1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Frustrating shortcut question.

Discussion in 'The Ball' started by god.less, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. god.less

    god.less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the game, and have been playing it for a good few days. I made a shortcut in my Steam Games tab and have the actual shortcut to the mod itself on my desktop. My problem now is that the game will not run at all. Every time I tweak the target spot for the game, it either doesn't run, or gives me an error.

    This is where the game is starting in:

    "C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries"

    and this is the target:

    "C:\Program Files\Unreal Tournament 3\Binaries\UT3.exe" -mod=..\TheBall

    Is there something wrong there, I can't seem to figure this out.



    Edit: Unreal Tournament 3 runs just fine.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  2. Bi()ha2arD

    Bi()ha2arD Toxic!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have UT3 retail or steam? If you have steam it may be located somewhere else.
     
  3. god.less

    god.less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have bought and installed the retail version.
     
  4. Hourences

    Hourences New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is how it looks for me, be sure to don't mix up Start In and Target.

    [​IMG]

    You have Patch 2.1 yes? That is the UT3 black edition.

    What error does it give?

    The game really is installed in program files yes?
     
  5. god.less

    god.less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have patch 2.1 installed. The game was installed correctly and I was able to play it for a few days. Then, all of a sudden, every time I tried to launch the game, an error message:

    [​IMG]

    Here is my Start In-Target Box:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Hourences

    Hourences New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do or did you had any previous versions installed?

    There is a log file here:
    C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Logs

    Launch.log and/or Launch2.log. Run the mod, make sure it crashes, and then post the log file here. It may hold some clues. It must be something simple somewhere.
     
  7. god.less

    god.less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I uninstalled all previous versions of the game before I installed the final version.

    Here are the launch backup files; the Log files appears to be empty. Hopefully this helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Hourences

    Hourences New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't say much, but according to google this happens more, also to an unmodded UT3. It is something specific in your my documents folder. Could try to delete all files in C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\UTGame\Config so you get new and default ones.

    Could try deleting all the ones that are NOT named "DefaultSomething" here too C:\Documents and Settings\Hourences\My Documents\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3\TheBall\Config
     
  9. god.less

    god.less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, thanks, pal. I deleted all those files and the game now works fine. Only problem; it deleted my saved game. :( No worries though, thank you again.
     

Share This Page