1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Video Question!

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by Sir_Ruby_Knight, Jun 16, 2001.

  1. Sir_Ruby_Knight

    Sir_Ruby_Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I told u about the souped out comp im getting in 2 weeks, and have another question. It says it comes with 128-bit 3D AGP Graphx Accellerator with 64MB frame buffer embedded in North Bridge(shares memory), up to 1920x1200 16M resolution. Wondering if this is a good video setup to run UT effencially. Oh yea for those of u who didnt see my other post heres the quick specs(to help u to make a decision on my video setup):1.2 Ghz, 256 MB of Ram, and 40 gb HD. Thx for any help!
     
  2. AmigaOne|BuF

    AmigaOne|BuF Masterful

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Video

    Hmm.. while I'm not a big fan of integrated systems I suppose the specs you provide won't be too bad. I'm am guessing you are referring to a system with an Intel 810 graphics chipset. I think the most important step you need to make is making sure that you have your proper motherboard drivers installed so everything is running at its potential and not being hampered by reference drivers from Microsoft or someone else.

    Aside from that it should provide you with an adequate gaming experience.
     
  3. Sir_Ruby_Knight

    Sir_Ruby_Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah its a AMD Athlon, chipset! I invested in a AMD, cause heard its better for gaming, than the Intel's chipsets.
     
  4. AmigaOne|BuF

    AmigaOne|BuF Masterful

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eating foot...

    Well sorry about that. Wasn't sure either way. But you don't know for sure what actual graphics chip it is? Is it AGP 2X? 4X? Where is your post about the specific system you are referring to? I did not see it. The best cards I've used and read used for UT are the ATI Radeon and GeForce 2 GTS. I have personally used both and am currently using the GeForce as it has more horsepower overall and I believe will be more widely supported over a broader range of games. I am very picky about my fast paced games such as Half-Life, UT, Oni, etc. I like precise, fluid, responsive movement and when I tried the integrated Intel chipset on a 1GHz P3 system it was OK but not great. I don't know for sure how well yours will be but I would say probably decent. It may well outperform the Intel chip simply because of the higher motherboard FSB. Are you using a DDR Athlon or original? Original will have 200Mhz FSB while the former will be 400.

    Unless you simply don't have any cash I'd ignore the built-in chip and buy a separate card. I think you'll have a better gaming experience because of it. You can get very good cards for under $200 these days in fact probably closer to $150.
     
  5. Sir_Ruby_Knight

    Sir_Ruby_Knight New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    AGP 4x and 200Mhz FSB
     
  6. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    You really need to know the chipset of the video card.

    That should tell us a lot.
     
  7. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmmmmmm you must have a 22" monitor then if your planin a 1920 res UT i think it'll reach 30 at that, you may want to spend time at 1024 for a while.
     

Share This Page