1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT3 Patch 2.0 Beta 1 Released To Testers

Discussion in 'News & Articles' started by Dark Pulse, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Epic has released Patch 2.0 Beta 1 to specific testers and server admins. Besides the sweet-looking new menu chock full of more options and a sexy black color scheme as you can see below, the changelist is the same as in the original 2.0 Patch changelist, with the following additions:

    This patch is currently in private beta testing and not available to the general public. Please do not ask Epic for it.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  2. TheIronKnuckle

    TheIronKnuckle What the hell is this "ballin" thing?

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that black colour scheme is much better, it is "sexy" as has been said.

    But that repeating black texture is ugly. :p It's just like a black rectangle repeated over and over.
     
  3. Ignotium

    Ignotium Que hora es?

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    IT IS
     
  4. DeathBooger

    DeathBooger Malcolm's Sugar Daddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's supposed to look like carbon fiber.
     
  5. KillerSkaarj

    KillerSkaarj Art for swans is dope!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this mean the scrolling level in the background is gone now? Yay! Now I won't crash on the Menu anymore! My Nvidia 6200 crashes a lot when I play on the extremely detailed stock UT3 maps but not on the HOLP map pack. Unfortunately the 3D level in the background of the UT3 menu causes me to crash before even selecting the HOLP level I want. If it wasn't there, I would not crash on the Menu.

    I'm getting an ATI 4800 series card in the future, though, but I still want to be able to play UT3 until then.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  6. LANCE.xd

    LANCE.xd Flak Monkey

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    It appears that there still is a level in the background. Except the blur is reduced so that you can actually see it.
     
  7. DeathBooger

    DeathBooger Malcolm's Sugar Daddy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.
     
  8. Fife8

    Fife8 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow! This color change is so radical! It's much much more appealing actually! :D

    There are so much more options too...this patch is going to be so great :)
     
  9. StreetPreacher

    StreetPreacher New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ugh. I wish they'd get rid of this. Waiting for a level to load just so I can use a menu to load a level is absolutely maddening. It's like that old Pimp My Ride meme: "Yo dawg, I heard you like levels! So I put a level in your menu so you can look at a level while you're looking for other levels to play." Valve does it too, and this whole practice needs to die. Just put a friggin' pic in the background already.

    Not a fan of the carbon fiber, but could really care less. IT'S GOT REAL GRAPHIC OPTIONS! Wow. Just wow. This gives me real hope for the patch, like maybe they've actually put down the crack pipe and started listening to the community. And/or hopefully fired the people responsible for the first one. Looks like maybe better days are ahead.
     
  10. KillerSkaarj

    KillerSkaarj Art for swans is dope!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you know? You haven't tried it. Also, judging by the pictures, the background level is gone. I simply can't see it, and there would be no point of having it if Reaper is taking up half the screen.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  11. J3FF

    J3FF teH SEXiest man alive!

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who cares about da bloody color of the background???????
     
  12. KillerSkaarj

    KillerSkaarj Art for swans is dope!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not talking about the color of the background, I'm talking about the background itself.
     
  13. cosmix

    cosmix XoXo

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks good. Lots of settings. We will see!
     
  14. Bazzwano

    Bazzwano Hi, I'm Bryan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    please fix where oponents set to 11 only gives you 9

    Thanks for the patch :)

    Oh and please fix how bots take 5 secconds to see an enermy player if the bot is defending at a defence point.. they just take so long to respond you can frag them before they respond to you I would like to add defence points to my map if ya fix this :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  15. cosmix

    cosmix XoXo

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    But why patch 2.0? This should be patch 4.0... :hmm:
     
  16. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    He knows. And since I'm the one who took the pictures, I'll say it: Yes, a level still loads in the background. Yes, it still scrolls around. It actually jumps a bit when you click different options, as if you "zoomed" through the level.

    It's exactly as he said: Less blurry so you can actually see it. But it's still there.
    1. Bot counts are now listed as "Number of Combatants." This counts you, so 12 will be you + 11 bots.
    2. Play on a higher difficulty and they'll practically 180 in a half a second. :p
    Epic has chosen to call this Patch 2.0 presumably to reflect the enormous changes to the game. And "4.0" is incorrect, too - the prior scheme was 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3. This would be 1.4, but this isn't a minor revision - it's a major one. Thus, 2.0.
     
  17. Capt.Toilet

    Capt.Toilet Good news everyone!

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,826
    Likes Received:
    2
    Menu looks good, but what the hell are Speed Tree Fronds? Are they adding useless junk to make you think you are making the game look better?
     
  18. Sir_Brizz

    Sir_Brizz Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2000
    Messages:
    25,995
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yes he has. DeathBooger is on the staff and we have ALL tried it.

    There is still a level in the background but loading time and performance have improved dramatically from retail UT3. Plus the level is actually relevant now, it shifts around as you select different menus.
     
  19. nfleming

    nfleming Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    When options are changed...

    When options are changed, is a restart of the game required before they will take effect?
     
  20. Bazzwano

    Bazzwano Hi, I'm Bryan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    1 So its fixed now? thats good because from the sound of it they just changed the UI name

    2: I play on masterfull and when you run into that flagroom of dreary3 you can run in and out before the silly bot shoots you (on masterful) SO if thats still that case i WONT be pitting defence points in my new map.. which is sad because you wont get bots sniping you from the sniper tower..

    I'd look into that.. Im not a noob and there definitly a bug there. I tested Dreary lots and they defintly react slowly when the bots at a defecne point.. hence I have a personal version of dreay that does not have defence points and they are fine.
     

Share This Page