Major problems in the Unreal/UT mod community

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.
I'm not sure if this really belongs in General Editing, but what the hell... This is pretty much a rant about how there are lots of bad, nasty people in the Unreal/UT community. Note that this rant if mostly about mod teams, and I make a lot of generalizations. Please don't take it personally, and pardon any spelling/grammar mistakes.
Here it goes:

I've been making mods for Unreal and UT for well over 2 years now (I'm not sure exactly how long since I can't count, but I'm pretty sure I started a year before UT came out).
Since then I've had the chance to work with many different people on many different projects. A lot of those people were very fun to work with and great people in general. Some, however, were just a pain in the arse, to put it bluntly. Sure, bad people appear in every crowd, but in the mod community there seem to be more such people than one would expect. After all, if someone is a mod author, they have to be pretty smart (right?) and smart people are supposed to know better than to act like total assholes. So why are there so many such "bad" people, and why do they act the way the y do? Well, allow me to present some reasons for such behavior.