1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UE3 - UT3 Crashing when opening Generic Browser packages - reinstall does not help

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Corpseprince, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. Corpseprince

    Corpseprince New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    So i've been getting this for the past few days, that when i am working on a map for UT3 and I want to open a package in the Generic Browser, it says

    Unreal Editor 3 has stopped working

    Reinstall didn't help, although i noticed that when i start the editor now i get a different banner (now you see Reaper, at first it was a huge construct) this may have something to do with the fact that i first had the Titan Pack.

    I also want to ask what makes the difference between Additive and Substractive mode when you create a new map.
     
  2. Vaskadar

    Vaskadar It's time I look back from outer space

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    52
    Have you saved over any of the default .upk files? If you have, that may be the cause of your problems.

    Unreal Editor does not like modified default packages.
     
  3. Corpseprince

    Corpseprince New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Errr maybe accidentily. I really wouldn't know. But reinstall should fix that, or not?
     
  4. Vaskadar

    Vaskadar It's time I look back from outer space

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    52
    Reinstall wouldn't fix that because it's a duplicate default .upk saved in one of your unpublished custom folders. This used to prevent me from launching the UT editor. Check there, otherwise wait for a response from someone with greater levels of expertise than myself.
     
  5. Corpseprince

    Corpseprince New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many, many thanks

    Deleting the sky.upk in my custom folder fixed the problem. Didn't know it was there anyhow.

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page