1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Textures and models

Discussion in 'Level Design, Skinning and Modelling' started by agent 007, Feb 21, 2005.

  1. agent 007

    agent 007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get my own textures and models into the unreal 2 engine editor?



    God bless
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  2. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,034
    Likes Received:
    2
    Make sure the files are 2X2 4x4 8x8 16x16 32x32 64x64 128x128 256x256 512x512 1024x1024.

    And they must be on BMP ,TGA , PCX formats.Then, what you need to do is to put it inside myLevel Package , so it tell the editor that these/this texture(s) will not require a aditional package.

    And don't forget to compress them to DXT1, or DXT 3 if the texture is alpha.

    PS: If you want to impot a texture that is transparent , use TGA and chek ALPHA when you import the texture inside the editor.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  3. agent 007

    agent 007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, that helped alot, but what is my level package?
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  4. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,034
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  5. agent 007

    agent 007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do i find it?
     
  6. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,034
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh well , After importing the texture , a box will apear , It say : Package: (you enter)
    Code:
    myLevel
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  7. agent 007

    agent 007 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    OHHH!!!!!!

    thanks
     
  8. ArnoOnline

    ArnoOnline New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have made a texture in Photoshop and saved it as a BMP. Afterwards I converted it to an 8-bit (256 colors) texture in IrfanView and made black (0,0,0) the color in the first place of the pallet. I thought that that would be enough to make my texture transparant (after checking 'masked' while importing), but the texture is ingame still non-transparant. What can I do about this? Is TGA the only format that supports transparant images?
     
  9. Hourences

    Hourences New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Convert to dxtc5 when having alpha.

    PCX supports masking, not true transparancy like see trough but guess thats not what you want anyway.
    TGA is a lot better for it so I suggest you use that for masking and alpha purposes.
    PCX does work but you shouldnt use irfanview for it but Photoshop, just setting the first or last (depends on prog) color to black wont work, you need to actually replace the color in the img with the color in the masking slot. It doesnt look to the actual color. It looks to the index number a color has so it is possible to have black twice in your index which would render one of them useless (in your case the mask one)
    And on a side note, setting a texture to Masked is always faster for the CPU than setting it to Alpha even if you dont notice any visual difference or very little.
     
  10. ArnoOnline

    ArnoOnline New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want a part of the image to see through completely. I can save it as a TGA, but is that enough? I'm a lil n00b with textures, so can you please tell me exactly what to do?
     
  11. Kantham

    Kantham Fool.

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    18,034
    Likes Received:
    2
    What do you use? Photoshop? If yes, use the pencil tool and drag the section you want to delete (have transparent)

    It's simple , and then you save as TGA and......

    Oh yea , they can be 1024X2 aswell , just use the same numbers i mentioned
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2005
  12. gamergirl1337

    gamergirl1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    what are some good paint programs that you can use to make them....other than photoshop?
     
  13. StardogChampion

    StardogChampion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GIMP is the obvious free one. Another program is Paint Shop Pro but you will have to buy it after the trial runs out.
     
  14. Isaak

    Isaak Minimalist megalomaniac.

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Others

    Maybe a seamless texture creator, like Texture maker, the trial version is good enuf couse only have a restriction about the size of the texture.
     
  15. R3KR

    R3KR New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont know if someone mentioned this, but....

    I had trouble with the transparent part in textures too, realized I have to make a new alpha channel in the channel (right next to layers in photoshop). Then in the editor, after importing, goto the texture and set its property under "surface" to "alpha" = true
     

Share This Page