1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Vista scare...

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 3' started by DeathBooger, May 11, 2006.

  1. DeathBooger

    DeathBooger Malcolm's Sugar Daddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...anyone else paranoid? The early 2007 release, the buddy, buddy situation with MS?
     
  2. toniglandyl

    toniglandyl internal data fragmentation : 62203480%

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,878
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe in EPIC!
     
  3. Entr0p1cLqd

    Entr0p1cLqd New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not this time around.

    Midway are the publishers for UT2007 and I can't see them wanting to cut out a massive market.

    The whole M$ buddy thing is all about GoW - it's looking like it's going to be a killer-game for the X-Box360. When the PC version eventually gets released I suspect it will be Vista only though.

    Anyone who moves from XP to Vista just to play a game is a fool imho.
     
  4. Rk.

    Rk. Sleezy bastard.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then I'm a fool.
     
  5. Slainchild

    Slainchild Gold Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    3,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to uprade anyway, I see no reason not to buy Vista along with it...
     
  6. In-The-Jungle

    In-The-Jungle New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll be upgrading to Vista either way. So, I don't really care if it's Vista only. :)

    Although I seriously doubt they'd do that.
     
  7. JaFO

    JaFO bugs are features too ...

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2000
    Messages:
    8,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see plenty of reasons to avoid Vista.
    The integration of the things that will lead to 'trusted computing' are the #1 reason.

    Never mind that the GUI itself is so inefficient that they needed a SLI-based system just to get it up to speed. If that same machine can render a few million polygons with tons of shaders and textures then you know there's something very wrong.
     
  8. DeathBooger

    DeathBooger Malcolm's Sugar Daddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to mention you need 2GB of memory just to run an old game like Far Cry because Vista uses so many resources.
     
  9. Jofo

    Jofo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    We dont know anything about vista though, i'm wanting to upgrade for the basic version, cause who the heck needs aeroglass anyway? Another thing is that new sound driver thing they are implementing, I dont know the details but its about being able to customize per app or something. More than likely they overhauled the looks as usual with a hint of zazz and a few new features.

    The M$'s vista only thing does annoy me, they really think they can make a profit my releasing Halo2 for vista only, pfft.:D Making GOW for vista only would require extra work and money because the unreal engine is already designed to work on linux? mac? ps3? xbox? so really it might not happen. Besides every linux fan will be PO'd and eventually people will pirate it because of M$ being a jerk and being happy with an older OS. But more than likely they will make every dx10 game vista only cause they want $$$ but not happy people.

    those are my 7 cents
     
  10. Jackal

    Jackal Crapass

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,175
    Likes Received:
    50
    Theres the fact that Vista will have a built in DRM and a nice "uninstallable" program that will search your PC for illegal copies of software/music. Until someone comes out with a patch or something, Vista can piss off. I'll stick with XP. And 2k7 will not be Vista only. I can tell you that right now. They won't loose 90% of the market just because.
     
  11. dragonfliet

    dragonfliet I write stuffs

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    28
    I don't believe that it will be vista exclusive.

    But man, you guys have come up with some wierd ideas. Vista will actually have a SMALLER footprint when playing games than XP, it's only a system hog when you are looking at the Aero GUI-which is extremely processor and GPU intensive ('cause it's purdy). These things are mutually exclusive, so it's not going to be a problem unless you play your games windowed (in which case, I have nothing to say to you)

    The only thing I'm annoyed with is the support of HDCP which won't be a problem with Games but will be a pain in the ass when I'm going to want a blu-ray drive in my computer and be forced to upgrade my non-HDMI monitor. Stupid freaking movie industry.
     
  12. DeathBooger

    DeathBooger Malcolm's Sugar Daddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's how they claimed it would work, it hasn't worked out that way so far through beta releases, it's a huge system hog even in gaming.
     
  13. dragonfliet

    dragonfliet I write stuffs

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    28
    Beta releases are for the purpose or working those problems out. Things like that are most definately large reasons for the delay, so I have no doubt that while it will have plenty of annoying bugs at launch, that won't be one of them.

    I shall be getting it for the new kernel and forward compatability, not to mention DX10. We'll see how the rest of it works out from there.

    ~Jason
     
  14. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Instead of starting a new thread i'll post this here since it fits the topic quite well...

    1) First of, yes i do have a 64BIT processor and i currently have the Windows XP 32 BIT version, to get straight to the point, will it be possible to run UT2007 in 64 BIT mode with what i run on ATM? Or upgrating to Vista will be the only way?

    2) Will the current mobo's bios read Vista when it comes out or there will be another "lolol motherboard" to buy at this point aswell?
     
  15. Neophoenix

    Neophoenix Bast's Pet

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Things I know that worries me:

    1) Microsoft is the largest known legalized hacker company. They always invade your privacy without your permission.

    2) Windows OS are usually unstable, and unsecure when they first come out.

    3) With all the next generation games being 64 bit what other than Vista and Linux, which no one supports, will be able to run at 64 bit?

    4) Games like Halo2 are already going to be Vista exclusive so why would UT be any different?
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2006
  16. Wormbo

    Wormbo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,915
    Likes Received:
    36
    UT2007 will not be a Vista-exclusive because Epic want to sell games, not operating systems. ;)

    ...and who said UT2007 will require a 64bit CPU? :con:
     
  17. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's Not about requiring it. I want to use it.

    I own a 64 BIT processor and i never runed on 64 BIT yet. It's the AMD athlon 3700 @ 2.2 GHZ. I do imagine that 64 BIT is extremely powerful.
     
  18. TheSomian

    TheSomian Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    u can play it on linux... afaik there will be a linux port, too....

    but the 64-bit mode: somewhere i read, that direct X10 will suport 64-bit-colours, too.... do you know any SCREEN, displaying 64-bit-colours?
     
  19. Crowze

    Crowze Bird Brain

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kantham, you will need a 64-bit OS to use 64-bit apps. Doesn't mean you have to use Vista though.

    As for me, I'll probably get Vista when my next upgrade comes around. Since that will be my 64-bit upgrade, I might as well get a new OS, and I'm sure my current system will see me until at least Vista SP1. But Epic/Midway would be foolish not to support as many platforms as possible.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2006
  20. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,047
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok and let's say that i buy Vista, at this time i will be able to run UT2007 in 64 BIT no problem, but will i still be able to run all my current Aplications such as UT2004, UED 3.0 and all the rest? Like a kind of 32 BIT simulator that works great?
     

Share This Page