1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

The final thread on setting up your GeForce for OpenGL sweetness...

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by /\l!eN[RIP], Sep 1, 2001.

  1. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok one little thing. when i use open gl the weapons have holes will this be fixed with all this mambo jambo :p ;)

    or should i just stick to d3d. one more thing if i set d3d, i got both world texture detail and skin detail both set on medium. will the way the camos are displayed at longer range improve if i set skin detail to high? cuase sometimes have problems to determine teams at long range. with non scoped gunz!
     
  2. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    YES, this whole mumbo jumbo will fix all your texture/clipping probs with the weapons!
    Hurray!:D
     
  3. yurch

    yurch Swinging the clue-by-four

    Joined:
    May 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theres a framerate setting? Hot damn, point it out so I can crank it up! :D
     
  4. DRmechanic

    DRmechanic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think Krate was referring to "MinDesiredFrameRate" setting in the infiltration.ini but I think it's for setting minimum framerates when on-line... but I could be wrong:p
     
  5. Mad_Rusher

    Mad_Rusher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    set it to 1 or 0

    reason =

    when u do this, UT draw EVERYthing that need drawing ( frag particles from nades, sparks from walls when bullets hit [tac-ops]

    basicly, its a setting that means, if the framerate falls below this level, stop drawing all the good stuff :(
     
  6. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    ehm the loading time from open gl will it stay the same as b4?

    because d3d loads way faster with me in the beginning!
     
  7. DRmechanic

    DRmechanic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh? Opengl and D3D open at the same speed for me. ;)

    And to Mad_Rusher... If you're talking about the "MinDesiredFrames", I think it requires the actual frame rate not whether it's turned on or not
     
  8. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my mp5 is fixed fps is good (40-50) ehmm but i couldnt find all the options to fill in in my infiltration.ini sometimes when it sayd here put a 1 there my ini sayd true! and i couldnt find all the options.

    i have ut goty!
     
  9. DRmechanic

    DRmechanic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Falcon.
    These are the settings I use...

    [OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
    RefreshRate=85
    DetailTextures=1
    UseTrilinear=1
    UseS3TC=0
    UseTNT=0
    LODBias=0
    UseMultiTexture=1
    UsePalette=1
    UseAlphaPalette=0
    Translucency=1
    VolumetricLighting=1
    ShinySurfaces=1
    Coronas=1
    HighDetailActors=1
    MaxAnisotropy=0
    AlwaysMipmap=0
    UsePrecache=0
    SupportsLazyTextures=0
    Description=NVIDIA GeForce2 GTS/GeForce2 Pro

    As long as the display settings for your card are set correctly, this should work fine for UT or INF:D
     
  10. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    w8 when i get behind my other computer ill post the way that my ini looks like!
     
  11. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    [OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
    Translucency=True
    VolumetricLighting=True
    ShinySurfaces=True
    Coronas=True
    HighDetailActors=True
    DetailTextures=True
    UseGammaExtension=1
    UseModulatedGamma=0
    UseS3TC=1
    MinDepthBits=16
    MaxLogUOverV=8
    MaxLogVOverU=8
    UseMultiTexture=1
    UsePalette=1
    UseAlphaPalette=0
    ShareLists=0
    AlwaysMipmap=0
    DoPrecache=0
    UseTrilinear=False
    RefreshRate=60
    LODBias=0


    this is what my ini looks like!
     
  12. DRmechanic

    DRmechanic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would change all the true statements to 1's, except the S3TC I'd change to 0 because of all the pixelation it renders. You might want to turn on Trilinear for better image quality... other than that, you should be all set:D
     
  13. WeeD.Falcon

    WeeD.Falcon Dutch by design..

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2001
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    k thanx man!
     
  14. m.wormwood

    m.wormwood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    For some reason , (other than my old .. everything ..??) my performance in Infiltration is ie extremly baad ...

    Duron 800
    GeForce DDR
    128 133 (yes i know its cheap)

    Why does UT run so nice, but inf is at 5 - 40 fps ... can even play most maps ;(

    see my post here ::
    http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=94808

    OpenGL is better, but in UT , its great ... wtf in inf is so cpu hungry ??

    this s****

    øsakaww
     
  15. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the right motherboard drivers installed? If you've got a VIA chipset get your 4in1 driver HERE .
     
  16. Keganator

    Keganator White as Snow Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    5,262
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. m.wormwood

    m.wormwood New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the latest Nvidia drivers .. they gave me a slight performance increase, i now get 50 fpr average in dm-bigclapper (800*600, all on low , 5 bots).
    Is this what my system is capable of ??

    Someone with a similar system out there ??

    I have the latest OGL drivers too , but the via drivers are 14.32v , .35 made windowz unstable as f.

    øsakaww
    NorWay
    my inf fan-page will be up and running soon at inf.wormwood.cjb.net :) screenshots and stuff :))
     
  18. LifesBane(4Corners)

    LifesBane(4Corners) Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 1999
    Messages:
    3,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's probably because INF is a hell of a lot more graphically intensive than normal UT.
     
  19. Toutin

    Toutin Leader of the Trouts

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    using these settings

    everything run ok and better but I have black (or darkened texture) faces flickering when I'm going away or forward objects (players too). It is very disturbing and sometimes it hides enemies a little...
    (I think that's what we call clipping and it makes me think about the good old Half Life gl_polyoffset command)
    Check the picture
     
  20. DRmechanic

    DRmechanic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    What card, driver version, cpu and mobo, OS... just a little more info please:D
     

Share This Page