1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Serverpackages + Map-Specific Mutators problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NotoriousBIC, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already posted about this on the Atari-boards.
    http://www.ataricommunity.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=5446329
    Just posting here for completeness' sake.

    Here's the lowdown.

    1) Since upgrading to 3270, I'm having a new problem.
    I have several DummyMuts in use with corresponding serverpackages in the ut2vote43.ini
    Now regardless of which DummyMut is loaded (A through Z) ut2vote43 will only add the serverpackage that corresponds to the DummyMut that's first in the list.
    So effectively I can only use 1 mod now.

    2) This is some more info regarding my prior map-specific package problem.
    It now seems I can't load any mutator using DM-MapName?mutator=mutator.class in the maplistAT ALL.
    I find this particularly odd, since I remember doing this succesful in the past.
    Here are links to a few logs of my attempts:
    Test with LowGrav mutator
    Test with DummyMut mutator

    Could it be that the patch has borked things up?
     
  2. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Serverpackages problem is under discussion atm on our developement forum and yes it could be patch 3270 as its screwed our brightskins up a bit also.

    The problem with the Map Mutator I will look into asap as I think thats because the mut gets loaded before UT2Vote as seen in your logs.
     
  3. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if you look a little further in the logs you'll see that the mutator doesn't get loaded at all:
    Code:
    Log: Server switch level: CTF-PhaseShift?Mutator=DummyMut.DummyMutC?Game=XGame.xCTFGame?Mutator=UT2Vote43.UT2Vote?yaddayadda
    and a little bit further:
    Code:
    ScriptLog: Mutators UT2Vote43.UT2Vote
    If the DummyMut was loaded it should've been listed there.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2004
  4. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    will test this today...
     
  5. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    notorius, your log shows this:

    Log: Server switch level: CTF-PhaseShift?Mutator=DummyMut.DummyMutC?Game=XGame.xCTFGame?Mutator=UT2Vote43.UT2Vote?MaxLives=0.....

    looks somehow wired to me ;)

    the question is, did you add 2 ?mutator-sections on your own, or did ut2vote it, or was it the patch?

    maybe you could link your inis and startup-script somewhere?
     
  6. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah yes, ProAsm already knows, but I understand that's not clear in here.

    What I'm trying to do is add map-specific mutators by adding ?mutator=mutator.class behind the mapname in the maplist.
    The same thing with the double mutator entry happens with the LowGrav example.

    UT2Vote43.ini
    Code:
    [UT2Vote43.UT2VoteGameTypes]
    GameType=(GameName="Capture the Flag",HideVote=False,Clan=True,RequiredPlayers=1,MapLimits=0,ServerName="Bic's CTF Server",UseMapList=True,DefaultMap="CTF-Maul",MapPrefix="CTF",GameClass="XGame.xCTFGame",Mutators="None",Commands="?MaxLives=0?GoalScore=5?TimeLimit=20?MinPlayers=4?MaxPlayers=16?MaxSpectators=2?Translocator=True?Weaponstay=True?BalanceTeams=True?ForceRespawn=False?PlayersMustBeReady=False?Tournament=0?GameStats=True?GameSpeed=1.00?FF=0?NumBots=1?Difficulty=4")
    
    [UT2Vote43.UT2VotePackages]
    Packages=(MutClassName="DummyMut.DummyMutC",ServerPackages="PhaseShift")
    server.ini
    Code:
    [DefaultCTF MaplistRecord]
    DefaultMaps=CTF-PhaseShift?Mutator=DummyMut.DummyMutC
    I can do this for any other mutator, map and gametype, but the same thing happens.
    I remember doing this in the past with success. Unfortunately I'm not sure with which versions of UT and UT2Vote that was. Probably 3236 and UT2Vote42.
    I'm currently on 3270 and UT2Vote43. I'll try downgrading today and see what happens.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2004
  7. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    could you also try it with something else but a dummy-mutator? just another mutator?
     
  8. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. tdw-socke

    tdw-socke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx, i have an idea, but pro is the pro ;)

    *discussing*
     
  10. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, I hope you guys can figure it out.

    Frankly, the problem with only the package first in list getting loaded is a bigger problem for me, since it means I can only have 1 mod on the server currently.
     
  11. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, now I'm at a complete loss.

    I decided to do a complete re-install of the server today. Completely from the ground up. However I upgraded up to 3236 and UT2Vote42. Then I tried the same tests as with the problems on the previous setup and *bang*!
    Same thing happens :(

    I've succesfully run CarBall and Jailbreak side-by-side in the UT2Vote config with no problems. So I have no clue whatsoever what's causing this :(
     
  12. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you saying there is no problem now or is it still there ?
     
  13. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope it's still there :(
     
  14. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok regarding the map-specific Mutators.

    I cannot fault this as it works 100% here and now matter how I juggle the mutators or commands it works right everytime.

    Please double check your setup and mutators that could possibly interfere with UT2Vote like UTComp for instance that takes command of all Replications.

