1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Computer Problems/Upgrades/Info

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by «BuA»Lurker_71, Jul 18, 2003.

  1. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Add to that a Pioneer DVD-R
     
  2. Bad-Target

    Bad-Target New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    As you all know I have been having problems with TS latley. It starts a loop at various times and will not stop. Then trying to ALt+ESc to minimize UT so that I can the ctrl+Alt+Delete so that I cha shut down TS will occasionally cause me to crash. I am using the new version of TS and 2225V of UT . It might be my sound card, but I am not sure about that. I did notice that with in the windows sound settings that I had the right drivers loaded. But, I also noticed that I didn't load the Sound blaster Software manger program. Could that be the problem.?
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2003
  3. «BuA»Lurker_71

    «BuA»Lurker_71 Thë Möñkëÿ Kïñg

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try updating your sound card drivers. Also, which version of DirectX are you up to?
    Version 9 is out, and available @ the Windows Update site.
     
  4. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    What my computer will be when it's done:

    TAZTG Original Case (Sweeeeeet) =]
    Intel P4 2.8Ghz 800FSB
    1 Gig of Corsair XMS Dual Channel RAM ( got a discount since the guys messed up ) =]
    Asus P4P800 Motherboard
    Western Digital 7200rpm 80Gig HardDrive
    LG 16X DVD Rom
    LG 52x24x52 CD burner
    SoundBlaster Audigy Gamer Sound Card
    Windows XP Pro (english version)
    Logitech MX500 optical mouse
    Keyboard to be determined
    Viewsonic 19" Flat screen Monitor
    GeForce FX5900 Ultra Vid card

    I found some spiral wrap at an electronics store close to where I live. ( Drove an hour in a near city to find some, nada, zip, zilch. Damn stores that have everything but that.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2003
  6. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
    Damn DEV, Thats one serious system. Don't forget that the ram is 3200, thats kicking man.. :) :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2003
  7. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here are 2 pics of what my power supply looks like
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
    Damn that clear tube looks Sweet. Good Job DEV. Move over TAZTG we have another Case Modder. ;)
     
  9. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    TAZ HELP!!!

    Status of my computer:

    DVD pluged in
    Burner pluged in
    Floppy pluged in
    HDD pluged in
    Vid Card pluged in
    MotherBoard pluged in

    Do I need to plug these wires and where do they go?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      29.1 KB
      Views:
      26
  10. Shattered_Steel

    Shattered_Steel Birthed of Destruction

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you got power to all your drives, you don't need to worry about the other power cords (white/clear plugs), but what do those black plugs trace back to?
     
  11. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Power supply, I have nothing on my mobo that it could plug on
     
  12. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK, lets see if we can help ya sort this out.


    This Connector Here is the AuxPower[​IMG] and
    does not plug into your MoBo. You can remove the Spiral Wrap and try to hide it behind something. I actually cut mine off to get it completely out of the way.
    This Connector is for [​IMG] Fan Only and IMOP a complete waste of time. Hide that one also.

    The Gray Cable with all those pins are for the Front USB and Firewall Ports. Some MOBO's have expandable USB and Fireport connectors on them and thats where you could plug them in. Refer to yourMOBo Manual. If you don't use USB and Firewire all that much odds are you don't need to hook them up. Hide those suckers to.

    You should have 3 Power Connectors plugged into your MOBO. Main ATX, the Small Square One 12V, and a regular looking Molex 12V. The rest plug into the HD's Graphic Card etc.

    The Fan Only and AuxPower is not needed and the Front Ports aren't needed. Hope that helps!!
     
  13. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thx TAZ & SS, helped a lot :)
     
  14. DrahguneyeZ

    DrahguneyeZ Spirit of the Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    I posted in the other thread that i will be getting a new CPU or maybe even a whole new mother board. TAZ your the expert what would you get?
     
  15. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
    That depends on what your willing to spend and what you prefer AMD or INTEL. If you really want a Killer Rig and money then I could make a few suggestions. I see you want a new Mobo and CPU. Does this also mean new RAM??? If not then you have to match your current ram up with whats on the market.

    Here's a High End Suggestion:
    CPU: Pentium 4-3.2 GHz Processor Retail Box - $394
    Cooling: Included - N/A
    Motherboard: ABIT IC7-MAX3 - $207
    Memory: Corsair XMS 1GB PC-3200 LLPRO (2X512) - $328

    Or My Current Favorite:
    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Retail - $425
    Cooling: Included - $0
    Motherboard: Asus K8V Deluxe - $138
    Memory: Corsair XMS 1GB PC-3200 LLPRO (2X512) - $328
     
  16. DrahguneyeZ

    DrahguneyeZ Spirit of the Dragon

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Taz, My comp has a intel right now. but i know that Athalons are better for gaming.

    No i have plenty of RAM, all i really need is a new processor. Thos are great suggestions TAZ thanks alot.
     
  17. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    The speed2k proggy (available here: http://www.tweakpc.com/Internet.htm) was brought to my attention by {TDC}Matrix. He posted the results he got from DSLReports. Here they are:

    Matrix:
    Download:7553 kbps
    Upload:984 kbps

    Mine:
    Download:2931 kbps
    Upload:377 kbps

    Seeing he has more than twice of what I have, I'm considering trying it. I know that BC and TAZ don't need it but for us high ping fraggers it might be something to look into. I'm waiting on some feedback from him. I'll keep you informed.
     
  18. TAZTG

    TAZTG Your face, Your ass-Whats the Difference

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,748
    Likes Received:
    2
    There are lots of Sites and Programs that can help you tweak your Cable Modem. I am not sure if it will help ya with PING to Servers so far away.
    I tried to access the Speedcorp Site its not there anymore but a search revealed quite a few hits.
    http://www.cable-modems.org/links/
     
  19. Devastator

    Devastator What are YOU looking at?

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried it... And NO, it doesn't help the ping one bit. And doens't make much a difference for internet speed either.
     
  20. Bonecrusher

    Bonecrusher Make choices, don't look back...

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    3,885
    Likes Received:
    3
    LOL. Told ya DEV. It's just spyware. None of that kind of stuff works.
     

Share This Page