1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

terrain

Discussion in 'Mapping' started by Fortran, Mar 5, 2002.

1. Fortran

Fortran Despite the name, I can't code.

How do I make hilly outdoor terrain? I would assume using the "BSP based terrain" option, but how do I get it to deform like I want it? I do have terrained, but I am still learning it and was wondering if it could be done in UED. Thanks.

2. Hourences

Hourences New Member

3. rmcollins3

rmcollins3 AKA "Doublez-Down"

there are hundreds of threads on this subject, you may want to do a search for the various methods people use. i have used max, terraedit, the bsp terrain editor, and tesselated cubes. personally, i think using tesselated cubes is the easiest way to make terrain without getting bsp errors and bad lighting anomolies. here's how i get started:

subtract a huge cube - give it whatever texture you want - won't matter

start adding big tesselated cubes (same as a regular cube, just set btesselated to true) with rock or ground textures to make your terrain. then use the same method to add mountains and rocks, etc.

terraedit is better for making "round" hills and such, but it is difficult to align the textures and can create bsp holes easily

max is way too expensive for the average user, and doesn't really make much better terrain imo

the terrain editor is fine too, but i think it's easier to see what is going on using tesselated cubes