1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Uncle Bangin Needs Some Assistance...

Discussion in 'Original Unreal Tournament' started by I_B_Bangin, Jan 30, 2001.

  1. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Micro Optical mouse and want to set up the two side buttons for use in UT. When I try to set it up in the UT Control Preferences menu, nothing happens when I highlight the line and click the button I want to use. Anyone use this particular mouse have any idea what I need to do? I figured I had to add a line of text or something in the User.ini file, because there isn't a listing for the side mouse buttons. Please Help Me!!

    Spank You!
     
  2. Troll|PuF

    Troll|PuF Poetic Terrorist

    Joined:
    May 2, 2000
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bangin', for some odd reason, UT needs to be fooled.

    Example: My thumb button (large side button) is for my xloc. The way I did it is : in my mouse preferences, bind that button CTRL (or whatever key you have free) then in UT, select CTRL as my xloc. Just taking an extra step.

    AND....make sure your little mouse icon is showing in your taskbar, if it's not, UT won't recognise the extra buttons on some mice

    That should do it! :)
     
  3. My_Oozing_Eye|PuF

    My_Oozing_Eye|PuF The Original Brother Ooze!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2000
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep

    Troll is right again.

    Interesting note: After I reformatted win98 which became an upgrade to winME :( I was forced to keep the mouse preferences open in the task bar for my thumb button to work! I typically forget to open it before I load UT... then the first time I try to switch to translocate.... "gack"..... nothing there and I get fragged! :)

    You can open mouse preferences without closing UT and it will get that thumb button working just fine!

    BTW it is a great mouse in my opinion.

    MOE
     
  4. |H|Alarion

    |H|Alarion Neighborhood godless fragger

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup.
    Like Troll said, make sure your "mouse control panel" is running in the systray. If you don't have a mouse icon, you can go to:
    start menu->Microsoft Hardware->Mouse->Intellipoint

    I bound the button that MS assigned to "back" as "backspace" (this still allows me to go "back" in my browser when I click the button).
    I bound the other button to ALT. For some reason, it seems in win98 UT will recognize the MS "forward" binding as ALT, but in Win2k, I have to set that button specifically as "ALT" in the mouse control panel =/

    Hope ya get it going man :)
     
  5. XeneX

    XeneX Volatile

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2000
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can, try not to bind things you use often to buttons like CTRL, ALT and SHIFT.
    Say you bind your Jump button to CTRL and then set your side mouse button to CTRL.
    While jumping and moving, Windows may recognise this as an CTRL+key combination and it may have unwanted side effects in game; weapons sticking, constant crouching, etc

    I have PageUp bound for Jump and have my thumb button set to PageUp in my mouse properties. :D
     
  6. ShinyObject

    ShinyObject You're making me blush.

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the one with 5 buttons. I have it them set to Backspace, Pageup, and Pagedown. So I can use them in IE too. :)
     
  7. [Ci]Mazza

    [Ci]Mazza Trigger Me Baby!

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are trackballs like for UT? I was messin around with one the other day and it was real smooth to move, hows that feel like for games?
     
  8. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am still having problems. I set it up to recognize the home and end buttons when I press either of the side buttons. UT still doesn't switch weapons when I press the side buttons. I tried this with and without the little mouse icon running. In fact if the icon is running Ut doesn't let me use the mouse wheel, which I use to scroll through my weapons. Here is a screenie of my mouse options screens:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks again.
     
  9. gramps

    gramps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    first of all, do the buttons work in other applications, for example IE or Word? if they don't you at least know the problem is with the mouse (or its software) and not UT.

    your Micro Optical mouse is a Microsoft mouse, right? have you installed the Intellipoint software or did it come with its own software? on a last note, if you do run Intellipoint make sure to get the latest version (3.2), especially if you run WinME.

    that's all i can think of. hope it helps.
     
  10. gramps

    gramps New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just noticed: you've posted three pics in a row, and i have to scroll sideways to see them all (800x600 here). however, all the other posts are still displayed correctly rather than totally stretched out as well. now that's a real improvement. w00t! :D
     
  11. Swedix

    Swedix Retired from UT2004

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,853
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    It isn't a microsoft mouse, it is a Micro mouse.

    I tried uninstalling the drivers and reinstalling them and that didn't work. The scroll wheel works fine in IE, but the left and right side buttons don't scroll left and right when I set it up to. Maybe the mouse is defective.
     
  13. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    *bump*

    Does anyone out there have this particular mouse? This is driving me bonkers!
     
  14. |H|Alarion

    |H|Alarion Neighborhood godless fragger

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, it sounds really odd Bangin' =/

    You might try asking tech support (the idiots at Micro who are *supposed* to be able to help you) :)

    maybe you can get a free replacement if it *is* defective.
     
  15. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, thanks for all of your help. I decided that I probably made a bad choice with the Micro mouse, so I just went out and bought a Microsoft Intellimouse. It works fine and was easy to set up for UT. Thanks All!
     
  16. STALLONE

    STALLONE New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    TRY THIS

    Why dont you try sticking your head up your culo and see if it fits.
     
  17. I_B_Bangin

    I_B_Bangin habitual line stepper

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey its dark up here! :D

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page