1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Talking Icon Mutator

Discussion in 'Dev Team' started by [PHX]Big_Deal, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did someone found a talking icon Mutator for UT3? If not, maybe someone could make one? ;) This is really needed...and UT3 is missing UT2Vote :D
     
  2. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D
    Well as from 1st April 2008 I will have all the time in the world to do as I please, when I please, and how I please which those of you that know me well enough can guess what is happening to me... showing my age :)

    After I have done the 1001 things at home that need to be done I might just rewrite the Unreal engine just for the sake of something to do, so who knows what can happen hey :D
     
  3. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    hehe the best news ever ;)
    I allready thought when a man did so much cool stuff for the unreal community, he canĀ“t stop ;)
     
  4. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well my new PC arrived on Monday and it did not work.
    The BIOS settings would freeze and the power supply was too weak so I sent the damn thing back.
    Hell but the 8800GT512 graphics card is a big thing, it alone needs a huge power supply by the looks of things.
    I bought this one:
    http://www.biostar.com.tw/app/en-us/news/news.php?id=22
    Pity one cannot run a PC with 2 power supplies as 2x400 watt PSU's is a lot cheaper than say 1 x 750 watt PSU.
    I see also the new Mobo's have 4 extra pins on the main power connector which now makes the older ATX Power supplies redundant.
    Pity about that as I have a spare Aopen 650 PSU lying here.
    I see WinXp also only see's 3 gig of memory - oh well I suppose thats good enough for most applications as it will be a verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry long time before I install Vista :)
    The other problem I had is these new Mobo's no longer have a stiffy/floppy interface so if you want to format FAT32 you need to boot a USB memory stick.
    Oh well I suppose thats progress as I refuse POINT BLANK to have any form of M$'s NTFS on any of my hard drives.
    I also bought a 500 gig Seagate 'FreeAgent' external USB Hard drive an I see that also formated with NTFS.
    Just as well that HP's Formating Tool is free to change that to FAT32.
    Oh well... development is on the backshelf again :)

    We are also suffering massive mains breaks in our country as the Electricity Supply Commision has fcuked up the supply and we have 4 hours of load shedding every day except Sundays and it sucks big time.
    Apparently we can expect this to go on for another 4 years while they build a new Nuclear Power Station so I have had to invest in a standby Generator which a company is coming tomorrow to wire into my house :(
    http://www.propower.co.za/gensets/eu6500/index.html

    Well thats the news for now from me :)
     
  5. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some good and some bad news...anyway i hope that they wire great and you will get fast your new PC ;)
     
  6. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    i also have the 8800 GT. Before that, i had the 8800 GTS, THAT is a big one ^^

    for only one Card, you don't need such a big powersupply. I have a good 350W and it runs with no problems. Only if you use 2 cards, you need that "electrical heating units" with 500 and more watts.
     
  7. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have not been around a while but I do have my new PC all up and running and boy does this baby kick ass :)
    It was actually the graphics card that had blown, anyway in a way I was pleased as I got them to swap it for a new generation 8800GT512, the V8803GT52 which is a revision 2 of this card and is overclocked.
    Apparently ALL 8800GT512 cards, the Anti-Aliasing does not work and even after many driver attempts nVidia could not fix this problem as it is a hardware problem which is now fixed in this revision 2 series.
    http://forums.nvidia.com/lofiversion/index.php?t54651.html
    LOL, the new 9800GT still has the AA fault as its just a renamed 8800 card:
    http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/1365/nvidia_9_series_naming_inappropriate/index.html
    http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/1420/palit_geforce_9600_gso_sonic_768mb/index.html

    Anyway with my new PC, my Flight Simulator X's FPS went up from 14.5 ave to 37 ave which is a big jump as that game is extremely FPS hungry.
    I had to test several drivers on advice and found that the latest driver, 169.21 is buggy and did not give the performance I was expecting and as many advised me the version 169.13 beta really rocks big time so thats the driver I'm now using.
    UT3 with everything full blast and set to maximum is as smooth as silk, who knows maybe I will start playing it again.

    Just something I did not know which also makes a big difference, with Xp, even though it can see 3.25 gigs of memory it actually only uses 2.5 gigs as thats what the API is set to and you have to command it to use the extra.
    In your Boot.in at the end of the string add:
    /3GB /Userva=2560
    That made quite a big difference to my FPS in my FSX simulator.
    http://www.proasm.com/images/pics/xpcp.jpg

    Anyways when the UT bug bites again, I'll be back ;)
     
  8. [PHX]Big_Deal

    [PHX]Big_Deal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice to hear that ;)
    You should use the 175.16 drivers from nvidia, that are the latest and whql...and that are the best!
     
  9. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    nVidia are releasing a new driver almost every week these days as they have screwed up the format and cannot get it back to normal.
    Just go read their forums about all the complaints.
    They are deleting a lot of the posts because people are getting very angry with them and using very bad language.
    All the latest drivers actually slow your system down, you think you got a great system until you go back to a old driver.
    Currently the only stable and fast FPS driver available for the 8800 series cards is the 169.13 beta version and nothing after that comes anywhere near it.
    I was struggling like hell day in and day out to get my FPS above 22 for my Flight Simulator X till I found this out.
    With 169.13 beta my FPS now averages 37 to 46.
    169.09 is also a good one, but has a hanging problem with some games.
    At the rate nVidia are going they will be out of business very soon.
     
  10. frogger187

    frogger187 eat. sleep. frag.

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    omg hi2u
     
  11. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL... hi frog ;)
     

Share This Page