1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

The final thread on setting up your GeForce for OpenGL sweetness...

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting' started by /\l!eN[RIP], Sep 1, 2001.

  1. Farouk

    Farouk Adept

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my system (Geforce2 GTS 32 MB) there's a huge difference. The framerate in D3D gets unplayable (<15 fps) as soon as a few playermodels come into the screen even with low graphic settings.
    In OpenGL I can have 40 fps with everything on high and 10+ playermodels on screen:
    http://guerilla.bei.t-online.de/Shot0002.jpg
     
  2. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Athlon1000 / 256RAM@133MHz / GeForce2GTS 32 MB...
    My worst fs in OpenGL*32bit is around 28 with a lot of players in view. The best is around 70 fs....
    And Farouk, somehow a 'deadplayer model' doesnt drop your fs as 'alive' ones do.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2001
  3. Anrky

    Anrky Frag you... Frag you very much...

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody have any oddness trying to use the newer OpenGl drivers with their GeForece...

    My new card doesn't seem to like any oif them but the base ones that come in Ut with the 436 patch... everything else doesn't want to work, I get a huge defects ont he screen...
     
  4. Anrky

    Anrky Frag you... Frag you very much...

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there some setting i'm missig in the Nvidia properties?
     
  5. Fen Phen

    Fen Phen The Napper

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2000
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    S3TC Setting

    Does it make any difference on or off?

    I was hoping that enabling S3TC would apply more-detailed textures. Does Inf actually have compressed textures?
     
  6. NotBillMurray

    NotBillMurray It's Suntory Time!

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have got to get this added to the manual's Bugs & Fixes section!
     
  7. Farouk

    Farouk Adept

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2000
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anrky
    I am using the OpenGL drivers on my GeForce 2 GTS. I have no problems using the latest official nVidia Detonators 12.41 and the OpenGL renderer from here: http://unreal.epicgames.com/
    Fourth news item, from March 11, 2001

    Fen Phen
    Inf doesn't have S3TC textures. Most (but not all) of the original UT textures have more detailed S3TC versions on the second CD of UT. How it works is also explained in the news item I mentioned in this post.
    You won't see an improvement in Inf unless an old UT texture was used (which isn't often on Inf's maps)
     
  8. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed Monk_Zero...
     
  9. Antedeluge

    Antedeluge I survived the flood of 2000 B.C.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's all great and wonderful, but 60Hz refresh rate?????? That makes my head hurt. I can actually SEE the monitor flickering. I need at leat 85Hz for comfort.
     
  10. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, change it to whatever refreshrate your monitor is on! Just make sure that both monitor rr and Inf rr are the same in OpenGL.
    If your monitor runs 85 Hz, put that in your Infiltration.ini....
    It's simple isnt it?
     
  11. zeep

    zeep :(

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i have vsync disabled, does it then matter what refreshrate i put in the infiltration.ini?
     
  12. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no clue, but you probably have tried it already...So you tell me :)
     
  13. Janked

    Janked New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see any OpenGL drivers for UT on the link you gave at the top of this thread. Are they now housed somewhere else?
     
  14. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. reapur

    reapur New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    inf?

    Thanks for the instructions.
    I just got a geforce2 ULTRA. I formatted my disk and the first game I reinstalled was UT. I patched it and boom. It won't run in anything but 640x480. If I try to change it to any other res (D3D) I kicks me back to windows with an error dialog.
    I can capture the error but it's something about ddr being out of memory...

    I'll try the openGL steps above and see what happens.


    BTW what is inf and infiltrator? Would I have this in the UT off the CD? The reason I ask is because I haven't seen it before.
    If it's a mod, will the opengl steps above also work for me?

    Many thanks,
    reapur
     
  16. zeep

    zeep :(

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    i guess your search for a d3d / opengl issue brought you to the Infiltration forum then :)

    Infiltration is indeed a mod for unreal tournament. I used to call it a real life sim, others call it a game.
    Infiltration features real life weapons and .. well just goto

    www.planetunreal.com/infiltration

    and read and look for yourself what it's all about.

    But let me add this tho, it rules!


    And about your prob, i'm not really an expert but check that you have the latest ( or any populair ) detonator, directx, maybe mobo via drivers and such.

    For geforce q&a's check out

    http://www.geforcefaq.com/

    it has most if not all the gf related stuff answered.
     
  17. JaFO

    JaFO bugs are features too ...

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2000
    Messages:
    8,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the OpenGl instead of Direct3D recently and it does make the game look a lot better for me:
    - SIG + ACOG had 'triangles' where the gun connected to the attachment. In OpenGl that's gone :)

    - in 16-bit Direct3D I could push my gun in floors, now that's solved too

    - and I had the impression there was an increase in speed too :D
     
  18. /\l!eN[RIP]

    /\l!eN[RIP] burp

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good for you, now let's spread the word! Everybody should play Inf this way, it's just soo much better!
     
  19. krate

    krate Newbie for life

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just manually edited
    UseVSync=True
    Into my OpenGL section in the ini, and it made a big difference, even though no box appears in the preferences for this setting.
    Before, higher RefreshRate gave me higher performance, now the opposite is true, but performance is better overall.
    Try it and let me know if you get the same results!

    Also, I've been using Kazakstan for benchmarking, and I have it finally working with transparent textures. I had blacked-out railings before. I am not sure what settings end up causing a problem, but I think if I turn off trilinear filtering, I get blackout. I can't imagine why.

    I'm using a P///m 1Ghz, GeForce 3 500ti

    I've been posting my tweaking progress on the UT message board.
     
  20. zeep

    zeep :(

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    for the record, d3d works best for me. it's the fastest.
    opengl kinda looks better .. but d3d is faster on my pc (*).


    (*)amd800 - geforce2 gts64mb pro - asus K7V - 256mb(133) - win98se
     

Share This Page