1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

ChaosUT Bastard Sword Bug

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by Arnox, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    When I'm using the bastard sword, I notice that when I put up my block and then press the primary fire to swing while the block is up, it will swing and the block state is active even when I'm not doing anything at all until I use the block button again.

    Does anyone have some type of fix for this?

    BTW this is with the latest ChaosUT version. (1.1)
     
  2. WHIPperSNAPper

    WHIPperSNAPper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think too many people play that mod. I've never seen it used online. As far as I know it's been almost universally rejected, at least by people who play it in online multiplayer (which is how UT is meant to be played).
     
  3. Dont be a nubcake

    Dont be a nubcake New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can ask about it, but it'll be several weeks or even a month or two before I get you an answer.
     
  4. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Has anyone even experienced this bug besides me?
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  5. NeoNite

    NeoNite Eternal sunshine

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2000
    Messages:
    19,261
    Likes Received:
    106
    It seems to occur, every now and then.

    Edit: Nah seriously, just fired up ChaosUT 1.1 and everything seemed fine.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  6. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nope. Happens every time you hold the block button and press primary fire. It's a horrible exploit that takes all the fun out of chopping up bots. :\
     
  7. ZeaLitY

    ZeaLitY Modernaire

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was ChaosUT the mod that had RocketArena in it? I remember playing it years ago after getting the GotY edition that packaged ChaosUT with it. RocketArena seemed like a cool concept; wonder if anyone's still playing.
     
  8. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    RocketArena is in GOTY, and ChaosUT is in GOTY, but ChaosUT is not RocketArena.
     
  9. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    What? Why does it always work for me? Are you sure you did it correctly? Just hold down the block button and press the primary fire while it's up and then take some hits with the other bots bastard sword or something blockable. If the projectile/sword gets blocked most of the time while you're not doing anything and taking the hits FROM THE FRONT, I might add, then you did it right. The bastard sword won't block attacks from the back of course.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  10. Hermskii

    Hermskii www.Hermskii.com

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    3
    Suddenly...

    Suddenly...I'm interested in this question based on the banner in my signature. I have not had this issue but I will look into it further and I have the several of the original makers of Chaos in my back pocket too! Go to my Chaos server and see if it happens there too please and let me know. We'll drill down to the bottom of this!

    ~Peace~
     
  11. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yep, it seems to be on your server as well. I enacted the glitch every time I got my hands on a sword during a quick play on your server and when I saw a bot I held the primary fire. It still blocked some bullets. It also blocked a sword attack. I can't really say for sure though because it's hard to sometimes find the sword (if it's even on the current map) and, even more difficult, to find a bot with a weapon that the sword can actually block.

    You can find this out better than I can by far though. Just start a quick Sword Arena in Morbias with a bot and enact the glitch I've talked about above. If it works, that sucks. If it doesn't, hooray for you. Bad for me. All I know is that it works every time for me on my game.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  12. Hermskii

    Hermskii www.Hermskii.com

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    3
    Should have....

    I should have joined you earlier when I saw you on the server. I knew you were testing but I was busy updating a Chaos server I have for UT2004 at the time.

    I'll do 2 things here. I'll test it myself per your suggestionand I'll take it to a Chaos founder and see what they have to say about it as well. Give me some time but I'll be back with some kind of answer I hope. I trust you felt the server ran well as a whole? Any suggestions?
     
  13. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, did you make the relics invisible? It seems they are and I randomly obtain/encounter them. lol Also, please don't put Weapon Stay on because I assume you have the weapon cycle on rotate instead of replace. This doesn't allow for any, you know, chaos. Also, the grapple seems to be different from the original Chaos one. Is that normal? And, finally, I would suggest you take out Volatile Weapon because it really takes the fun out of beating an old chap to a pulp with your sword only to have his rocket launcher malfunction all over your face. :\ Otherwise, nice server indeed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  14. GreatEmerald

    GreatEmerald Khnumhotep

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds like a serverpackage issue.
     
  15. Hermskii

    Hermskii www.Hermskii.com

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    3
    Good deal!

    That was great feedback! I had not considered the weapon stay thing. I have turned it off. I removed the volatile ammo and weapons too. The weapons are set to replace. The grapple is totally different because it won't work at all if the player doesn't have the mod installed already so Ichanged it with one I had from a while back. I actually prefer the stand in one more.

    I don't know yet about the relics. I'm guessing I didn't copy something somewhere and will look into it tonight.
     
  16. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, actually, I had some fun with the grapple by using it as a weapon. :D Speaking of which, what did you do about the sword bug?

    To content creators everywhere though, test, test, test I say. Test the feel, test the geometry, test whatever. Just test your creations. I know a lot of mods and levels that could have been better if the author had just tested it thoroughly before releasing it. There's a great level called DM-Alice for UT2004. It had all of the weapons it needed except, weirdly enough, the minigun even though it was a big level and there was plenty of spots to put it in. A small mistake but a mistake nonetheless that could have been avoided by simply testing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  17. Waffnuffly

    Waffnuffly >:E

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the author specifically chose not to include the minigun?
     
  18. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    If it was so, I really couldn't see why he chose not to. The level had everything else.
     
  19. Waffnuffly

    Waffnuffly >:E

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Balance? Author doesn't like the minigun? Could have been overpowered due to the layout?

    I haven't played the map so I don't know, but I can think of a lot of reasons to not use a specific gun in a multiplayer map that aren't just sheer laziness.
     
  20. Arnox

    Arnox UT99/2004 Mod Crazy

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    5
    Who said it was laziness? Maybe he simply forgot. Who knows?
     

Share This Page