Reviewed: my new apartment

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Taleweaver

Wandering spirit
May 11, 2004
Off course
It’s been a quiet time of the year for writing. The guides have all been written. The 3SPN mapping contest is in its last round. And Insite is still down when it comes to mirror the maps. The reviewer in me has fairly nothing to do. Until now…for those who didn’t know: I moved into this new apartment. Lemme tell you all about it…

I’m not that experienced with R.L. apartments, but this current sample follows the basic rules for layout. The average apartment consists of a bunch of square or rectangular rooms that are usually grouped so the general shape of the whole has more or less a similar shape. These places are terrible when it comes to flow and Z-axis is simply non-existent.

What? You think this sounds boring? Think again…I haven’t spoken about the visuals yet. The walls are white, with a wooden offset in the main corridor. Eight of the doors are in simple beige; the other 3 have windows in them that improve visibility (also a beige background, though. The mapper really needs to use more packages). There are only two factors that make this map reasonable. The main one is that it can be customized: adding and removing stuff is far simpler than in UnrealEd, though it takes more physical effort. The other factor is the skybox: we have a pwning panoramic view over the Antwerpian outskirts (‘we’ is my roommate and me, btw. I’m joining his server here).