1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

One Year Later There's No UT3 Client For Linux

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 3' started by GreatEmerald, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. Alhanalem

    Alhanalem Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lots of people have a 64 bit CPU and don't really even realize it, because their computer came with a 32 bit OS installed.

    Notice though, that like 25% of Vista users are running x64, compared with a very tiny percentage of XP users (because XP 64 wasn't exactly made widely available, whereas it's included in the box with some editions of Vista)
     
  2. TheIronKnuckle

    TheIronKnuckle What the hell is this "ballin" thing?

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    That probably explains why it says amd64 athlon X 2 on my comp but whenever i try to use the ut2004 64 bit installer it doesn't work :p
     
  3. oldkawman

    oldkawman Master of Your Disaster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea, unless your computer is 5 years old or older, you likely have a 64 bit cpu in it. The last 32 bit AMD CPU were the socket A, athlon XP type. While the last 32 bit intel cpu was the socket 478 P4. So, odds are that most folks have a 64 bit cpu inside that magic box they have as pretty much everything made since 2003 has been 64 bit.

    Now seeing that windoze 7 has both 32 bit and 64 bit versions, it may be several more years before 64 bit becomes the norm. I guess we will have to wait for windoze 9 for that.
     
  4. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    Correct! :p
     
  5. WHIPperSNAPper

    WHIPperSNAPper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any update on UT3 for Linux?
     
  6. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope. Phoronix still has no info on that. It only has an interesting fact that a new X server is out, with no ATI driver support whatsoever...
     
  7. oldkawman

    oldkawman Master of Your Disaster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, it's getting pretty obvious that the Linux port will not be part of the expansion at all. No mention in the titan pack, no beta installer, or anything. That is such a shame and a big disappointment to many folks. Hopefully, one day will see some leakage of info that tells the true tale of how and why this happened.

    Now I am starting to wonder if the Linux server will be able to have 2.0 clients join.
     
  8. Raynor.Z

    Raynor.Z Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    4
    Indeed, we've already seen screenshots that were supposed to be from Linux and Mac versions and considering there's no update for a long time it really feels bad. I understand that there is (was?) basically only one person working on it, but any kind of progress info would be nice.
     
  9. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aaaand, news!

    -- http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=NzEyMg
     
  10. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sure everyone saw the news post on BU, so I'm not going to repeat it, but Phoronix confirmed that and also shows that there are a lot of people who actually want a Linux client:
    -- http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=NzEzOQ
     
  11. oldkawman

    oldkawman Master of Your Disaster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ut3] Still on its way

    Ryan chimed in on the Linux UT3 mailing list yesterday. He said it's still in the debugging stage. Here is what he wrote;
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ryan C. Gordon to ut3 - yesterday
    [ut3] Still on its way... ...since I imagine that the notice of mailing list software change will spark a (well deserved) round of complaints--after all, I have been largely absent from this list despite the cries for updates--I just wanted to drop a note and say that the UT3 linux and mac work is still ongoing. Largely we're just optimizing and fixing annoying bugs at the moment.
    No release date at the moment. Yes, I know we're already 16 months late. I'm sorry, we'll get you the game as soon as we can.
    Thanks for your eternal patience,
    --ryan.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  14. SimplyCosmic

    SimplyCosmic ERGO. VIS A VIS. CONCORDANTLY.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 1999
    Messages:
    6,311
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the retail side of things, 64-bit really is starting to take over. I'd say most of the desktops I'm setting up for my clients are 64-bit, with the exception of sub-$400 "entry-level" Emachines and Acer desktops.

    The manufacturers started to make 64-bit available only due to memory address limit of 32-bit operating systems. Adding memory isn't quite as expensive as it used to be, so putting 4, 6 or 8GB in your system so it looks better on the bullet point listing comparisons is a quick way to get someone to buy your $800 desktop.

    That said, they haven't really done much to educate the public about the difference between 32 and 64-bit Windows, and I would say the vast majority of new computer owners who have 64-bit Vista don't know it until they run into an older 32-bit program or hardware driver issue.
     
  15. Alhanalem

    Alhanalem Teammember on UT3JB Bangaa Bishop

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,238
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Fuzz

    Fuzz Enigma

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    40 years later there's no satisfactory Unix based replacement for Windows... (If you want to be more fair, Windows 1.0 released 24 years ago.)
     
  17. oldkawman

    oldkawman Master of Your Disaster

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    And by 1994, fourteen years ago, it almost worked as Win 3.0. Most programs still required a special MSDOS boot. All real games did. OMG it uses more than 640Kb ram! All CAD, CAM, and many other system intensive programs did as well as games like Wing Commander.

    To be fair, I ran AutoCAD on UNIX workstations with optical mice back in 1990 in school. I think that program was UNIX and MSDOS only until 1995-96 or even later. Talk about a slow start!

    Right, Linux OS still requires a more computer skill than most folks have. Which is why growth is slow. Just waiting for that breakthrough that sets some standards, and then some more standards, and on. The first step seems pretty far away.

    I guess mentioning apple or mac and OSX, which is unix based, would be pretty silly as well.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
  18. Riz

    Riz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    any news on UT3 native client? i heard about wine being able to run it, but if its anything like Team Fortress 2 on wine, i rather stick to dual boot :rolleyes:
     
  19. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
  20. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,995
    Likes Received:
    75
    There are several people who reported that Cedega runs it really well.
     

Share This Page