1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Sound Problem

Discussion in 'Hardware, Software & Troubleshooting' started by theWARchicken, Sep 3, 2001.

  1. theWARchicken

    theWARchicken New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed UT a few days ago and everything worked perfectly. Then after about a day i started noticing strange noise problems. I was plating Tactical Ops and all of a sudden the bullet noices sounded faint and metallic like. Also, the voices sounded robotic and distorted. Anyone else have this problem?

    System Specs:
    Soundblaster Live 5.1 (could this be the problem)
    GForce Ultra 2
    512 megs of Ram
    1.333 Ghz Processor

    PLease help, thanks
     
  2. theWARchicken

    theWARchicken New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please guys, help me out.
     
  3. Hellbilly

    Hellbilly Fully recovered Ex-Evercrack player

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you have the latest drivers for your soundcard. Try reinstalling the drivers and see if that fixes the problem.

    Also, try going to the Windoze control panel / Multimedia, and under the Audio tab select "(Use any available device)" and see if there is any difference.

    Check your Windoze volume control and adjust the sliders to the half-way mark.

    Check to make sure your soundcard is working right with the latest version of DirectX
    "c:/program files/DirectX/setup/DxDiag.exe"
    Run the tests and see if there's problems.


    Sorry, but it's late here and that's all I can think of at the moment.
    Hope it helps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2001
  4. Nevar

    Nevar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2000
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am assuming AMD cpu with via chipset? KT133/A mobo?
    Install the latest via chip set drivers ...432 final ones.
    Or if happy with your current ones.. scroll down to other drivers
    686B bug fix...
    May not be the problem you are having though.. most
    describe as crackles, pops, distortion..

    http://www.viahardware.com/download/index.shtm#4in1

    If my assumption on cpu and via chipset are wrong, please disregard :)
    The maker of your mobo may have a bios update that deals
    with this well known via chipset/sblive problem also..
     
  5. DeaJae

    DeaJae taking a month's break

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    you say the sounds are distorted? is "use 3D hardware" enabled in preferences? if so thats the EAX of the SBlive being used.
     
  6. the_louis_woo

    the_louis_woo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't had the problem myself BUT I was reading something about a VIA chipset conflict with certain soundblaster chips, pops thingys and distorted sound. Might be worth checking it out.

    The link below leads to an info page, just follow the links there to the patch.

    http://www.3dsoundsurge.com/cgi-bin/search.pl?category=1&keyword=CT4830


    Loads Of Luck matey cya l8er
     

Share This Page