1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

ut goty crashing

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by revolt04, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi everyone

    nice to see the ut community still alive here

    as i got new pc, i wanted to play ut goty again

    unfortunetaly it crashes every time on whatever os

    either xp pro or vista x64


    i actually heard that "little" dual core issue when ut is launching

    i ve followed any instructions

    however it still continues getting crashes

    i may have under less 10 whole secondes before crashing

    it sounds like game doesnt support both cpu working

    for the mention, i have intel dual core E2200, ATI Readon 4850 HD, 4 gb of

    ram, Asus P5Q PRO as mobo

    using xp and soonly vista 64 bits

    thx in advance
     
  2. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    May we assume that you have updated all of the drivers (graphics, sound, OS (inc DX))?

    Have you patched the game to V4.36? Or, reapplied the patch?

    I'm slightly concerned that it sounds as though you've applied a dual-core fix as that was for AMD CPUs only. I have no idea what (if anything) that will do on Intel CPUs.

    Finally, you need to post a screenshot of the crash message and the contents of the UT log file (found in /UnrealTournament/System/ or similar).
     
  3. SkaarjMaster

    SkaarjMaster enemy of time

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2000
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, so we don't need a dual-core fix or add anything to the INI files for Intel CPUs?
     
  4. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue is specific to AMD CPUs AFAIK. I've never seen an Intel version of a fix.

    For what it's worth, running UT quite happily here on an Intel Quad - no fixes applied. :)

    Nope. You will still have to fix the command line to set the CPUSPEED but you shouldn't need to touch the ini file because of the CPU type. CPU performance e.g. framerate limiting etc., yes but not because of the type.
     
  5. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    a bit late for replying due to end of year

    i will give more details about game crash (this is only ut tried on pc, maybe i need to test another game)

    just for being quick,

    1. installed ut goty 436 version + new open gl 3.2 version
    2. got dual core fix stuff and set affinty manually as they recommended me to do
    3. updated to the latest version concerning my graphic cards drivers
    4. in fact, ut doesnt only crash. it lets pc causing freezes. i have no choice, i must eventually reboot
    5. jeez cry i love unreal series but that ****ing issue let me moving off. i would never play such game who even ****ed window (must format or repair on dos)
     
  6. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no harm in re-applying the 4.36 patch just make sure that the key system files are OK.

    By "new open gl", do you mean the one found here?

    http://cwdohnal.home.mindspring.com/utglr/

    Note that the latest version of that driver is 3.4. For some reason, you seem to have installed an old version. I suggest upgrading to the 3.4 version.

    I would also install the Direct3D8 renderer version 1.4 (as long as you don't want to use the editor) as it might be that D3D will work where OpenGL will not.

    As a general point, it is probably better to go back to basics and see if you can get UT running reliably in software rendering mode first and then we can add features (like OpenGL) until things stop working again. Curiously, we will be doing well when your problem turns into uneven framerates, slow and fast play. That is one we know about. :)

    By "dual core fix stuff", do you mean the AMD Dual-Core Optimizer Version 1.1.4 found here?

    http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/TechnicalResources/0,,30_182_871_13118,00.html

    If so, then I strongly recommend un-installing it. That utility is for AMD CPUs and not for Intel devices. I would not be surprised to discover that the AMD utility is at the root of the problem.

    Good. :)
    Is there any content in the UT log file after this? If so, can we see it?
     
  7. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    it seems like a small update of unreal tournament.exe
    anyway same size of kb

    i tried both (latest opengl version and new D3D) for same result

    nope ut gets pc freezing
    its not only a simple crash as usual
    let me show you what its truly hapened
    launching ut, starting offline game
    first step then suddenly got an huge freeze
    i couldnt see anything just only a big "zoom" on a texture from map
    i have no choice couldnt return on window, need to reboot asap
     
  8. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if I'm being slow about this - did you update the UT executable with a "dual-core" fix?

    I've never heard of such a thing (doesn't mean it doesn't exist:)) and I've certainly never seen anything other than the AMD fix (which is an operating system fix, not a game fix) being recommended for use on AMD processors.

    Please, can you remove the "dual-core fix" and restore (if necessary) the original UT executable?

    At this point, the important thing is to get UT running in software render mode - Forget about OpenGL or D3D and we don't care if it runs fast/slow or whatever for the moment - we'll fix all of that later. We need to fix the crash first and at the moment it sounds as though you are either running inappropriate software (the AMD fix on Intel CPUs) or some hitherto unknown patch to the UT executable. Either of those scenarios sound good for a fatal crash.
     
  9. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i ve done what you adviced me

    i actually meet any problem while i am launching game

    that s a good point

    but ut still crashes after randomly either 30 min or 2 maps played

    however i was cautious i disabled most of hazardous options

    any idea about it?
     
  10. IronMonkey

    IronMonkey Moi?

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,744
    Likes Received:
    0
    After that amount of time there ought to be a log in /UnrealTournament/System/. Can we see it please?

    You need to provide us with a little more detail!

    Which options have you disabled?

    Does the crash happen in XP or Vista or both?

    With this crash, are you seeing a freeze or a crash back to the desktop?


    At least we are making progress. :)
     
  11. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok

    first of all

    i ve installed ut as you told me

    fixing safe mode first

    i did

    downloading latest opengl, switching ut to 436 version

    i did

    does UT sill keep crashing

    i tried with no dual core fix ut (ut executable), enablig high priority of ut processus, setting afinity

    however ut got pc freezing i couldnt back on window since everything goes down

    i am checking any log may help

    please wait some :)
     
  12. revolt04

    revolt04 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    after checking another case close to mine, i heard something interesting
    it s not cpu dual core issue as i thought
    apparently my sapphire 4870 HD does it
    they recommented to flash it

    edit: problem gonna be resolved, it needs to flash bios from latest sapphire version,
    for some reason, Sapphire radeon 4870 HD brings a plenty of troubles like freezing, black screen, pixels...
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2009

Share This Page