1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

air-thin static meshes

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by The_Creator, May 18, 2004.

  1. The_Creator

    The_Creator ******

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I placed a static mesh and duplicated it a lot. They are visible, and light doesn't go through them, and bullets, grenades etc deflect off them. When I run accross it, or stand on the very edge of this mesh (it's a walkway btw) I'm fine, but when I stand still I fall right through. I cna use the melee weapon to jump up through it again as well. Please help.
     
  2. Mychaeel

    Mychaeel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2001
    Messages:
    3,830
    Likes Received:
    0
    <Babylon5> What do you want? </Babylon5>
     
  3. The_Creator

    The_Creator ******

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's obvious that I don't want to fall through my meshes.

    Also, a step on my spiral staircase is now air-thin. It is a normal brush, and all the other steps are fine. It might have something to do with the fact that it joins to an added brush at the top step. Please advise.
     
  4. The_Creator

    The_Creator ******

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    The step problem has gone now, but I'm still falling through my walkway. :( Come on, people, can anyone help me?
     
  5. SylverFyre

    SylverFyre Spongebob Squarepants

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it a static mesh you made yourself using UEd?

    If so you probably want to set the builder brush to enclose it then right click the mesh and select Use brush as collision
    go into the static mesh browser and make sure that use simple collision is set to true

    homemade meshes usually have this problem until you give them a collision model :)
     
  6. The_Creator

    The_Creator ******

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the mesh came with UT2K3. I will see if the simple collision is true in the properties though.
     
  7. combitz

    combitz Common sense is not that common

    Joined:
    May 1, 2000
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    0
    add an invisible collision hull under your mesh.
     

Share This Page