1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Two Factor Authentication is now available on BeyondUnreal Forums. To configure it, visit your Profile and look for the "Two Step Verification" option on the left side. We can send codes via email (may be slower) or you can set up any TOTP Authenticator app on your phone (Authy, Google Authenticator, etc) to deliver codes. It is highly recommended that you configure this to keep your account safe.

Runtime ran out of virtual memory error causes crash

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by brunomartelli, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. brunomartelli

    brunomartelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I'm getting a run out of virtual memory error causing a crash to desktop..
    I have self assigned virtual memory, 1.5 times my ram, I'm running windows xp pro 64 bit, on a new empty HD I have no other software on that HD. Are there any other factors that I should look out for? The crash happens after I've run my map for approx 2 hrs. I used to get this error a long tone ago, then I cut the map up into zones. This fixed it, but recently had to reinstall and added the new HD for the Os. Any debugging clues or ideas gratefully recieved


    Bruno
     
  2. Phoenix_Wing

    Phoenix_Wing Official Kantham Stalker

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anything in the log file?

    Sorry for not being of more help, but thats all that comes to mind
     
  3. Wormbo

    Wormbo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    36
    There is no 64bit version of the Runtime, so it will always be limited to 2GB of memory in total like any other 32bit application. Try monitoring the runtime's memory usage with the task manager or a more sophisticated tool like Process Explorer.

    If it really hits a memory limit after some time, you could probably try creating a custom actor for your map that forces garbage collection from time to time. Note however, that garbage collection freezes the game for a few seconds.

    Your other options include building your map for UT2004 or UT3 instead. These games have also been compiled for 64bit environments and can take full advantage of your available memory. UT3 would also have frequent background garbage collection to keep memory usage as low as possible.
     
  4. brunomartelli

    brunomartelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thanks for the replies,
    - no haven't looked in the log, someone else restarted the map after both crashes. Sadly I don't have much idea how to create a custom actor, also my biggest problem is that the thing is in an exhibition, so I haven't the luxury of spending a long time tinkering with it, or rebuilding it.
    The only thing thats really changed is that I was developed on another machine and I moved all the unreal directory over to this machine.
    2. I added a tiny room to the map
    3. The machine got shipped and the Os HD needed replacing with a new one.
    Previously the machine/map combo has been extremely stable. I was going to do a clean install of runtime this morning and move the map assets over.
     
  5. brunomartelli

    brunomartelli New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    it seems to be turning out that if you move your unreal folder over to a different machine, it creates problems. Doing a clean runtime install then adding all the packages + bits needed for the map helps. Also increasing Virtual memory a lot seems to help
     

Share This Page