UE2 - UT2kX Damage Over Time

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Phoenix_Wing

Official Kantham Stalker
Mar 28, 2008
California
Does anybody know how to make a weapon do damage over time? I'm trying to make an poison dart sort of gun, that will fire a round and when it hits the person, causes i dunno, probably 10 damage over a period of 5 seconds. It will be a super weapon so no worries on overpoweredness. Im a noob at coding and it would be much appreciated if somebody could point me the right way. Thanks!

-Phoenix

War_Master

May 27, 2005
The ChaosUT2 has a FlameThrower and a Crossbow. I think both of those weapons do damage by second after it hits. The flamethrower should do a burning over second damage while the crossbow shoots a poisoning darts.

There's also a FlameThrower in the ExcessiveOverkill mod but I dont remember if it does damage by second.

You can check those mods to see how they coded a weapon or projectile to do that kind of damage by seconds.

Zur

surrealistic mad cow
Jul 8, 2002
Maybe you can you can give a player an inventory item that does damage to it's owner using a timer.

Phoenix_Wing

Official Kantham Stalker
Mar 28, 2008
California
Im not sure on who to contact on the mods, i know Ballistics still has an active forum and they used a flamethrower with DoT. Hey Azura you wouldnt know how to do that or any example i could look at? I have the source code for Ut but no idea where to start looking

Zur

surrealistic mad cow
Jul 8, 2002