventoryClassName;
}
So what you'd do is say something like
Code:
    if(InventoryClassName~="xWeapons.AssaultRifle")
        return "YourPackage.AssKickingAssaultRifleReplacement";

Im gonna try and use my magic powers to move this to a more proper place. Lets see how that goes.

Last edited:

Gnam

Feb 13, 2002
Yes, please.