1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Specifying the MutArena weapon on a mapvote server

Discussion in 'BDB' started by ickle, Jul 11, 2004.

  1. ickle

    ickle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maplists [edited thread]

    If i'm running a server w/ mapvote and have some gameconfigs w/ the arena mut and some w/o...
    ....under where do i specify what arena it is (i.e. which weapon)?
    the only place i can see is in ut2003.ini:
    [XWeapons.MutArena]
    ArenaWeaponClassName=XWeapons.ShieldGun
    something tells me mapvote has got something to do with this...
    [btw the server is ut2003 v2225 and mapvote400b11]


    see 4th post for new problem (thought i'd conserve space)
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2004
  2. BDB

    BDB New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know this can not be done because the Arena mutator does not accept command line options. They only read the ini settings.
     
  3. ickle

    ickle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvm, already fixed it but thx for replying anyways. I tried to configure it via the user.ini, but it seems it only actaully sets if you do it in the gui. Oh well, thx again anyways. :)
     
  4. ickle

    ickle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    bUseMapList - True or False. If True then the map names are loaded from the
                     MapList that is in the UT2003 ini file. If you configure any "MapListTypeList" settings
                     then it will load from those specific maplists, if not then it will load from the
                     maplists that are associated with each gametype that you configured in the GameConfig
                     settings. (Example: CTF would use the XInterface.MapListCaptureTheFlag maplist.)
                     If False then all available maps (that have the specified Prefixes) are loaded.
    I don't understand what you are trying to here say, BDB, it's kinda confusing. Is it:

    A) When there are no 'Maplisttypelist' lines, then for each gametype in the gamconfig only the maps listed in the corresponding XInterface.MapListgametype bit in the .ini are loaded?

    B) When there are..
    i)for the gametypes in the gameconfig without a corresponding maplisttypelist line they load all the maps from the other maplists (specified from the other maplisttypelist lines) accordiing to the prefixes specified in the gameconifg?
    ii) for gametypes when there is a corresponding maplisttypelist, only maps from this are loaded
     
  5. BDB

    BDB New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you do not have MapListTypeList set to anything (or its not there) then
    MapVote will use the default maplists for each game type you have configured in the GameConfig section.

    Example: (Note: this is not exact)
    GameConfig=(...DeathMatch)
    GameConfig=(...CTF)
    ....
    MapListTypeList=

    It will load maps from the default DeathMatch and CTF map lists.
    (XInterface.DeathMatchMapList and XInterface.CTFMapList or what ever it is).

    I know this is confusing. You can just ignore this option it really isnt needed.


    I dont understand this question. What are you trying to do ?
     
  6. ickle

    ickle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm..how about i explain what i'm trying to get and what i'm actually getting :).

    Say for exmaple I'm running a server with an invasion gaae config and a deathmatch one. For the deathmatch one i only want certain maps to be avaaliable, for invasion i want all maps.

    To do this i would only have the DM prefix in the DM gameconfig and have a maplisttypelis=xinterface.maplistdeathmatch line (with the maps i want to be able to be voted in the deathmatch's maplist) and ...
    for the invasion gameconfig i would put all prefixes in and have a maplisttypelist=xinterface.maplistinvasion line (with all maps in the invasion maplist)

    If i do this i get all the maps in the invasion gameconfig BUT i get All the DM maps in the DM config.

    So...i remove both maplisttypelist lines effectively setting usemaplist to false and i get all maps as specified by the prefixes for both gameconfigs

    So... i remove the invasion maplist only and the right maps for the DM config but no Dm map in the invasion config...

    So ...i remove the deathmatch one only and i get all the maps on the invasion config and all the DM ones on the DM config

    ...hmmm i'm confused...
     
  7. BDB

    BDB New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but it can't do what you want it to do.
    The only link between the maps and the GameConfigs is the mapname prefixes.
    Think of it like this. You have one large list of maps and a list of Games.
    When you select a specific game it shows you the maps that have the associated
    prefix.
     
  8. ickle

    ickle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh well, thx for replying anyway :)
     

Share This Page