1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

UT framerate limiter????

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by bOEmAN, Aug 9, 2001.

  1. bOEmAN

    bOEmAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I found out something weird the last couple of days.
    When I play on NGI servers I can easily get 150 FPS stable, so it doesn't change by 2FPS. When I play against bots or on Skynet servers I get 75 FPS stable. The framerate wants to climb but seems limited. The most unstable framerate I had was on Facing Worlds playing with 10 people and even then it didn't get below 100, but when I play in hallways the framerate will climb above 150, I'm sure of that.

    Does anyone know something about these limits???

    Greetz,
     
  2. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's based on that particular servers settings...

    I believe:

    [Engine.Player]
    ConfiguredInternetSpeed=10000

    That defaults to 2000 on install I believe.
     
  3. Porn_Star

    Porn_Star New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome to PuF bOEmAN :) Enjoy your stay and the truffles that most likely will be served you soon.

    BTW: Consider yourself humped by the Porn_Star :cool:
     
  4. 8-4-7-2

    8-4-7-2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    6,962
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is also a general difference between offline and online. It depends on your netspeed (hit F6).
    Offline you don't have it, so the fps is always higher
     
  5. bOEmAN

    bOEmAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's the whole point. On-line i get 150 FPS stable and off-line only 75!!!!! And the question was if there is some limiter in any *.ini file.
    Tnx for answering anyway.
     
  6. stefan

    stefan New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, netspeed probably does it. However as I recall from an earlier thread, the fps in offline CAN be much lower than online, because cpu power doesnt get used for the bot's AI
    I have noticed this time and again. Online : much higher fps, unless server limits this.
     
  7. SadaraK

    SadaraK Groving in UT since 1999

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    I heard CHSP can sometimes have adverse effects on ur FPS counter, and considering that 150fps average is practically impossible with about 8 players in thats probably it.
     
  8. bOEmAN

    bOEmAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if that would be impossible on this system:

    Dual PIII 866 (the fact given that UT has SMP capabillities)
    Abit VP-6
    512Mb
    GeForce 2 GTS


    bOEmAN®
     
  9. SadaraK

    SadaraK Groving in UT since 1999

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Realy? Cause Iv been tweaking for over a year and have a good FPS in the city intro from omparisons on the benchmark thread and this is my system:-

    1.2 Gig Athlon TB
    256 mb PC100
    GF2 GTS 32MB
    20gig 5200rpm h/d
     
  10. bOEmAN

    bOEmAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, but i don't know any benchmarking utility for gamers that uses SMP... Maybe the next 3D Mark but that isn't sure yet. And as UT uses SMP i get a nice advantage with my dual system.
     
  11. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    "the fact given that UT has SMP capabillities"

    Sorry, no.

    UT does not support SMP. Quake3 does, but UT does not. Perhaps U2 will - but I doubt it. Not really in high demand.

    And I DEFINITELY get higher than 150fps on my system, online or off. (1.4GHz/266 DDR board)
     
  12. SadaraK

    SadaraK Groving in UT since 1999

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rooster you may get higher but are you gonna tell me you get average over 150 fps with 9 other people in online? And if you do what do you get in the city intro?
     
  13. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    OpenGL - 1024x768x32, I can average 130FPS easy on most maps - big ones, like Hydro & Orbital (10 players total) - I can probably average 150 on Coret, Niven, or any other map that doesn't view a lot at one time.

    1.4GHz/266 AMD Thunderbird (1.2GHz CPU x 10.5)
    512MB PC2100 CAS2.5 (Crucial)
    1024x768x32 OpenGL
    Detonator 12.41
    GeForce2 GTS @ 200MHz Core, 333MHz Memory
    High World, High Skin - Vol lighting off, coronas off
    Min: 59
    Max: 144
    Avg: 91


    I haven't tried it with the new 12.90 drivers yet.
     
  14. [J]-Outsiders71

    [J]-Outsiders71 Vegeta-Like

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't worry if your getting 75 fps stable because that's good enough for a smooth as buttah game. ( I wouldn't know).

    BTW roo you suck, I only get 23fps avg in CityIntro with all the good stuff on.

    AMD K6-2 400mhz
    128 SDRAM
    V4 4500 AGP
    20gig Western Dig.

    Thorns just kills me ugg.. I time demo'ed it tonight and i get around 15fps avg :(

    Yuck!
     
  15. bOEmAN

    bOEmAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rooster, doesn't UT support SMP????? Look at this:

    Init: Memory total: Phys=523756K Pagef=1277924K Virt=2097024K
    Init: Working set: 32000 / 159000
    Init: CPU Speed=865.295072 MHz
    Init: CPU Page size=4096, Processors=2
    Init: CPU Detected: PentiumPro-class processor (GenuineIntel)
    Init: CPU Features: CMov FPU RDTSC PAE MMX KNI

    This comes straight out of the log file while starting the game!!
    It looks for the number of CPU's. Why wouldn't the game use them then????
     
  16. Rooster

    Rooster Local Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    5,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Likely that's just a generic app they use to identify the current system.

    Run it in a window - open up your task manager - go to performance....

    I guarantee that UT will be hogging ONE cpu - not splitting between both.

    AFAIK, there is no SMP enabled coding actually written into UT (this subject was dead about a year ago - so I don't recall exactly where we all learned this).
     
  17. SimplyCosmic

    SimplyCosmic ERGO. VIS A VIS. CONCORDANTLY.

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 1999
    Messages:
    6,311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rooster is correct in that neither Unreal, Unreal Tournament nor any Unreal engine based game (Deus Ex, etc) are designed to take advantage of multiple processers in a SMP system.

    The log files come from a function within the program which records information for debugging purposes, should you need to call Epic's tech support.

    Currently, the only major game that I know for a fact that actually has the ability to use more than one processor is Quake III, yet another reason why, though I may sometimes question the originality or gameplay of his company's software, I never question his programming abilities or knowledge of the state of the art.

    There are two main reasons why you fail to see much SMP support within games. The first, is the simple economics of the situation, in that single processor systems make up the vast majority of consumer specs out there. The second is that creating SMP compatible code increases the complexity of the design by a factor of ten in games, compared to other programs.
     

Share This Page