1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Windows 7 64-bit and Patch

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 3' started by xMurphyx, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. xMurphyx

    xMurphyx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I wanted to install the Titan Pack, but it said I had to update to 2.0 first, so I downloaded 2.1, aka Patch 5, but I can't start it. It says it's not a valid 64-bit program yaddayadda.
    How can I bring UT3 up to the latest version in Windows 7 64-bit?
     
  2. xMurphyx

    xMurphyx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind. I think it just downloaded wrong.
     
  3. Delacroix

    Delacroix Successor of Almarion

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    2
    Remember that patch 2.1 has some of the files from the Titan Pack updated.

    And, the first official bonus pack should be installed first (the 3-map one), since one map is missing.
     
  4. Mang Nux

    Mang Nux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you saying that 2.1 should be installed after the titan pack?

    What if I've already installed 2.1 and titan?
     
  5. Raynor.Z

    Raynor.Z Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Install patch 2.1, then Titan Pack and lastly re-apply patch 2.1.
     
  6. Mang Nux

    Mang Nux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, I did that. What about the missing map mentioned above? Which map was that?
     
  7. Raynor.Z

    Raynor.Z Ad Nocendum Potentes Sumus

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm bit confused, I don't recall any missing maps, maybe Delacroix can explain this better.
     
  8. Big-Al

    Big-Al amateur de bière

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    8,517
    Likes Received:
    30
    register your UT3 key in your steam account.
     
  9. Al

    Al Car'a'carn

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,007
    Likes Received:
    214
    This.
     
  10. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay guys, I need help.

    I am using a new hard drive (Western Digital Caviar Green 500 GB, SATA II), and on it I installed Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit). My other specs are still the same (Intel Core 2 Duo E8400, ASUS P5N-E SLI motherboard, 4 GB DD2-800 RAM, XFX GeForce 9600 GT), and I know they very well support Windows 7.

    But after re-installing UT3 (and even patching it, all the way up to 5), I cannot get the damn thing to run AT ALL. I open it, and nothing happens. I even tried registering my CD key and installing UT3 Black on my Steam account and opening it from there - STILL nothing. (And before anyone asks, I do not have the Kaspersky anti-virus software at all.) What's a guy like me to do? Anyone?....please help me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2011
  11. Godfrey.Payans

    Godfrey.Payans Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think when UT3 tries to start it creates a log file somewhere in the game directory. Find that and have a look at it, and you might get some more specific reason as to why the launch doesn't complete.
     
  12. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, guess I can try that. But where can I usually find the log files?
     
  13. Bi()ha2arD

    Bi()ha2arD Toxic!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    c:\users\[username]\my documents\my games\unreal tournament 3\logs\launch.log
     
  14. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, here are my log files I found. Looks like the problem lies in the "general protection fault!" areas. What can I do from here?
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Bi()ha2arD

    Bi()ha2arD Toxic!

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    0
    (filename not found) [in c:\program files (x86)\steam\steamapps\common\unreal tournament 3\Binaries\UT3.exe

    verify your game cache.
     
  16. Homeslice

    Homeslice A mapper not in the zone

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well...new problem. Looks like I had to do a clean uninstall of UT3, but I still had what was running in my Steam account (black edition). It worked - the game runs again!

    But here's my problem - I can't get the custom maps, vehicles, etc. I've downloaded to show up, no matter where I've dragged them (and their necessary files) to. What do I do in a situation like this?....
     
  17. Delacroix

    Delacroix Successor of Almarion

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    2
    They will show up. Normally you copy 'em into Docs\My Games\Unreal Tournament 3 -- and respective subdirs, right? Well the exact same subdirs are to be made in the SteamApps\Unreal Tournament 3 folder and put the files in there instead.
     
  18. Plumb_Drumb

    Plumb_Drumb yumb

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    8,623
    Likes Received:
    0
    the user directories are in the same place with the Steam version.
     

Share This Page