1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

what kind of machine do you use to play UT2004?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by The_Noik, Jun 22, 2005.

  1. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know, but the CPU score is important for UT2004 since my Athlon Xp 2400+ kept bottlenecking my 9800XT. Will have to see if this one does any improvement (which I think it will, it's 50% faster).
     
  2. edhe

    edhe ..dadhe..

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now if you could get your FSB up to 200.. ;)

    Hope it works out well Electro..
     
  3. Sahkolihaa

    Sahkolihaa Ow...

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a huge improvement in UT2004! Frame never drops below 30 in ONS maps now (this was tested on Titan's 32-player server, huge map with the server being full) and I even had texture quality at max and the resolution at 1280x1024 :D
     
  4. Zur

    Zur surrealistic mad cow

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    Here's the specs of my rig :

    AMD AXP Barton 2500+ @ 3200+
    w/ TT Tower102 + Evercool 92 mm
    Asus A7N8x Deluxe6
    2 x 512 MB Infineon PC3200
    ATI 9600 Pro
    w/ Zalman VF700-Cu
    RAID 0 2x Maxtor 120 GB
    Windows 2000 SP4

    All housed in an Aerocool midi case (aircooling all the way baby ^^).
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2005
  5. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Electro: Great board, I've got one :). It's kind of strange though, it's the only nForce2 board I know of with 4 memory slots, but now I'm using all 4 I can't get my FSB up past 178 without it being unstable :s.

    3dMark03: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=4130556
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2005
  6. Zur

    Zur surrealistic mad cow

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    11,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are you mixing different brands of dimms ? That might be a problem.
     
  7. shoptroll

    shoptroll Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,225
    Likes Received:
    0
    My rig (built it in June):

    AMD64 3500+ Venice Core
    Epox EP-9NPA+ SLi
    GeForce 6600GT (GIGABYTE GV-NX66T128D)
    Crucial 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered (1 stick)
    Creative Audigy 2 ZS
    2 Seagate IDE Hard Drives (160 GB & 80 GB)
    Windows XP SP2 (undecided on 64-bit upgrade)

    UT2004 runs perfectly on Holy S***. A couple spots hit the frame rate (how about that volcano in ONS-Dawn?)

    Definitely upping the RAM once I get the cash, and uh yeah... the monitor needs to go. As the genie from Aladdin said: "INFINITE COSMIC POWER!.... itty bitty living space". And there's also switching up the hard drives for SATA (and using the 240 gb as storage). Finally, I can look into SLi-ing if that proves useful (waiting to see on that) but more importantly I can upgrade the processor to the FX line or go to dual-core after the latest BIOS update.
     

Share This Page