    In my DeathMatch Gamestring - UseMapList=True
    In my UT2004.ini file for the test map - DM-Antalus
    [XInterface.MapListDeathMatch]
    Maps=DM-Antalus?Mutator=UnrealGame.MutLowGrav

    My logs when the map switches:
    Code:
    Log: Server switch level: DM-Antalus?Game=XGame.xDeathMatch?Mutator=UT2Vote44B6.UT2Vote,UnrealGame.MutLowGrav
    
    No matter what I did I could not get it so that the UnrealGame.MutLowGrav loaded before UT2Vote like it did in your logs.

    Another thing, in you log you have:

    Code:
    Log: Server switch level: CTF-PhaseShift?Mutator=DummyMut.DummyMutC?Game=XGame.xCTFGame?Mutator=UT2Vote43.UT2Vote?yaddayadda
    
    It is not possible for UT2Vote to create a string like that because it will only allow the phrase "?Mutator=" once in any commandstring and yours has 2 so some other mutator besides UT2Vote is interfering with the map switch.
    There should be a log entry just before that one which is the one that counts, ie in my example:
    Code:
    UT2Vote: 18:40:08 - ServerSwitchLevel - ClientMap = DM-Antalus | CommandLine = DM-Antalus?Game=XGame.xDeathMatch?Mutator=UT2Vote44B6.UT2Vote,UnrealGame.MutLowGrav
    
    Please try and create and make detailed notes of the sequence to reproduce the problem you are experiencing as we cannot produce it here.
     
  15. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found the problem! Finally!

    Here's what happens: (windows server 3270 with UT2Vote43)
    If the map with the mutator is the first of it's gametype being switched to, the mutator won't load. If you manually restart the map the mutator does get loaded.

    You can try it yourself: Just stick ?mutator=UnrealGame.MutLowGrav behind a CTF map (or any other that isn't in your default gametype) and directly switch to that map after the server has started up. The mutator won't get loaded, but it WILL get loaded if you then restart the map.

    So that's what was going wrong on my end. I started up in DM and then switched to CTF-Phaseshift.
    I guess then that this a little bug that needs squashing. :tup:

    Any word on the DummyMut problem? That's a showstopper currently :(
     
  16. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you say switch directly to that map you mean as Admin.
    Also the server must not start in my defaultgame - sorry but you lost me here.

    Ok regarding the DummyMut problem.
    There is something that 3270 has done here but I just cannot put my finger on it but seeing that the Map-specific Mutators were not getting loaded via the UT2Vote ServerPackages routine I just decided to re-design the whole way the Map-specific Mutators as well as the Serverpackages work as they are related in UT2Vote.
    Also up until now any Mutator you had in the UT2VotePackages also had to be in the UT2VoteMutators.
    Now you can have the Mutator anywhere and provided its in the UT2VotePackages it will get written to the Serverpackages.
    Also all Packages found in UT2VotePackages will now be removed after every level and re-added on the next level.
    This is so no packages get left behind incase the Admin did an 'outside' switch, the server crashed for some reason or the Admin just exited the Server while several Packages were still loaded.

    Still testing though but all seems ok :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2004
  17. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    step 1: put ?mutator=UnrealGame.MutLowGrav behind (for example) CTF-Smote in the maplist
    step 2: make sure your server is NOT currently in the CTF gametype
    step 3: switch to CTF with either ingame vote (normal, not as admin) or WebAdmin
    step 4: switch to CTF-Smote with either the ingame vote or the WebAdmin
    step 5: restart CTF-Smote (again either vote or WebAdmin)
    step 6: check log and note that the mutator DIDN'T get loaded the first time but DID the second time.

    Good to hear about your solution of the other problems :tup:
    Could I perhaps test the newest version? I seem to be the only one with these 'unique' problems :lol:
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2004
  18. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahhh yes, I see what its doing and there is nothing we can do about it :(

    You are playing DeathMatch with CTF maps enabled.
    This is an unfair situation as the game is DeathMatch and not Capture the Flag.
    The maplist for DeathMatch is:
    [XInterface.MapListDeathMatch]
    Here it will not find any CTF maps so it will load the CTF maps that are in the maps folder which do not have any Mutators.
    If you are getting a CTF map to load a Mutator in another GameType, count yourself very lucky as its just not designed to do that.

    UT2Vote was NEVER designed to mix maps, this is a special favour we added in 42 but to add mutators and commands to them as well is going somewhat over the top and is forbidden :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2004
  19. NotoriousBIC

    NotoriousBIC New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, I'm not loading a CTF map in DeathMatch. I'm doing exactly as I describe in my steps.
    You can try it and look for yourself.
     
  20. ProAsm

    ProAsm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I see the problem and that will happen as although you have selected a new game, CTF in this case, the MapList is still whatever the currentgame is, ie DeathMatch for instance.
    There is no way UT2004 will allow me to load 2 Maplists as in this case a DM and a CTF one.
    Thats why when you restart that map it works because now you are actually in a CTFGame.

    btw Beta 6 is out.
    Check ya pm.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2004

Share This Page