what have I been working on then?

• Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

ProjectX

Nicholas 'ProjectX' Udell - UnWheel Maps
Jan 9, 2004
Right behind you.
Well I've been silent for quite some time now and you guys might be wondering what massive project I've undertaken. You might be a little excited. Unfortunately up until now I have done NOTHING. Sure I made some textures using MapZone a while back (I seriously recommend this to anybody) but in the last three months: zilch.

The reasons are many:

a) University - I'm studying computer science (mainly programming) and have had little time to work on UnWheel

b) UnrealEd - It's always confusing starting with a new version of the editor, but it seems to be more so this time. I'm getting there, though it would've been nice to know that Subtractive building runs and builds slower than additive.

c) Lack of enthusiasm - I've been working on other things, coursework, socializing, making a bit of music, that sort of thing. I just haven't had the urge to work on a map

So I decided it was time to do something about it and I've solved all three problems with one fell swoop. I've begun managing my time better at Uni, this gives me more time to work on UnrealEd, meaning I can get used to it faster and it means I'm enthusiastic about level design again. Hooray!

It also helps seeing some of Steve's awesome shots he's been uploading.

So what have I been working on?

A corridor. Yeah I know it's not fancy or anything but it's a start. It also contains a custom particle system I made. No custom materials yet.