1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

What mouse sensitivity u use?

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by LP, Jun 23, 2001.

  1. LP

    LP *wants to be your friend*

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to know , to see if thats a reason for my crappyness.
    Cos i have mine at 11.5, is that odd?
     
  2. |pOt|fArMeRx

    |pOt|fArMeRx 3rd degree CD burns

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    MIne is set to 9

    but isnt also affected by your type of mouse and OS settings?
     
  3. LP

    LP *wants to be your friend*

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was quick!

    well i have an Intllieye explorer, and myOS setting is in the middle(i dunno if that makes any difference)

    I just sick of aimbot accusations, cos i can do a 180 in a slight movement of the mouse, and cos im on a 56k , i presume lag, kinda makes it look slightly more extreme..

    Oh well , ur not far behind :)
     
  4. Boom

    Boom Rumpshaking Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    It depends on your mouse and windows settings and who knows what else.

    I had my old mouse on 14, I have my Boomslang mouse on 3 and its MORE sensitive.

    Posting your UT mouse sensitivity settings here is meaningless. Maybe ask how much you can spin without lifting the mouse. I easily do over a 360 without lifting the mouse. I may lower my sensitivity to help my aim.

    Also, please use the Search Forum Thingy. This thread has come up lots of times already. :)
     
  5. The Dopefish

    The Dopefish Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    Messages:
    8,252
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think mine is 7, and I think it needs to be set higher.
     
  6. [ACE]Revenant

    [ACE]Revenant -

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is 16....

    High mouse sensitivity will make you able to turn faster and re-aim on close jumping targets,and will give you an advantage in close combat...
    For long distance hitscan killing low mouse sensitivity is good,as it will add to your accuracy.....

    Having an advantage on one point of course doesn't mean you can't do the other with lots of skill,it will just make it easier.....


    I mainly fight by charging someone with a minigun a jump around them while killing them in a very short time (low ping required) and thus have high sensitivity.....

    -Revenant
     
  7. |pOt|fArMeRx

    |pOt|fArMeRx 3rd degree CD burns

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey there's an idea

    what about binding a key to change your sensitvity ? fot hose hard to aim places
     
  8. LP

    LP *wants to be your friend*

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    easy enuf if we knew the console commands.... i could ask in the Editing Forums
     
  9. Boom

    Boom Rumpshaking Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello...

    Telling me you have your UT mouse sensitivity set at 7 or 16 tells me nothing. Depending on what kind of mouse you have and on your windows settings and a bunch of other stuff, your 16 may be less sensitive than my mouse at 3. The question is, in your normal range of wrist movement, without lifting the mouse, what is your turn radius? Can you do a 180, or can you do a 720? I can do about a 540 (one and 1/2 turns). I may lower my sensitivity to help my aim.
     
  10. PLUG IT IN THE PS3 PORT!!!!

    geez how redundant. i am So getting sick of repeting this drek since no one ever searches to posts on the off chance that someone Else may have had the same prob and advice for what to do about it. *grumble*
     
  11. Phydeaux{RoA}

    Phydeaux{RoA} Phydolike

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2000
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the result of my quest...

    I have the Intellimouse Explorer optical mouse as well (though I have kept that just for browsing around and have since switched to the Logitech Wingman Gaming Mouse for UT). I had my IE mouse settings cranked to the max in Windows with no acceleration, and cranked to 18 in UT, but my mouse was enormously bad in UT. It was as if the snap was on, a diagonal pull was extrememly jaggy. I couldn't figure it out for the longest time. It finally was revealed to be the Windows settings. By reducing the sensitivy in Windows to one notch left of center and going with maximum acceleration, I was able to get rid of the jaggies in-game. However, my accuracy in lowgrav instagib was still very hit and miss.

    Fast foward to a few weeks ago. I've switched to the old logitech gaming mouse (the grey one) for UT and was talking with my Fireteam leader, Fragmaster{RoA}. He mentioned that his Windows settings are the same as mine, now, but he has his UT mouse settings set to 3.5! I thought that was phenominally slow, but tried it myself. Af first, it was very difficult to get used to, but, lo and behold!, my accuracy took an immediate jump, doubling my normal accuracy. I've redeveloped the flick move (something that wasn't necessary with UT 18 mouse settings) and have been much more accurage since then.

    FWIW...
     
  12. flukee

    flukee *ReST In PieCeS*

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I play with 10..

    I don't hit anything if I set it lower or higher..
     
  13. Porn_Star

    Porn_Star New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    It used to be 15 but after reading the UT bible and finding that a lot of what it said made sence, I reduced it to 5. My aim HAS improved but my overall game has dropped so much I have played under another name for the last week:)
     
  14. [ACE]Revenant

    [ACE]Revenant -

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can do a 720,never use it though....

    -Revenant
     
  15. LP

    LP *wants to be your friend*

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can do a 360 , by moving the mouce about 4 cm
     
  16. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a logitech cordless optical set to normal in windows, UT is set to 4 and its still jerky...
     
  17. Phydeaux{RoA}

    Phydeaux{RoA} Phydolike

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2000
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've always heard to stay away from cordless mice for gaming...
     
  18. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    its ok as long as you don't use a mobile next to it. its digital radio connection, so..... think it locks down to one channel and cuts out interference. the batteries last aprox 2 months (in the middle of a game.)
     
  19. LP

    LP *wants to be your friend*

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont the batteries make it heavy? what kind does it use?
     
  20. GerbilJammer

    GerbilJammer Resident NOOb :D

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    hehe 3.2 with the windows speed set to 3 with low mouse acceleration for a logitech optical :D
     

Share This Page