1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT2Vote Loading Games Twice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by [GO]Doc, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. [GO]Doc

    [GO]Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't found any information on this here or elsewhere, so here goes:

    I load UT2Vote51.UT2VoteX as the only mutator in my startup script. I then load mutators in the individual game type area in UT2Vote.

    When I start the server and tail the log file, I see everything looking normal and it loads the game and I see this, which is normal:

    Master server requests heartbeat 0 with code 36100
    Master server requests heartbeat 1 with code 36100
    Master server requests heartbeat 2 with code 36100
    Master server assigned our MatchID: 20556633


    Then, the server continues to cycle and runs everything again starting with this statement:

    Server switch level:

    So, for every map, the server is cycling twice, which takes a lot of time waiting for the map to load.

    I think it does it because the only mutator loaded at startup is UT2Vote and it has to cycle again for all the mutators in UT2Vote to load. Maybe I'm wrong.

    QUESTION: Am I doing something wrong? Is there a way to make it load only once?

    I can provide more log information if required. Any help here is appreciated. It think UT2Vote is a great mutator. I love it, except for above. :)

    Thanks,

    [GO]Doc
     
  2. Imaginos

    Imaginos Deathball addict?

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should only be initiated from your commandline and yes, it will restart itself initially to add packages for the current gametype (if needed). For it to double run on each mapchange though.. it sounds like something else is trying to initiate it as well. You don't have it in the UT2Vote.ini on the servermuts= or serverline= entries I hope.
    Another reminder: don't delete or comment out the default gametype entries in the ini! UT2Vote needs them to operate correctly. Set them to Hide=true if need be, but don't remove them.

    Also, v52 is out if you're in the mood to upgrade while doublechecking logs/ini files.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2006
  3. [GO]Doc

    [GO]Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Thanks for the info. I believe I do have some game types commented out. I'll fix that. And, I'll be upgrading with a day or so.

    Thanks again,

    [GO]Doc
     
  4. [GO]Doc

    [GO]Doc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well . . .

    I checked and I did have it on the ServerMuts= line in the UT2Vote51.ini file. I removed that entry and I'll see how it works now. Maybe some of the weird things that used to happen will stop.

    Thanks again,

    [GO]Doc
     
  5. Imaginos

    Imaginos Deathball addict?

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let us know how it turns out so the next person who has a similar problem will find all this in a search.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2006
  6. heheman3000

    heheman3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    About the 'keeping all the default gametypes...'

    Does it matter what order we keep them in, and do we have to keep them all before the new entries we add? Or does that not matter?

    I have two servers running UT2vote, but it seems on one of them, one gametype disappears from the menu when we're playing another.
     
  7. Imaginos

    Imaginos Deathball addict?

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, order of them doesn't matter. In fact you can set them up in the ini in the order you prefer or allow them to be alpha sorted.
    As for one disappearing, the one currently in play should never appear in the list to be voted.
     
  8. heheman3000

    heheman3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    alpha sorted? where's the option for that?
     
  9. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    [UT2Vote52.UT2VoteIniOnly]
    bSortGameList
    bSortMutList

    If these are False (Default) then the Games and Mutators will remain in the order you put them.
    Set them True and the Game and Mut lists will be Alpha sorted on every Server startup.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2006

Share This Page