1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

scale static meshes?

Discussion in 'Level Editing - Basic' started by supersuf, Jan 19, 2006.

  1. supersuf

    supersuf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm still verry unexperienced in using UED3.0. I wonder if it is good to scale a static mesh? When I do, the texture of the mesh will also be scaled. Is there a way to prevent this or to undo this?

    Maybe I can make my own static meshes but I really don't know how. Are there anny progams to do this? I know it is even before mapmaking-basics but I do'nt know where and how to start!
    Thanks a lot, Supersuf
     
  2. Angel_Mapper

    Angel_Mapper Goooooooats

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes, there's nothing wrong with scaling them, although it does scale the texture like you mentioned. If it gets too bad you can use a TexScaler to make it look better (search the Unreal Wiki or UDN for info about that).
     
  3. Twrecks

    Twrecks Spectacularly Lucky

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    9
    You can reassign the texture as well under "skins". For meshes that use more than one texture each one will have its own "slot".
    Scale away, and try negative numbers to mirror :)
     
  4. ReD_Fist

    ReD_Fist New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    4
    Making the mesh, you just right click a finished textured ADD brush, hit "polys to brush" then hit "transform permanently", on the red working brush,then "convert" convert to mesh, and save in "mylevel" no group name and then your new mesh name.

    Then the collision , collision can be like the triangles or a more blocky style, but look in the staticmesh browser under mylevel and youl see some collision stuff after.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2006
  5. Angel_Mapper

    Angel_Mapper Goooooooats

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Messages:
    3,532
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would never make static meshes with the editor, there are numerous problems with it:
    http://angelmapper.com/tutorials/uedmeshes.htm

    There is a free version of Maya on disc 6 of the game, or the disc 6 folder of the DVD. You can also try Milkshape, or GMax (although I don't know if that one exports ase files).
     
  6. supersuf

    supersuf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maya Learning tool key not avaleble, installed Maya 7

    I tried to install Maya 5.0 from the UT dvd but during the instalation, it says that there is no longer a key avaleble. So I downloaded en installed Maya 7 but now the plugin does not work. How to proceed?
     
  7. sandorski

    sandorski New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 1999
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    XSI Modtool similar to Maya 5 PLE, but for a different Modelling/Animation package(XSI SoftImage). Has plugin for UEd 3 as well.
     

Share This Page