1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Does raising the resolution lower fps

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by unreal junkie, Jul 4, 2001.

  1. unreal junkie

    unreal junkie Average

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    My system must be a wierd anomaly or something. Of course all of you know that my system is an amd k-6/2 300 with 128 megs of ram.. and i run UT in 1024*768 and i noticed that some maps run at the same speed that 640*480 ran at. Now usually you would think this would hurt me big time but in some cases it helped. Is this normal or is my system really screwy
     
  2. The Dopefish

    The Dopefish Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Messages:
    8,241
    Likes Received:
    11
    It happens to me sometimes too.
     
  3. unreal junkie

    unreal junkie Average

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well at least this is a good thing then.. get sharper clearer graphics at no loss in fps.... i likes
     
  4. Morety

    Morety The Farterator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Messages:
    12,267
    Likes Received:
    3
    Are you benchmarking it using the cityintro flythrough?
     
  5. iolair

    iolair Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a sign of a processor limited machine; it means your graphics card outguns the processor sufficiently that anything the processor can send it's way; it can handle....
     
  6. The Bullgod

    The Bullgod Not A Trendy A$$hole

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2001
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, me too. it's because of our crappy AMD processors. K6/2 450 here. It sucks, big time. I get like a constant 50fps in UT Insta, and that's about the only game I can run.
     
  7. unreal junkie

    unreal junkie Average

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another wierd thing that i tried today... i raised the color to 32 bit and its still running the same fps.. well maybe it dropped a few but its still pretty much the same.
     
  8. iolair

    iolair Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    As bulldog said, this seems a common issue with K6-2 processors.... I have a K6-2 500 and run virtually the same FPS nomatter whether I'm in 640 x 480, 800 x 600 or 1024 x 768.

    The thing that seems to limit my FPS most is the number of players on a map; with 2-5 players I'm pretty much flying but with 16 it's getting to the limits of being able to play it at all. In other words, it's when the processor has to do more work that limits the FPS....
     
  9. badmaninheaven

    badmaninheaven Powerslave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well , i'm running a celeron 466.
    And mine seems to have better fps with increased resolution !!!!!
    Its true.
    I'mean when i tried playing in 640 x 480 damn!did it suck !!
    And when i played the same in 1024 x 768 it was waaaay b8r.
    :p
     
  10. hal

    hal Dictator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 1998
    Messages:
    21,397
    Likes Received:
    13
    iolair is right. I have a P2 400 that has the same problem and I get virtually the same fps in 800x600 that I do in 1024x768. 32 bit color has zero effect on my fps as well.
     
  11. B

    B Bee

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    8,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Hal said goes for me 2 :) (only my P2 = clocked 2 533:))
     
  12. Master_Raven

    Master_Raven aka FitZ

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help me out here plz!
    U say I can get the same fps in 800*600, as in 640*480?
    Also have amdk6-2, 64 ram though :(
     
  13. unreal junkie

    unreal junkie Average

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bad thing about it though.. the maximum bots i can handle without watching a 1 slide show is 4... but depending on the level.. like fetid for example it can go to almost 10 but i wouldnt push it that far.
     
  14. B

    B Bee

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    8,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it depends on the combination of Processor and Videocard. I have a Geforce 2 in my rig and like iolair said:

    This is a sign of a processor limited machine; it means your graphics card outguns the processor.

    So this is what I think: The processor just can't handle the amount of "data" the videocard is pushing through. If its running 50 FPS on 640x480 my videocard has power enough to push the resolution up and keep the FPS the same, while the processor is sweating his pants off till it as a swamp-ass :)
     
  15. Peregrine

    Peregrine Death from above

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends on the hardware.
    I've seen a few tests of different video cards, and many of them ran slower at 640x480 than at 1024x768!!
     
  16. Prophetus

    Prophetus Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    3,099
    Likes Received:
    7
    Some graphics card's drivers are designed and optimized for higher resolutions. Take the Radeon, for example. Playing at 16 bit @ 1024x7 results in lower FPS than playing at 32 bit. That's because the drivers shut down certain features and optimizations at the lower bit rate.

    Same goes for most other GC's. Their drivers start using certain optimization features at higher resolutions. Once you go below the default resolution, those features are either turned off or work at half speed.

    So if you run UT at 1024x7 and receive 60 fps, then move to 640x480, it is quite possible to maintain the same FPS (or lower), without noticing an increase. They don't expect or understand why someone would play most games at such low rez, so they don't spend the time to optimize the drivers for lower settings.

    Some people don't realize they can play at a higher rez and probably receive better FPS. I know I didn't. I was getting poor FPS at 800x @16 bit. Until I started to read the reviews and realized the optimal setting was 1024x7 @32.

    Test your GC's, not every GC has optimized drivers and most companies don't say anything about it (they feel it's a form of cheating during benchmark tests:))
     
  17. badmaninheaven

    badmaninheaven Powerslave

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    GOOD FOR EVERYONE !!!!:D
     

Share This Page