1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Siege 2004 Problems

Discussion in 'Unreal Tournament 2003/2004' started by Stigmata, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. Stigmata

    Stigmata Codepunk

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this new Gametype, and it caused some problems, as well as some seriously hindering gameplay bugs.
    It does note that the ut2004.ini will be changed, so be sure to archive it before you install Siege2k4. I'm glad I did. Apparently the Siege-rewritten ut2004.ini slows down movement in Bombing Run maps (In my game, the movement was reduced to about half - like running in slow-motion); I don't know what other maps/gametypes were affected by Siege, but Siege uses BR maps, so I suspect that's the problem.
    Also, for some, reason, the framerate playing any seige game was Half that of my normal FPS (Avg = 30, with Siege it was 17!) After I uninstalled Siege and replaced my ut2004.ini with my archived version, I played BR mpas and the framerate was back to normal (30).
    Another problem was that the multitool didn't work. Alt-firing was supposed to introduce a menu for which to select Primary Fire multitool functions (warping in various structures Critical to game advancement) - but in my game, no menu appeared, and all I could use the multitool for was warping in Shields, which I assume is the first or default tool function.
    Also, the bots did nothing in the Meat Cooler level (that's not the name, I don't think). They would hang out near their Powercore, and would attack if approached, but would otherwise stay there and make no attempt at attacking the opposing team (this was true for both the bots on my team and the enemy team).
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2004
  2. SanitysEdge

    SanitysEdge Aspiring Astrophysicist

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    That must be whats causing my dissconnect problems!

    Good thing, on the DVD version, the stuff insnt compressesed, so i can just copy and paste that .INI, because i didnt archive it.
     
  3. hyrulian

    hyrulian Rainbow Brite

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, if something trashes up the UT2004.ini or User.ini files and you didn't back them up, you can always delete them and the default settings will be restored. Unfortunately, you'll have to set the settings to your liking all over again.
     
  4. Stigmata

    Stigmata Codepunk

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Precisely, which is why I just make a .zip file of my ut2004.ini and keep it in the SYSTEM directory, because I have everything set up just right, and I know I'll forget something if I have to go back and re-do it. Besides, it's a lot easier to just extract the .ini than to go through the settings again.
    I'd like to see the creators of Siege fix these problems though - I really want to play this gametype.
     
  5. captainrad

    captainrad admiral spock!

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    heh why a zip file?
     
  6. Stigmata

    Stigmata Codepunk

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    just because it's easier to archive/compress files I want to backup with that (actually, I uses winRAR anyway, but people identify with ".zip" better as an archiver...)
     
  7. captainrad

    captainrad admiral spock!

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, gotch ya.
     
  8. KanoBlade

    KanoBlade New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing happened to me, the bots camped and no menu would come up :|

    i noticed a batch file in the system directory and uninstalled it, does anyone know if this fixes the slowness in BR and other things it messed up?
     
  9. Stigmata

    Stigmata Codepunk

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just think that Seige is flawed, and needs to be debugged. The question is: how did these bugs make it past a Beta test?
     
  10. Hunz

    Hunz ...aka [A|K]Leviathan, mkay?

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone of you read the readme or at least the installation-insturctions (http://fire.prohosting.com/siege2k3/Documentation.html)?
    1. Exectue the SetupSiege.bat.
    2. Execute the StartSiege.bat to start the game.
    3. Use no bots - doesnt work and slows down the game (stated in the readme, too).
    4. Change the serverpackages ONLY if you want to host a server (hey, they are called serverpackages, not clientpackages).
    5. Siege doesnt do ANY changes to your original ut2004.ini - It just copies your ut2004.ini to create a modified one.

    ...arrrr, this is very frustating.
     
  11. blindrob

    blindrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, if anyone still whants to play this game im trying to bring back community
    i have a 10 person server (not a home server)
    the IP is ut2004://66.165.126.214:7777, hope to see some people their
    even tho this thred it 2 years old
     
  12. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's only 8-9 months. ;p

    And I like siege, so I just might visit.
     
  13. CyMek

    CyMek Dead but not gone.

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    dp owns seige. I am a witness. I installed it amd have had no problems, mostly because I read the readme. :)

    Oh, we should do a PUG for seige, or at least organise a game or two. its a lot of fun from waht little I can do with the no one i have to play.


    Lastly, the meat level is called Slaughterhouse.
     
  14. blindrob

    blindrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, sory guys, but they took it off my server, i guess its a bit of a banwith hog, im trying to get a new server that i could host it on, but i need some money first
     
  15. Dark Pulse

    Dark Pulse Dolla, Dolla. Holla, Holla.

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn, and I had just added that server to my Siege game's favorites...

    sigh. Another one bites the dust.
     
  16. blindrob

    blindrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    =/ yea, sorry man, once i get some money ill get a server that will run it
    but money is hard to come by when you dont have a job. if only i wasent so lazy =/
     
  17. blindrob

    blindrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, i got a new serrver up, its just a temp one for now, but it will be up 24/7 intill the time runs out and then i get a new server
    IP: 66.165.126.227
    thats the IP, hope to see some people their

    ok, ANYONE that whats to play this AIM (blindrob123) me or MSN(blindrob@hotmail.com) at

    we realy need to get this mod going, spreed the word
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2005

Share This Page