Where were you ten years ago ?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

NeoNite

Starsstream
Dec 10, 2000
In a stream of stars
The thread title says it all.

How aware were you of the upcoming super title "Unreal Tournament". Which kind of news flashes/tidbits of information did you gather/happen to catch, and where.

Where you already an Unreal veteran (or to fps), or maybe the at the other end ? Had the enigmatic world of Unreal merely opened its doors for you.

How mesmerised where you by the brutal arena combat of the Liandri tournaments ?

My case:

I started playing Unreal in september 99. Bought it on impulse really, I had read a few arcticles prior to doing so but still.. something intrigued me about that game. And it wouldn't let go.

Well, the same feeling got a hold of me in UT's case. By this time, in august 1999, another game had already dominated my gaming time... quake III arena.... :D

But every now and then I caught a few short articles, screenshots and footage (some online, some in a gaming program) of the impressive Unreal Tournament. Mainly from assault levels such as Frigate and overlord.

I couldn't quite shake the feeling off, there was something really special about this game.

A couple of months later I got the demo and the rest is history.

I had already joined the work force, but spare time was available in greater doses. Back then, I was able to game for hours and hours, quite a bit has changed.

How about you ? I'm sure my intriguing, devastating, mind blowing story shook the earth from underneath your feet :p :p