Reviving the engine, looking for C++ hackers!

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

G-Lite

ftw
Jul 25, 2000
g-lite.kochen.nl
Hi everyone!

I'm tinkering with what source code we have of the engine behind the venerable UT'99. And I'm looking for partners in crime! The goal is to get things running smoothly on modern systems. The work I'm doing lives on Github. Note that there are no executables or binaries yet, just source code. You can find it at: http://github.com/stephank/surreal

My background is in open-source software, so I'm hoping to collaborate in a bit of an open-source fashion. If you're familiar with git and Github, then feel free to clone/fork and hack away.

The code is scavenged from the parts of version 432 that Epic released, parts of OpenUT, Chris Dohnal's work and my own. So this is not the complete engine, but significant parts are there that can be improved.

Note that I'm working from Linux, but that's exactly where I need help the most: getting a Windows build environment going!

Some of the things I'm working on:

• The out-of-whack game speed on laptops, dual cores, etc. Whereas the game originally ran extremely fast on my laptop, builds I've produced run fine.
  • Chris Dohnal's modified OpenGLDrv is there, and with some minor touch-ups is working just fine on Linux. (D3D9Drv is there too, but that's just a code import, untested.)
  • With some modifications, and a single-byte binary patch to Core.so, I've upped the SDL dependency (from 1.1) to 1.2. This didn't change much for me, but might improve things for others in general.